We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Visit”
Review of Sandeman House

Sandeman House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandeman House
Ranked #205 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Douglas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Visit”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed here twice in August. Once for four nights and again the last day in Scotland. What a great B&B and introduction to Scotland. Rooms were great, breakfast were superb. Joyce and Neil were great hosts and helpful as we asked many questions. Easy walk to the Meadows and into town. A great time in Edinburgh and staying here made our time extra special.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akrncom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
17
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Incredible friendly hosts in conveniently located B&B. excellent breakfasts, knowledgeable hosts who run a lovely homey establishment. Easily walk to both Old and New Town, great pubs and restaurants. Nice rooms but not good for folks with issues with stairs

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srcjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I had the pleasure of staying in this lovely Bed and Breakfast last year and was so thrilled with my lovely room and spacious private bathroom over looking JK Rowlings back garden that I can't wait to return . My hosts were informatine and friendly , the breakfast magnificent , the bed so cosy I never wanted to get up and the location so central I was able to sight see with no trouble . Please stay hereof you want a personal and memorable experience while in Edinburgh . I can't wait to return . 5 stars all the way .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notafusspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaragoza
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We spent two nights in August 2012. Very nice house, located in a quiet neighborhood about 1.8 miles from the old town (30 minutes' walk or 10 minutes' bus ride). We were given a very spacious room with a very large and nice bathroom, which was situated outside the room, but for our exclusive use. Breakfast was good and abundant, with a nice selection of cooked items.
However, there were some cons of this bb:
-there is no parking nearby, you have to take the car to a free parking area about one mile from the house. The host accompanies you to leave the car and retrieve it at the end of the stay (we did not use the car during our stay)
-breakfast takes place around a common table, sharing it with the other guests, so be aware if you want some privacy or do not feel like having to chat with strangers in the morning.
-compared with the other scottish bbs in which we stayed, this bb did not have anything out of the ordinary, but was by far the most expensive (over 100 pounds per night). There was nothing in it to account for the high price, except maybe the fact that it is located in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josera V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

My 11 daughter & I stayed here for 3 nights. Joyce & Neil were very friendly, helpful & welcoming. Our room (The Bay Room) was immaculately clean and very big. Our bed linen was bright white clean & our beds were very comfortable. There was a huge choice for breakfast, all freshly made & completely delicious. Sandeman House is a 10 minute bus rida from Princes Street with the bus stop just a 1 minute walk away. I can't fault our stay at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb01212205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Everything was good. Friendly Owner, Good location in a very nice neighborhood, and just a short walk to some nice restaurants. Clean and comfortable. I will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Whether one judges a B&B by the bed, the breakfast, or the warmth and helpfulness of the hosts, Sandeman House ticks all the boxes. I've stayed at dozens of B&Bs and found Sandeman House to be equal to or better than all. It's located in a busy but pleasant neighborhood, close to restaurants, shops, and public transportation. A majority of Edinburgh's top attractions can be accessed from Sandeman House by foot, and buses to outlying areas stop nearby. At breakfast, my preference is for a private table rather than a communal one, but meeting and visiting with the other guests for breakfast at Sandeman House was a pleasant and informative experience!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B_L_Lowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Southside & Holyrood
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#112 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2
Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2
#110 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchiston Residence
#21 of 203 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Edinburgh Caledonian Guesthouse
#120 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Martin's Guest House
#97 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandeman House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandeman House

Property: Sandeman House
Address: 33 Colinton Road, Edinburgh EH10 5DR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Sandeman House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing