We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely homely hostel, but remember your warm pyjamas!”
Review of Argyle Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Argyle Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I stayed here for 1 night in April 2014. The hostel has a lovely welcoming feel and I would have been happy to stay longer. The hostess and the other guests were all very friendly. There is a very comfortable lounge with games, a book shelf, and there are CDs and a piano in the conservatory.
The only problem was the quilts on the beds were very small and thin, so not warm enough. I slept in my clothes. I woke up the middle of the night to find that I was the only one in the room (although the hostess was definitely expecting more people to arrive) so I was able to take a quilt off another bed as well.
The toilets and showers were clean and good but didn’t seem to be very many – I imagine if the hostel was full you might find yourself queuing for a short time. However, this wasn’t a problem for me.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in a private room at the Argyle Backpackers Hostel for one night. We booked on-line and had no issue getting our room on arrival. We stayed in the second location, which we did not know until we arrived but it was just down the street.
Our room was lovely. We had a comfortable double bed, TV with cable, free wifi and a shared bathroom. The hostel was fairly empty so sharing the bathroom was not an issue. There was a full bathroom on every floor and only 1-3 rooms on each floor.
I've stayed in various hostels around the world and this is definitely one of my favourites.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaireBanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

3 of us had booked the triple room at Argyle Backpackers and had a great time visiting Edinburgh. The staff went out of their way on several occasions adding a personal touch to our stay - they let us in a few hours before the check-in time because the room was ready, and they let us stay at the cozy reception for a few hours after the check-out because we had a couple of hours to kill before the journey back. The hostel is located away from all the city noise, and still just a 15 minute walk to the city center. There are quite a few hot spots around the hostel if you want to grab food/drinks etc (Argyle Bar is just next door, Victor Hugo had great coffee, The Abbey nearby has great breakfast, The Reverie has great selection of whiskies/food). The start of the hike to Arther's Seat is quite nearby, and there are loads of bus connections to the Pentland hills not very far from the hostel.

Overall a great experience - will definitely go back in again if we get a chance!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oneiro2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Me and my friends decided to visit Edinburgh for a couple of days and we decided to stay at AB. Great staff, nice atmosphere and would recommend to anyone. Kitchen nice and clean. Bathrooms in good condition. Stayed in 3 single bed room on top floor. City worth visiting as well.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Kamil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here after a lengthy trip throughout most of Europe. I would say with absolute confidence that out of all the hostels or backpackers we stayed in, this was the best. It is a breezy ten minute walk to Old Town through The Meadows, but is tucked away in a quiet relaxing spot. Compared to other backpackers overcrowded with people running through hallways drunk, yelling, etc this was the complete opposite, The staff were extremely approachable and helpful in every aspect.

Room Tip: Catch a cab or taxi from the train station or where the bus drops you off in the city. It saves a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaredM89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I'm just after checking out after my 4 night stay here and am now enjoying the peace and quiet of the TV room. AB is, without a doubt, one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in.

Perks:
-6-bedroom dorms instead of those cramped 10, 12, and up ones. Plus, the actual room was HUGE! Floor-to-ceiling windows, bookshelves everywhere, desks, and in-room lockers give an all-around cozy feel.
-free tea/coffee round the clock
-nicely appointed kitchen. Don't you hate when you're traveling and you want to cook something, but you can't find a garlic press? Not a problem here! Kitchen also had an adjacent sunroom for porch dining, which was lovely when sunny.
-HOT showers. A must in Edinburgh in February. Shared bathrooms with only one shower per might leave some people annoyed. I find it more homey (and private) than a dorm-style bath.
-Reliable Wifi. Available throughout the hostel, including rooms and common rooms.
-Great location. Right outside the Meadows, it's just a quick (30 min) bus ride from the airport and walking distance to most tourist attractions, including the Royal Mile and Arthur's Seat.
-Printing is available too! (Helpful for boarding pass blunders and directions.)

The staff were great, offering helpful hints on everything from where to dine and safety for single, female travelers. They emailed me explicit directions for what to do with a late check-in and I had no problems because of their foresight. They are friendly and easy-going, lending a more congenial vibe to the place.

Two different guests were returning to Edinburgh after spending time in other parts of Scotland and both couldn't praise AB enough, saying the hostels in other parts were dismal. If I ever return here, I'll definitely stay at the Argyle Backpacker! I honestly can't think of a single, negative thing to say!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smartypants314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Argyle Backpackers during the Fringe Festival. It was a nice stay - the hostel was a bit of a walk from the train station and I had a lot of luggage, which was quite difficult; otherwise, it was in a decent area. We found it odd the the check in wasn't in the same building as the one we stayed in, and had to drag our cases around with us to several buildings and up a lot of stairs. We stayed in a double room which supposedly had an ensuite bathroom, but the shower was on another floor and other people had access to the washroom. It's not the end of the world, but it was just a bit strange as it had been advertised as an ensuite, so that's what we expected when we got there. The price may have been jacked up as we stayed during the Fringe Festival, so it was more expensive than I'd have liked - but in comparison to other establishments, it was a good deal. It's a good stay for people under the age of 25, but it's most definitely not to the standard of a chain hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brianna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Baxter
The Baxter
#21 of 218 in Edinburgh
182 reviews
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#13 of 218 in Edinburgh
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#32 of 218 in Edinburgh
174 reviews
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#15 of 218 in Edinburgh
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyle Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyle Backpackers

Address: 14 Argyle Place, Edinburgh EH9 1JL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 218 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £22 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Argyle Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quiet, friendly, clean, 4 star hostel offers a wide range of facilities and services including free wi-fi with additional access to our sunny garden. We are located beside Edinburgh's Meadows Park where most attractions are only a short distances walk. We offer several rooms that can accommodate 4 to 6 people as well as various private rooms that include: doubles, twins and triples beds. We are student friendly! For students it is only a short distance to travel to Edinburgh University Campus and Napier University's central campus. Additionally you will find by staying with us that everything you need is close by. The area offers various organic food stores, locally owned shops, supermarkets, cafes and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Argyle Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyle Backpackers Hotel Edinburgh
Argyle Backpackers Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing