We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wet and windy weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ardgarth Guest House
Ranked #157 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wet and windy weekend”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

My wife and I stayed here Fri 8th/ 9th of March. Very friendly owners and a great location for visiting the city of Edinburgh. Only a few hundred yards from the beach of Portabelo and great for an evening walk. The room was a good size and had all the amenities for a two night stay. The complimentary biscuits were past there date but the breakfasts were of a good standard. An easy bus ride into the city and plenty of free parking near the guesthouse to leave your car.

Room Tip: Room 7 three single beds on the 3rd floor in the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idixon98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    11
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
33
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

I had stayed at this place exactly 3 years previous and Ursula remembered me. It was a no brainer to book here again. Nothing is too much trouble and you're made to feel so welcome. The place is spotless and so inviting. I wouldn't hesitate to book here again albeit probably in another 3 years. Ursula's marmalade is to die for and she gave me a jar, a box of sweetie goodies and a Christmas card to take with me when I checked out. If you're visiting Edinburgh and don't mind taking a bus into the centre and at very reasonable rates then this is the place to book.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eddie682511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantova
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Mrs. Ursula Wright demonstrated us the perfect Scottish manners: kind, gentle, polite...we renamed her "our second mom". She gave us a really warm welcome and offered us a wonderful room. Nice, comfortable and - the most important - very very clean.
We stayed there 2 nights and we enjoyed our time in Edinburgh. Mrs Wright was so helpful and she booked for us the restaurants and the tickets for bus.
The Guest House is in Portobello, a really nice district near the sea. You can reach Edinburgh centre by bus (really advisable) and spend all the day visiting the city - so nice! - and have a lot of fun.
The Ardgarth G.H. makes you feel like at home. And the breakfasts are incredible....very rich choice of food (Viennoiserie breakfast, traditional scottish breakfast...whatever you want, really!).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LukePytch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed three nights at Ardgarth and were very pleased. Ursula is very welcoming and provides excellent advice on what to do. The rooms are comfortable and breakfast is excellent. It is only a 10' bus ride to Princes Street and a hundred yards from the beach which is really relaxing after a busy day walking round Edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Communicake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Second visit to the Ardgarth, Urshula is very welcoming, her standards are excellent. a warm friendly welcome awaits every visitor, breakfast is very varied with an excellent selection offered catering for all needs with plenty of tea and toast offered regulary by the friendly staff.
The Ardgarth is only 2/3 minutes from the beach/sea front and even closer to the bus stop into Edinburgh, which is only 10 minutes away.
Excellent local pubs very close by serving very good quality food.
The Ardgarth is a place we would return to time and again and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: As there are only 4 ensuite rooms ensure you ask for one when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carroll1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Ardgarth is exactly what a B&B should be: cozy, welcoming, and great value.

Four of us in our 20s/30s, stayed at Ardgarth during a weekend break and loved it. The best part was the charming seaside location with quick bus access to the City Centre allowing visitors to experience the easily missed beaches of Edinburgh (Note: For those traveling alone this is a very safe area). And don't even get us started on the generous breakfasts with plenty vegetarian options!

Unlike some B&B's that overdo it, the staff was friendly and attentive but otherwise left us alone. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Had a great stay , the guest house is in a ideall location for me ( great pubs nearby !! ) and good access to the city centre ( for the missus !! ) . Nice room which although was not very big was thoughtfully decorated and modern and perfect for us after all you dont go on holiday to spend your time in the room.. Would have no hesitation in recommending .

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ayrdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
8.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park
0.5 mi away
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Milton House
Milton House
#131 of 392 in Edinburgh
27 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aaran Lodge
Aaran Lodge
#107 of 392 in Edinburgh
129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aynetree Guest House
Aynetree Guest House
#166 of 392 in Edinburgh
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardgarth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardgarth Guest House

Property: Ardgarth Guest House
Address: 1 St. Marys Place | Portobello, Edinburgh EH15 2QF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small friendly Guest House in a quiet location with free on-street parking and good bus service to city centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ardgarth Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing