We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view of Edinburgh castle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #86 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing view of Edinburgh castle”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Got a quadruple family room with fabulous view of castle. Great location in popular Grassmarket area of old town Edinburgh, surrounded by pubs and eateries. Left car in hotel car park for small charge and spent most of the time walking around city. Getting a room with a view of the castle is a must... ask when you book. Room was very comfortable with good wifi. The view more than made up for minor irritations such as the shower flooding and the toilet seat breaking. Breakfast was served in the Heights restaurant with panoramic views of the castle. Breakfast service is a bit inefficient at peak times.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dandydonut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,319
    1,319
    503
    179
    87
See reviews for
839
1,408
100
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (840)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

When our cab pulled up to the front door of this hotel, I couldn't believe the view of the castle! The breakfast room on the top floor had the same incredible view! The hotel is nicely renovated, and I thought there was a good amount of space in the rooms for a hotel in the center of everything. All of the staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. The food in the restaurant was excellent as well, whether going for the hot breakfast or just the buffet. And the best part - a short walk to the castle and all of the other sights within the old and new town areas. Now I say short walk - but much of it is up/down hill - so those who have trouble walking might not agree with my opinion. As a bonus, the tourist buses pick up right across the street from the hotel, so it is easy to go on a tour of the city from there. Also across the street, a variety of pubs with great food! Loved our stay here!

Room Tip: Our room did not have a castle view - those rooms are few as the bulk of the rooms seem to be on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divanis328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Family of four, stayed here for 2 nights in a family room. Overall the hotel is very good, and I would have scored it 5 out of 5, but a couple of annoyances let it down - the first being that the window in the room wouldn't open properly and as the hotel doesn't have a/c in the bedrooms this made it a bit uncomfortable, the second was the toiletries in the room were not refreshed on the second day, only realised this when using the bathroom on the final morning.

The view from the Heights restaurant (for breakfast) was fantastic as was the service, so would recommend the hotel for a stay in Edinburgh.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank HoultFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesquite, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed at this Apex for our first 2 nights in Edinburgh. Right when we walked in the front door and a wonderful young man, Jorge, came down the stairs and grabbed all our bags...we knew the staff was going to be great. The young women who checked us in were all smiles and kindness. When we opened our room door, there was a bottle of wine with 2 glasses for us - and a card wishing us a happy 30th anniversary! Our room had been upgraded to across the street from the Edinburgh Castle - so that meant we got a free concert from the rehearsals for the Edinburgh Military Tattoo. OMG, what a wonderful way to spend the evening in Edinburgh. The hotel location is perfect too - lots of great pubs close by.

By far, this hotel should be proud of the staff...they were extraordinary! If we are ever blessed to be able to come back to Scotland in the future, my first call will be to this Apex.

Room Tip: If you want it quiet outside, don't get a room facing the castle...but facing the castle is awes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdenning1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had a fantastic 3 night stay whilst we spent a couple of days in Edinburgh before heading to Glasgow for the Commonwealth Games.

Staff were very friendly and welcoming on arrival, making us feel very special. It was my wife's 30th Birthday and they upgraded us to a much better room with a castle view, a room I would now highly recommend. Breakfast was fantastic and also overlooked the castle which was a great sight.

The room was also comfortable and well cleaned, it also had very good facilities within it.

Only negatives were there was some noise early in the morning which woke us up and also the swimming pool was much smaller than we hoped and very quickly got very busy when just a few people arrived.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrineholm, Södermanlands Län, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The location of the hotel was very good!! Just a short walk from everything! Friendly staff. Just minor complaints, it was really hot during our stay, and no aircondition in the room! Although they a fan! The room was a little worn out as well! But overall a good hotel!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ewonne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

A short 1 night stay whilst attending the games in Glasgow. Check in was quick and easy with helpful staff explaining how everything works, we were also given £10 to spend in the hotel just for booking direct with the hotel. Bar and restaurant were well decorated and had a nice atmosphere, room was well equipped, bed was very comfy, bathroom had plenty of amenities and the tea and coffee making facilities were perfect, even supplied with hot chocolate! Room service delivery was prompt, although the man who delivered it was a little scruffy looking, food was still lovely and tasty though. Check out was easy and everything dealt with perfectly by the staff. Overall a great experience at a good cost, would certainly recommend to anyone looking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JazDisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,134 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 149 in Edinburgh
4,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,485 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Property: Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Address: 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Grassmarket Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex Grassmarket Hotel is located in Edinburgh’s vibrant Grassmarket. Nearby, you’ll find the characteristic Edinburgh Castle, Greyfriars Kirkyard and The Royal Mile, making this hotel the perfect place to stay if you’re looking to explore the city. Your room will be stocked with both essentials and added extras like complimentary Wi-Fi, luxurious Elemis toiletries and a 42” LCD TV. Choose a Deluxe or Family room and you’ll also get an Edinburgh Castle view to make your stay extra special. Kick-start your day with a refreshing swim in the hotel swimming pool or use the Technogym fitness studio, free of charge. Later you can try some unique fusion food to share created by the well-known Edinburgh Chef, Tony Singh in the hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Apex Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing