We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heriott Park Guest House
Ranked #220 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We found the staff pleasant, helpful but not intrusive which suited us fine. On arrival we were shown the main areas and given relevant information needed for our stay. We were asked if we had any questions or needed any information and then shown our room. We were quite disappointed with the decor and tired look of the establishment overal and particularly the room. Though of adequate size, it was shabby, a good dusting would work for a start, especially in the bathroom. The bed however, was very comfortably and we did have a good night's sleep. Generally the Heriott has the potential to be a little goldmine. Beautiful property, spacious, good location (if you don't mind a short journey into the city - not a problem and avoids the noise and upset of city revellers!). BUT some serious money needs to be spent updating the furnishings, carpets and generally dragging it out of the 70's. The dining room, however, was light, bright and airy. Breakfast was adequate, albeit simple and not quality produce, and if you don't like orange juice, tough as there's no other choice! Having said that, what we had was perfectly fine and ample in quantity. Having paid a very similar bed and breakfast rate on a visit to Stamford, England last year, I was surprised at the startling difference between the two places of accommodation. It was then my partner reminded me that in Edinburgh, likely you don't get much for your bucks!

Room Tip: Cannot fault it as The Heriott don't claim to offer it, but If you want a view of the castle, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kardu499484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    32
    23
    11
    6
See reviews for
26
27
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
plymouth
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012 via mobile

I was very happy with our stay lovely room (3) lots of space with a lovely view of Edinburgh castle in the background with the big hills / mountains either side, house is on a busy Main Street & with the windows open traffic was heard quite early in the morning we were working so early was ok for us , if you need peace then maybe a rear room ? Well serviced with public transport ( 15 mins to main town/city shops ) breakfast was good with a decent & varied choice , overall I was happy with the price & the stay was pleasant albeit only one night , i would stay again

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

My cousin and I stayed here for two or three nights last year. The guest house is well situated on a good bus route and there is off-road parking on the opposite side of the road - not always easy to cross when busy! The house itself is a lovely Victorian terrace with traditional features and furniture in the public areas. Unfortunately these are not so obvious in the rooms.

Our welcome was not particularly warm; our host didn't seem in the least bit interested in us, our visit, where we came from etc. and we were not offered any help to carry our bags up to our room. The twin room was clean but dated and a little shabby. There was a just-big-enough shower and loo en-suite, but the washbasin was in the room, which I don't really like. There were all the usual hairdryer, toiletries, kettle tea and coffee on hand and tourist information which you expect as standard.

Breakfast was served in a pleasant dining room, but again there was nothing remarkable about it. I had a cooked breakfast which was fine, but there wasn't much choice if I'd wanted continental style fare. Service was ok but lacking in the personal touch and we were seated near to the kitchen door so had waiting staff hurrying past us all the time.

We paid £50 each per night after a discount from visit Scotland. I don't feel we got real value for money and I wouldn't choose to stay there again unless absolutely necessary. I got a real feeling that this is a bums-on-seats high turnover business where the minimum is done to tick the boxes the four star rating requires.

Heriott Park has the potential to be a fabulous four or five star bed and breakfast - what a shame the owners seem satisfied with 'good enough'.

PS - We stayed during Festival time August 2011 but the date selector doesn't let me go back that far! from reading other reviews, I doubt things have changed much since our visit!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are noisy due to busy traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank libralady52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

Although no off street parking could park right out front of hotel, bus stop at front door. Staff friendly &.helpful about places to go & see & do. Stayed 3nights, beds comfy, travelling with my sister & nephew around UK from Australua. had family room with each having our own bed, great breakies. Would recommend to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyd6516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christchurch
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The Heriott sadly needs an update. Our room was clean but the bathroom was really small. Breakfast was great and it was nice to actually be able to use a computer free of charge. The bus is a two minute walk and a 10 minute bus ride in to the heart of Edinburgh We had arranged to have a continental b/fast on our last morning as we had an early morning flight but unfortunately they had locked the dining room.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerr78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Heriott Park Guest House is a very nice Guest House, excellent and clean rooms, great breakfast. Very good location, just 15 min by bus to the city centre. Bank, take away around. The staff is very nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank 982mari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed here for one night in July 2011.

We used Heriott Park Guest House as a base for exploring Edinburgh.

80 pounds for one night of accommodation and breakfast.

Didn't really see much of the staff. The room was similar to a motel - clean but dated. Small bathroom - there's a bidet in there as well if you need one.

Breakfast was basic but adequate.

Location is key to this place - you can catch a bus to Edinburgh and be there in 10 minutes - bus stop is a 2 minute walk so extremely convenient.

Street-parking only.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandgirl_Sydney14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Leith
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
#108 of 149 in Edinburgh
293 reviews
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
#182 of 392 in Edinburgh
172 reviews
Culane House Hotel
#136 of 392 in Edinburgh
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Inverleith Hotel
Inverleith Hotel
#104 of 392 in Edinburgh
353 reviews
Allison House Hotel
#111 of 392 in Edinburgh
191 reviews
Ravensdown Guest House
#356 of 392 in Edinburgh
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heriott Park Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heriott Park Guest House

Property: Heriott Park Guest House
Address: 256 Ferry Road, Edinburgh EH5 3AN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Heriott Park Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heriott Park Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heriott Park Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing