We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #89 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Located just below the Edinburgh Castle and the Royal Mile. The restaurant, lobby and each floor's lobby has floor to ceiling windows with a view of the Edinburgh Castle. Is located on a wide street with benches, trees, and music separating one side from the other. Many restaurants and pubs to choose from and great shopping all the way to the Royal Mile. I also liked it because I was doing some genealogy searching and this hotel was very near the Family History Center where i spent a day being helped by wonderful volunteers looking up information on my Scots connections. Can't remember exactly but think I paid about $100 US per night. Booked with Priceline. I'm a solo woman traveler and I felt very safe here and great location for sightseeing.

Room Tip: My room was in the back without a view. It was cool enough at first I thought it was air condition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caribseabreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,752 - 1,758 of 3,690 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

On arrival, greeted with warm welcome, the best yet ( just I wish could remember staff's names) we did arrive early nevertheless staff check if room ready but it wasn't so off course they took luggage off us so we could get on with sightseeing!
When we did checked in the kids were given activity packs, which includes crayons, activity sheet etc. kept kids busy whilst we unpacked... Thank you!! Room was lovely and perhaps a little small for five but we were warned!! We appreciated the tea facilities and complimentary water! No air conditioning, so was a little hot but a fan was available! Breakfast was continental and/ or Scottish, continental was buffet style and then you order Scottish, freshly cooked and lovely. Yum!! Room was cleaned very day except on second day!!
We fancied a lie in so put the “do not disturb” sign out, but change it to “please refresh my room” when we went out late morning, but we returned to the room, it wasn't cleaned!!! Instead we got a letter stating we didn't want room clean!! So if I want to moan about this lovely hotel... This would be it!
Now sleep and noise!! First night being a Thursday slept likes babies!! Friday and Saturday was awful, as room was hot we left windows open but the noise on the street overnight kept us awake!! Can't really blame Apex, as they supplied ear plugs! AC and sound proof Windows on the refurbishment plans please!!!Wi-Fi although free was not the best in room but prefect in restaurant on 5th floor

Dinner: was ok, menu limited, only ate there the once! Fish was too oily/fatty not fried properly.
Pool, small but lovely and clean, older customers complained about kids and noise but kids will be kids!! and like I said it is a small pool

Gym well equipped, so could burn off some calories!!

Staff just the best!! No fake smiles well maybe 1 or 2 but genuinely friendly and some chatty, love that about apex staff!! You r employing the right kind of people!
All in all enjoyed our stay, lovely staff!! In my opinion best yet! Would consider hotel again but would think carefully about the overnight noise.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of hotel better if you want to avoid noise on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, when we booked we requested a castle view and it was absolutely beautiful, especially at night when there was lights round the castle, I would definitely say it was worth the extra money for the view. LOCATION PERFECT. The staff were friendly, didn't eat or drink in the hotel so can't comment on that. My only criticism would be that it was quite noisy at night, it didn't bother us, however if your looking for a quieter stay then try a hotel further away from the tourist areas.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank S_hedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Booked in during the height of the Festival. The room was large and the bed was extremely comfortable. Toiletries were excellent and the free duck was a lovely touch. Staff were friendly and there was a great atmosphere during the festival. Perfect position and lots of venues nearby.

Room Tip: Double room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We chose the Apex hotel because it was in the city centre itself. We were visiting Edinburgh for the fringe festival and it turned out to be even more convient than we thought as it was 10 mins away from all of the main venues so we could pop back to the hotel easily during the day if needed.
The hotel was quite expensive for what it was but that is unfortunately the case during the fringe. We did not get breakfast and were offered it at a rate of £10 per person. We found a lot of cafés within 5 minutes so we went there for breakfast each day.
The room was a nice size and was clean. The staff were very helpful and they have a left luggage facility which was very helpful.
Overall it was a nice hotel it's location was its best selling point.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank ArchieThunderpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Well, this hotel was a surprise. The price we paid, namely $500 Canadian dollars per night for two nights, had led us to think that it would be, nice... Wrong! A tour hotel, catering to buses and it would appear, down and out travellers... Just nothing was interesting. The bar, if one could call it that, was appalling. Nobody there, no ambience, no nothing. The food was served cold in the not-included-in-the-price breakfast, in what appeared to be a cafeteria, and the added bonus were the police and firemen present surrounding the hotel for an alleged 'jumper' off the window-sill. (Yes, there is no air conditioning in the hotel). Just an appalling experience, never to be repeated. Had drinks at the Balmoral and at L&V Hotel, and those two places are where I will return.

Room Tip: No room here! Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We chose this place and we usually like staying in the Grassmarket area when in Edinburgh and our normal hotel (the sister hotel Apex City) was full.

The Apex International is fine. Very friendly staff all round but especially at check in. Our room wasnt ready as we were early but they took our bags and offered to give us a call when it was available. We went out for some lunch and when returned our bags had been taken up to our room for us.

The room was standard hotel stuff, clean and with everything you require for a few nights stay. Our room was at the back so no view to speak of, if you want a view of the castle then ask for one when booking - although remember you will need to be used to noise from the Grassmarket which can very rowdy through the night.

The bar was very good and we liked the outside bit we could sit in and relax after a long days sightseeing.

We did not have breakfast included and did not try the pool or gym while we stayed.

All in all, we would stay here again if the Apex City was not available, although hopefully at better prices than the festival ones we obviously had to pay this time around..

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoopsHarwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,644 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#58 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,704 reviews
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#71 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Address: 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £73 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Grassmarket Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex Grassmarket Hotel is located in Edinburgh’s vibrant Grassmarket. Nearby, you’ll find the characteristic Edinburgh Castle, Greyfriars Kirkyard and The Royal Mile, making this hotel the perfect place to stay if you’re looking to explore the city. Your room will be stocked with both essentials and added extras like complimentary Wi-Fi, luxurious Elemis toiletries and a 42” LCD TV. Choose a Deluxe or Family room and you’ll also get an Edinburgh Castle view to make your stay extra special. Kick-start your day with a refreshing swim in the hotel swimming pool or use the Technogym fitness studio, free of charge. Later you can try some unique fusion food to share created by the well-known Edinburgh Chef, Tony Singh in the hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apex Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing