We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Edinburgh Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Edinburgh Townhouse
Ranked #38 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
villeneuve les maguelone
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

the townhouse is very well located in the new town, near restaurants and shops. the staff is very helpfull and friendly. he help us with the lugages for the stairs and to have a taxi because my english is very poor. thanks for all.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank michel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    148
    50
    14
    10
See reviews for
60
133
63
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Erlenbach, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had a very lovely stay in the Townhouse and the owner was very friendly and helpful. Bringing our bags early in the morning was no problem, even leave it till our flight went wasn't, too. It's very central in Edinburgh in the New Town, Old Town is only a 10-minute walk away!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank domnikl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here while attending an author event in Edinburgh. Many others had booked places like the george and paid a fortune and were really disappointed however we paid a reasonable price and stayed here.. The location was brilliant just a block from princess street, the guy on reception was lovely and helpful. The rooms were modern and good size for what we needed and very clean. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Lovely owner who helped out with all my needs. Townhouse was opposite an excellent Thai restaurant and next to a great bar for evening entertainment.

Would have loved a bath....shower wasn't great.

Loads of stairs like a lot of places in Edinburgh. I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PaulaEsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I liked having everything you needed within walking distance. The host was extremely helpful and considerate. The five flights of steps and the sparse amenities would make me rethink a return visit. Not a great spot for the elderly or handicapped.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is a very ideal accommodation. The location is great, staff was nice and helpful and the room I lived was neat with excellent design. It made me want to stay longer at that room. The price was acceptable as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ianchannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

A warm, friendly and helpful welcome awaits you at the Edinburgh Townhouse. A great location for shopping and all attractions.. If you can't do steps then this isn't the place for you as there are rather a lot of them. Although breakfast was a short walk away it was worth it. There was a good selection of food and plenty of tea or coffee.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
New Town
53 Frederick Street
53 Frederick Street
#21 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
New Town
Edinburgh Central Guest House
Edinburgh Central Guest House
#65 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dene Guest House
#19 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
New Town
Castle View Guest House
Castle View Guest House
#87 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
New Town
CODE POD Hostel
CODE POD Hostel
#2 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edinburgh Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edinburgh Townhouse

Property: The Edinburgh Townhouse
Address: 38 North Castle Street, Edinburgh EH2 3BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Edinburgh Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edinburgh Town House, Is situated on the 3 rd floor of a Georgian Town House,We do not have an elavator , if you have any issues with stairs the guesthouse will not be suitable. just up from Princess Street. The famous Edinburgh Castle can be seen from the front entrance. This is a charming guesthouse in a superb location. We are walking distance to all the famous landmarks,George street with its restaurants, cafes ,cocktail bars and designer shops are also on our door step.We offer a comfortable room in a lovely townhouse,with free wi-fi.Please come and see for yourself you wont be disapointed. Famous writer Sir Walter Scott was born just across from us. History every were you look. We are a 20 min. drive from Edinburgh airport, 10 mins from the rail station and 10 mins from the bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, SpeedyBooker.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Edinburgh Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edinburgh Townhouse Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing