We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We can't bring ourselves to stay anywhere else.”
Review of 20 London Street

20 London Street
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
20 London Street
Ranked #274 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“We can't bring ourselves to stay anywhere else.”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We return to Edinburgh every year for the Fringe Festival. While we often talk about trying a new place to stay, we can't bring ourselves to go anywhere else. The rooms are spacious and extremely comfortable and the breakfast is truly unbeatable. Throw in the elegant public area and the delightful conversations with the host and guests and it's hard to imagine a better experience.

The location is close enough to the area's attractions to be a convenient walk, but still out of the fray so it is relaxing and quiet. While you are here, try some of the small, quirky restaurants in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atlflyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We have just returned after having a wonderful weekends stay. Our room was the Garden room which was warm,comfortable and spotlessly clean. John was very welcoming on our arrival and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was wonderful and the house is stunning. A short uphill walk into the centre is very pleasant and the area has lots of eateries, pubs and bars. We loved our stay and would not hesitate in recommending 20 London street to anyone wanting a luxurious stay in a very grand house at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: The garden room is lovely and would be even more so in Summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We loved 20 London Street! It is a beautifully decorated traditional house, and John was very kind, and helpful!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4444lpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We stayed at 20 London Street for Hogmonay and it was a perfect find. Situated off Broughton Street it was a brisk 15 min walk to the town centre, no problem for us but up hill most of the way so possibly not ideal for some.

We stayed on the lower ground floor in the Garden Room. It was beautifully furnished and the bed was so comfortable with cotton sheets, cosy duvet and plump pillows... if only we could have taken it home! The en suite was small but perfectly formed, with a short sized bath, electric shower and plenty of hot water. The room was serviced daily and the towels changed daily too, lovely! A well stocked tea tray and mini fridge containing bottled water and fresh milk completed the room.

Breakfast was served at a grand table in the guest lounge. It was a welcome array of yoghurt, fresh fruit, cereals, juice, tea and coffee, toast, croissants and a cooked option too. It was wonderful and set us up very well for the day!

The only down side of staying here is the lack of parking, it was permit parking only outside the house and local spaces were pay at the meter for a maximum of 4 hours at a time. We travelled by train so it was fine for us but it may be a consideration for others.

In summary we can't recommend 20 London Street highly enough - it's set in a quiet area of the city but within easy reach of some wonderful bars and restaurants and only a short walk into town. The building is grand and quirky but retains a really homely feel. John, the owner, made us feel most welcome and provided us with a wonderful stay. Would we go back? Yes of course... tomorrow if we could!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnyDay06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2009

John is a great host. The room was at least 3 stars and the breakfast 5.

The residence is a bit of a walk from the tourist center (15-20 minutes). Be prepared for the hills you may meet along the way!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank outforabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2008

Our new favourite B&B: that's how my wife and I would describe our latest discovery! Twenty London Street is an elegant townhouse property in Edinburgh's gracious Georgian New Town which the owner operates as a B&B. It's very discreet - no signage, apart from her name on the door. But it's very conveniently located for the city's wealth of historic sites, galleries, and other visitor attraction - and just two minitures stroll from Harvey Nichols!
The house is furnished with fine antiques, paintings and prints, and our bedroom (the stylishly decorated Garden Room) was very much to our liking: a wonderfully comfortable bed, made up with Egyptian cotton sheets, plus a lovely bathroom stocked with a plethora of fluffy towels. The breakfast, however, exceeded all expectation . . . a feast of fresh fruit, muesli, yoghurt and freshly squeezed fruit juices - then a marvellous plateful of scarmbled eggs with bacon, tomatoes, and field mushrooms. Delicious!
We were tempted to keep Twenty London Street our own special secret. But that wouldn't be fair. We would say it's among the very best B&Bs we've ever come across, and the location is unbeatable. Better still, the total bill for our two-night stay was only £190. We will most certainly be back!

  • Liked — Comforts and luxuries and location
  • Disliked — No wireless internet access
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DiscerningTwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2008

We stayed with Gillian at 20 London Street for 5 days during the Edinburgh festival and were very happy with the place. The actual house is stunning with lovely original features and large rooms. The bedroom we had (garden room) had a super comfy bed and everything you would expect from a high quality B&B - all nice and modern with none of the usual chinzy rubbish.

Gillian was a great host and provided excellent breakfasts of your choice including excellent healthy options which makes for a nice change.

Location wise, London Street is in the New Town of Edinburgh and there are a bunch of fantastic restaurants and cafes nearby, as well as being a short walk to the centre of town.

I'll definitely be staying again if I head back up North.

  • Liked — The building, and service
  • Disliked — The rain!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tallan_os
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Caravel Guest House
#147 of 392 in Edinburgh
89 reviews
New Town
Inchgrove House
Inchgrove House
#144 of 392 in Edinburgh
86 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Ramsay's B&B
Ramsay's B&B
#14 of 392 in Edinburgh
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 392 in Edinburgh
474 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#100 of 392 in Edinburgh
283 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 20 London Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 20 London Street

Property: 20 London Street
Address: 20 London Street, Edinburgh EH3 6NA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #274 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
20 London Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing