We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just right” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ardgarth Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ardgarth Guest House
Ranked #135 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“just right”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Great location - just a few minutes walk to the sea, shops, bars. Room was small but comfortable, with very good ensuite shower & loo. Good choice for breakfast. We were made to feel very welcome, and Ursula was a font of local knowledge.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erniemummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    12
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
34
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

This was the best of the best during our tour of the UK. Portobello is a wonderful quiet corner of Edinburgh. The bus stop is at the corner and there is a great pub ~1 block away on the water. It was the perfect spot to relax while the boys ran the boardwalk. Ursula is wonderful and runs a very efficient and clean operation. She is knowledgeable about the area an can offer $ saving tips depending on your interests. You really cannot go wrong staying here. P.S. The teapot collection in the dinning room made me green with envy! :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylviesbluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

This is a great Guest House for people with disabilities. My bedroom was large and had a fully accessible walking shower. I even had my special equipment delivered to the Guest House. The proprietors had an excellent knowledge of Edinburgh, And did everything they could to help me and mad my Stay enjoyable. Breakfast provide a wide range of options and the quality of the food was excellent.

Room Tip: Look up on the internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Portobello is a wonderful, serene part of Edinburgh and Ardgarth B&B is among the best B&B we stayed in along our tour of Ireland and Scotland. I would absolutely recommend this B&B to anyone heading to Edinburgh. The host could not have been more helpful. They truly made the trip even more enjoyable. The breakfast was excellent.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Izzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

A very pleasant place which is very reasonably priced. Walking distance from beach. We stayed for one night while dropping daughter at uni and all worked well. Good breakfast with good choice.

A very pleasant place which is very reasonably priced. Walking distance from beach. We stayed for one night while dropping daughter at uni and all worked well. Good breakfast with good choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArgyleNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Lovely clean and comfortable B&B only a couple of minutes walk from the sea front and the bus stop into Edinburgh. The owner was very friendly and helpful and made me feel very welcome. The breakfast was great - I really appreciated the fresh fruit.

Room Tip: I was right at the top of the house, but if you have mobility problems make sure you tell the owner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reoYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Group of friends from UK Spain and Germany.
Rooms just we needed,
Breakfast great choice (A bit early for our group we like late nights!!)
Easy to get to City,
Not far from Beach,
Some very good places to eat locally.
No problem with car parking at house.
Don't hesitate to go.

Room Tip: Room 1 Great size big bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IANC999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kings Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Abercorn Guest House
Abercorn Guest House
#35 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rockville Hotel
Rockville Hotel
#37 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Milton House
Milton House
#137 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardgarth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardgarth Guest House

Property: Ardgarth Guest House
Address: 1 St. Marys Place | Portobello, Edinburgh EH15 2QF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small friendly Guest House in a quiet location with free on-street parking and good bus service to city centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ardgarth Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing