We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Edinburgh Townhouse
Ranked #39 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay in Edinburgh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Lovely owner who helped out with all my needs. Townhouse was opposite an excellent Thai restaurant and next to a great bar for evening entertainment.

Would have loved a bath....shower wasn't great.

Loads of stairs like a lot of places in Edinburgh. I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PaulaEsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    154
    51
    14
    10
See reviews for
62
135
64
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I liked having everything you needed within walking distance. The host was extremely helpful and considerate. The five flights of steps and the sparse amenities would make me rethink a return visit. Not a great spot for the elderly or handicapped.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is a very ideal accommodation. The location is great, staff was nice and helpful and the room I lived was neat with excellent design. It made me want to stay longer at that room. The price was acceptable as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ianchannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

A warm, friendly and helpful welcome awaits you at the Edinburgh Townhouse. A great location for shopping and all attractions.. If you can't do steps then this isn't the place for you as there are rather a lot of them. Although breakfast was a short walk away it was worth it. There was a good selection of food and plenty of tea or coffee.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Edinburgh Townhouse is in a great location, close to many attractions. The manager was very enthusiastic and helpful. I had a single room next to the main entrance and facing the street so it can be a bit noisy, but I'm not a light sleeper so it was fine for me. The room was comfortable with all essential amenities, including tea/coffee facilities. Overall it was a great stay and I would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ttca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend and found the staff incredibly friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and clean with a nice design. The only thing that could be improved is the shower which wasn't great.
There are a lot of stairs to climb before you get to the hotel reception but our view of the castle from the bedroom made up for that.
We really enjoyed our stay, thank you!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Edinburgh Townhouse is located in the new town, really central, everything on your doorstep. The host gives you a warm welcome. The rooms are nice, clean and what you can expect for the price you pay (bathroom is quiet small). We really enjoyed our stay!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MariaMagdalena777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
New Town
53 Frederick Street
53 Frederick Street
#23 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
New Town
Edinburgh Central Guest House
Edinburgh Central Guest House
#64 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dene Guest House
#20 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
New Town
Castle View Guest House
Castle View Guest House
#81 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
New Town
CODE POD Hostel
CODE POD Hostel
#2 of 215 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edinburgh Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edinburgh Townhouse

Property: The Edinburgh Townhouse
Address: 38 North Castle Street, Edinburgh EH2 3BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Edinburgh Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edinburgh Town House, Is situated on the 3 rd floor of a Georgian Town House,We do not have an elavator , if you have any issues with stairs the guesthouse will not be suitable. just up from Princess Street. The famous Edinburgh Castle can be seen from the front entrance. This is a charming guesthouse in a superb location. We are walking distance to all the famous landmarks,George street with its restaurants, cafes ,cocktail bars and designer shops are also on our door step.We offer a comfortable room in a lovely townhouse,with free wi-fi.Please come and see for yourself you wont be disapointed. Famous writer Sir Walter Scott was born just across from us. History every were you look. We are a 20 min. drive from Edinburgh airport, 10 mins from the rail station and 10 mins from the bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Edinburgh Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edinburgh Townhouse Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing