We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully elegant townhouse B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
4 Morningside Place
Ranked #214 of 396 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We spent 3 nights staying at Morningside Place for New Year. Jill & Bob are wonderful and helpful hosts in this delightful townhouse B&B. The house provided peace and quiet, a couple of miles outside the city centre, and the room was elegant and comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious and we highly recommend this accomodation.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

Memorable 4 night stay in Bob and Jill's gorgeous Morningside town house with beautiful garden.
With just the right balance between being there to help but never intruding. And not feeling that you are intruding on them either whilst sharing their loved family home. Luxury touches mixed with family treasures giving feeling of being cared for and part of it all but not feeling a bit on edge. Total opposite of anonymous. It is a lovely oasis of calm which suited us well (stressed out from work 'fifty something' travelling with '80 something' mother in law visiting Scottish heritage and son/grandson for 1st visit to city).Gently cosseted with lovely Scottish breakfasts, fluffy towels, luxury sheets and years of knowledge of Edinburgh to impart. Had double at front with garden view and four poster and lovely twin at back with homely touches. On hand when needed info or guidance. Class act where years of experience show and deliver all. Fabulous guest sitting room too. No question of any second best for guests. Felt relaxed, warm and comfortable. Light but magic touch throughout. Generosity of spirit with a freedom to enjoy. Would not hesitate to return.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We have stayed at this B&B at least four times and look forward to our next return. Jill, Bob and Solo (a very friendly and well-behaved Lab) do everything possible to make you feel at home The ~1880's house is quiet with a large lovely garden to enjoy. It is located in the Morningside District of Edinburgh, a quaint area filled with shops and two theatres. It is conveniently located on a major bus line so you seldom have to wait more than a few minutes for the 15 minute bus ride to Princes Street. But why take the bus? It takes about 30 minutes to walk there through Bruntsfield Links and The Meadows. We highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Garrett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Ideally situated on the main bus route into the city (10 min journey).
Jill & Bob make you very welcome and ensure you are comfortable, they also give good advice about Edinburgh.
It was our first time to this lovely city and will not be our last!

Room Tip: excellent position for the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rchambers90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Just had four nights here.what lovely breakfasts,comfortable beds and nice rooms.would certainly come back and stay here next time I'm in Scotland .

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank handluggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We have family in Edinburgh and stayed at 4 Morningside Place because too many of us were in town for the same event! It was a home from home with our hosts, Bob and Jill, providing everything we could possible have looked for in a B&B. Comfortable, easy, everything thoughtfully done. Gorgeous breakfast, lovely rooms. We'll go straight back there (if there's room) next time a similar occasion arises.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amber_Midlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

I stay here most weeks because I work away from home and I couldn't ask for a better place to stay. Bob and Jill are so welcoming and friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. The house is warm and comfortable and has little luxurious touches such as thick fluffy towels and electric blankets on the beds. I would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ask_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,057 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#91 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,644 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,094 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 4 Morningside Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4 Morningside Place

Address: 4 Morningside Place, Edinburgh EH10 5ER, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 396 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
4 Morningside Place Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing