We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in the city center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #84 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in the city center”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was a nice hotel in the center of Old Town right in the Grassmarket. Great area for walking around and there are great restaurants across the street for lunch and dinner. There's also a stop for the hop on hop off buses right outside the hotel which is very convenient.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay but there are a few things we disliked. We disliked the fact that the hotel didn't have air conditioning. For such a nice hotel, it seemed strange to us that it lacked air conditioning.

Also, the hotel staff service varies widely. We had a great experience with the staff at the front desk who went out of their way to help us. For instance, we were having trouble connecting to the free wifi and Peter at the front desk was so helpful and spent like 20 minutes helping us and wouldn't give up until it was fixed. On the other hand, the staff in the breakfast room left a lot to be desired. The male host was incredibly rude and tried to make excuses for why it was taking so long for our ordered eggs to be made. It wasn't even a complicated order, just scrambled eggs, but it took over 30 minutes and we were the only ones in the restaurant (since it was 6:15am) and we were in a rush to get on a tour. The next day when we went down to breakfast around 9am, there was a line all the way down the hallway to the elevator, of people who were waiting to be seated at tables. After we waited 20/30 minutes to get a table we entered into the breakfast room and were surprised to see half the tables empty!!! The staff is very incompetent and slow at clearing and changing over tables! The whole breakfast experience at this hotel is TERRIBLE and leaves a lot to be desired. Make sure to plan lots of extra time for having breakfast there because it takes forever.

Room Tip: The family rooms all have castle views! No A/C so ask for a fan Breakfast line is VERY long so mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegM09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,288
    1,290
    479
    169
    81
See reviews for
802
1,374
94
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (827)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
barrington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Steps away from Edinburgh Castle in old town. The rooms were clean and with great views of the castle. The only problem we had, and reason for poor rating, was the service at Breakfast. They were not properly staffed for a full hotel and the Breakfast manager had no sense of urgency as tables were dirty and a line was out the door (actually, all the way to the elevator). At the front desk, they didn't seem to care either. Unfortunate, because the hotel is so nice. They just need to find the right people to run it, with customer satisfaction as a high priority.

Room Tip: Must ask for view of Castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chernikeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

A lovely special gift from my son and family to celebrate our ruby wedding anniversary and milestone birthdays!!
Really nice central hotel, lovely room, delicious food. Very helpful staff except when we were given wrong directions to the bus stop to the airport!!! Beautiful view of the castle, nice area to stay in, not too noisy but central. Had a lovely couple of days sightseeing, did the ghost tour and castle, went to the zoo and tracked down gray friars bobby! Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phoebenooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My husband & I were booked for 2 nights 17th & 18th July but unfortunately I became ill on our first night & had to return home the next morning. We were both extremely impressed with the reception staff who couldn't have been more helpful, a special mention to the Spanish lady, Maria I think, who was lovely! I had 'phoned ahead to say I was Blue Badge holder & a parking space was reserved for us which was wonderful as parking on the Grassmarket could be difficult. The room itself was on the 4th Floor facing the castle & it is a stunning view however be prepared for the noise from the very busy Grassmarket .The only criticism with regard to the room would be in the shower area where there is nowhere to place shampoo, soap etc. except on the floor & as I am slightly disabled found this awkward plus also no grab bar., but overall the room was clean with a comfy bed. Breakfast on the 5th Floor was OK but not wonderful, although to be fair it was very busy however again the staff were very friendly & efficient. If in Edinburgh again we most certainly would stay here again.

Room Tip: For the view De-Luxe rooms on 4th Floor but if you need quiet better at back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxipooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Hi, stayed here on Sunday Saver deal which had been a Christmas gift. Upgraded room for additional £20 on arrival and got a fantastic view of castle. Location is great, really central but was most impressed by the staff particularly Billy Anderson the breakfast manager. Would definitely recommend to others and would return again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michellemcargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mildura, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Great hotel close to Edinburgh Castle and main town area, good dining, excellent breakfast with view to the castle. Our room looked out to the castle. Windows opened which was great as te weather was quite warm in summer. Lots to go and see in walking distance to hotel awesome recycled clothes shop neaby selling kilts, cashmere cardigans, silk shawls etc at bargain prices. Had a great time and would go back

Room Tip: Take a room with a castle view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7Sydneytraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Had the most amazing staff assist us on our stay here. An extra special thanks to Norbert who went over and beyond to make a very special birthday evening. Beautiful view of the castle especially at breakfast on the 5th floor. Very comfy beds and nice big windows to view the comings and goings of Edinburgh.

Helpful?
2 Thank belflo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#46 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#50 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Property: Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Address: 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Grassmarket Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex Grassmarket Hotel is located in Edinburgh’s vibrant Grassmarket. Nearby, you’ll find the characteristic Edinburgh Castle, Greyfriars Kirkyard and The Royal Mile, making this hotel the perfect place to stay if you’re looking to explore the city. Your room will be stocked with both essentials and added extras like complimentary Wi-Fi, luxurious Elemis toiletries and a 42” LCD TV. Choose a Deluxe or Family room and you’ll also get an Edinburgh Castle view to make your stay extra special. Kick-start your day with a refreshing swim in the hotel swimming pool or use the Technogym fitness studio, free of charge. Later you can try some unique fusion food to share created by the well-known Edinburgh Chef, Tony Singh in the hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Apex Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing