We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fabulous find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 20 London Street

20 London Street
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
20 London Street
Ranked #290 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
London
1 review
“A fabulous find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2008

Our new favourite B&B: that's how my wife and I would describe our latest discovery! Twenty London Street is an elegant townhouse property in Edinburgh's gracious Georgian New Town which the owner operates as a B&B. It's very discreet - no signage, apart from her name on the door. But it's very conveniently located for the city's wealth of historic sites, galleries, and other visitor attraction - and just two minitures stroll from Harvey Nichols!
The house is furnished with fine antiques, paintings and prints, and our bedroom (the stylishly decorated Garden Room) was very much to our liking: a wonderfully comfortable bed, made up with Egyptian cotton sheets, plus a lovely bathroom stocked with a plethora of fluffy towels. The breakfast, however, exceeded all expectation . . . a feast of fresh fruit, muesli, yoghurt and freshly squeezed fruit juices - then a marvellous plateful of scarmbled eggs with bacon, tomatoes, and field mushrooms. Delicious!
We were tempted to keep Twenty London Street our own special secret. But that wouldn't be fair. We would say it's among the very best B&Bs we've ever come across, and the location is unbeatable. Better still, the total bill for our two-night stay was only £190. We will most certainly be back!

  • Liked — Comforts and luxuries and location
  • Disliked — No wireless internet access
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DiscerningTwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2008

We stayed with Gillian at 20 London Street for 5 days during the Edinburgh festival and were very happy with the place. The actual house is stunning with lovely original features and large rooms. The bedroom we had (garden room) had a super comfy bed and everything you would expect from a high quality B&B - all nice and modern with none of the usual chinzy rubbish.

Gillian was a great host and provided excellent breakfasts of your choice including excellent healthy options which makes for a nice change.

Location wise, London Street is in the New Town of Edinburgh and there are a bunch of fantastic restaurants and cafes nearby, as well as being a short walk to the centre of town.

I'll definitely be staying again if I head back up North.

  • Liked — The building, and service
  • Disliked — The rain!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tallan_os
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2008

We arrived on a rainy morning after flying all night. Gillian met us at the door, took us in the sitting room even though we were early, served us with biscuits & coffee and made us feel at home. We then explored the area & later returned to our rooms. 20 London Street is in a great walking location to shopping and places to eat. Gillian keeps her house spotless and her breakfasts are wonderful. The sitting area is filled with books & is a confortable place to relax. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated and the beds are very comfortable. Gillian is the perfect host. We would return to 20 London Street and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mixmaster300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2007

If you want to experience the true charm and refinement of this beautiful city then 20 London Street is THE best residence to base yourself. Lovely. We have just come back after a long weekend there and are missing it already.
Set in a Georgian townhouse in the 'New Town' just down from St Andrews Sq (and Harvey Nichols) it occupies a prime location and is extremely comfortable.
We really loved coming back to this place after a day of sightseeing and culture etc. .
It was like being a true Edinburgh resident but with the added bonus of the wonderful manager, John, looking after us. His knowledge of the best restaurants, exhibitions, theatres etc was exempliary whilst the breakfast served was worth the whole tariff alone.
Sheets were top quality (a sign of a good place to stay in my book) and everywhere was super clean plus we had use of the gracious drawing room with its wealth of artworks, curios and objets d'art.
We felt thoroughly looked after here.
If only all other B&B's had this mixture of top-hotel-quality service with that personal touch.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Smallish bathrooms
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank fashbits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2005

New Town is THE place to stay if you want to sample Edinburgh's architecture, and London Street is a great example. Number 20 London Street is a beautiful home, filled with pictures and flowers. There's a huge, elegant drawing room where breakfast is served. We stayed in the double room at the back of the house, ground floor, which has a view over the gardens. The shower room was more of a shower cupboard, but that was really our only complaint. Oh - and make sure Gillian doesn't chat too much during breakfast or a lot of croissants can get burnt!. The other guests were also really interesting to chat to over breakfast, which was not just a full cooked breakfast but also piles of cereals, toast and strawberries.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sarahnfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Broughton & Calton
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
#123 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Caravel Guest House
#159 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Ramsay's B&B
Ramsay's B&B
#12 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Broughton & Calton
14 Hart Street
14 Hart Street
#1 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 20 London Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 20 London Street

Property: 20 London Street
Address: 20 London Street, Edinburgh EH3 6NA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #290 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
20 London Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing