We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #85 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Katrineholm, Södermanlands Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice location”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The location of the hotel was very good!! Just a short walk from everything! Friendly staff. Just minor complaints, it was really hot during our stay, and no aircondition in the room! Although they a fan! The room was a little worn out as well! But overall a good hotel!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ewonne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,306
    1,313
    491
    179
    85
See reviews for
824
1,398
100
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (834)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

A short 1 night stay whilst attending the games in Glasgow. Check in was quick and easy with helpful staff explaining how everything works, we were also given £10 to spend in the hotel just for booking direct with the hotel. Bar and restaurant were well decorated and had a nice atmosphere, room was well equipped, bed was very comfy, bathroom had plenty of amenities and the tea and coffee making facilities were perfect, even supplied with hot chocolate! Room service delivery was prompt, although the man who delivered it was a little scruffy looking, food was still lovely and tasty though. Check out was easy and everything dealt with perfectly by the staff. Overall a great experience at a good cost, would certainly recommend to anyone looking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JazDisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Suffolk
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We really enjoyed staying at the Apex International. The staff were very helpful, the location was superb and the view in the breakfast room is something to experience.

We were amazed at how cheap this hotel was as the quality was way above what we were expecting.

We didn't try the pool area or the bar area out but that was only because we had so much more to see in the city in our 2 nights.

Room Tip: At the front, overlooking the castle. The back rooms overlook a car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Church Fenton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Apex International for four nights as our base for the Commonwealth games.

Arrived on the Wednesday and found the location to be spot on, on the Grassmarket with it's range of restaurants and bars and just a five minute walk (via steep steps) to the Castle.

Room and bathroom we're fine with free wifi. Breakfast, whilst not included in the price we paid, could be booked the night before for £10 a head, which was good value - a saving of £3.50.

Whist we were there temperatures were in the mid 20's, and the room was rather warm, with the only means of ventilation being the window.

It also became clear that the said windows were not great at keeping out noise, and there was a fair bit into the early hours on Friday and Saturday nights.



Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lambi63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
158 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Our main problems with this hotel were due to a communication failure from booking.com not communicating our requirements of travelling as a family. The hotel would. It normally put families at the front of the hotel and they corrected this on the second night but the first night was interesting to say the least. The noise went on until the early hours, despite the ear plugs provided and our 8 year old was intrigued by the scenes she saw when peeking out of the curtains unable to sleep.
That said the staff were brilliant, moving our stuff without is having to pack bed the second night was more peaceful.
Our restaurant reservation wasn't communicated either and the hotel were again really good, we were seated the bar which was more informal and probably better for the children and they played with their packs that the hotel had given them while we all ate. They even did the children a platter with small bits of everything from the children's menu which was brilliant.
My only negative about the hotel itself was the warmth of the rooms give we couldn't opens window due to the noise and there was no air con although I expect this is rare in Scotland.
The breakfast was brilliant and the views of the castle were amazing.
I cannot thank the staff enough for their help given the problems we encountered and I am disappointed with booking.com for not even replying to my email.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frank197537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is a business hotel, it is chic and the rooms are elegant and very clean. Crisp sheets, wonderful soft towels and nice products in the bathroom. My room had both shower and bath tub. Small treats in the room are very much appreciated. Even a charming bathingduck for your bath tub is available. My room was towards the street, but still not noisy. I had a wonderful view to the Edinburgh Castle. Breakfast is nice and tasty, both offers continental or at your choice with different menus. Staff are ok, but not very smiling or inviting. It didn't affect me apart from when I asked for an adapter and was told to cross the street to buy one myself. Everything was quite allright and I enjoyed staying at the Apex International. Even if I was going back on a family trip I would choose this hotel due to it's perfect location.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are allright, mine was on second floor and perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessa1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We decided to visit Edinburgh for a nice long weekend adventure. Flew out of Chicago on Thursday night and arrived Friday morning at 7:45. A quick tram and short walk (about .5m) and we were at the hotels front door. A cab from the tram was 5 pounds so we just walked as it was a beautiful morning. Upon arrival we were greeted by Peter who checked us in and said our room would be available around 2pm and they would gladly lock up our bags and let us freshen up in the pool looker room area. We freshened up and made our way out. We visited the castle, sampled food, drank at pubs and relaxed. We got back to the hotel about 2 hoping our room was ready but Peter said it would be just a few minutes longer and we should go into the bar and have a drink on the house. We did and 15 minutes later we went up to our room and our bags had already been delivered! Nice job Peter! The room was neat, clean and modern. Everything was as it should be and frankly for a European room it was very spacious. We napped and then went out for a nice dinner. After dinner we walked Grassmarket street and had a pint our two with some lovely folks we met at "The Fiddlers Arm". Great pub. The next day we walked to Haymarket Station and took the train to Luechars and then a cab to St Andrews. Lovely town and I showed my wife the courses I had played a few years before. We ate, drank and had a very nice time. Dinner that night was at Mussels & Steak which I highly recommend. Make a reservation as they are quite busy. We left the next morning asking for a cab at 7:00am to take us to the tram station. 7:00am the cab was waiting and we left Scotland with smiles on our faces. To sum it all up please don't take too much stock in the poor reviews. Our room was just perfect. NO peeling paint, no smelly anything. A fine hotel. And frankly the hotel should find a way to Clone Peter, Felix and the front desk staff. They are wonderful and make the stay that much better.

Room Tip: Castle View rooms are the best although a little noisy if you have the windows open. We did not hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skibum62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#45 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,095 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 148 in Edinburgh
4,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#49 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,567 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
966 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Property: Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Address: 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Grassmarket Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex Grassmarket Hotel is located in Edinburgh’s vibrant Grassmarket. Nearby, you’ll find the characteristic Edinburgh Castle, Greyfriars Kirkyard and The Royal Mile, making this hotel the perfect place to stay if you’re looking to explore the city. Your room will be stocked with both essentials and added extras like complimentary Wi-Fi, luxurious Elemis toiletries and a 42” LCD TV. Choose a Deluxe or Family room and you’ll also get an Edinburgh Castle view to make your stay extra special. Kick-start your day with a refreshing swim in the hotel swimming pool or use the Technogym fitness studio, free of charge. Later you can try some unique fusion food to share created by the well-known Edinburgh Chef, Tony Singh in the hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apex Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing