We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People were nice, bathrooms were not.”
Review of Belford Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belford Hostel
Ranked #159 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Employees were helpful, but bathrooms were not clean.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2012

Belford Hostel is housed within a former church and it is an unusual conversion - the majority of the dorms and rooms lie within a long wooden prefab-type structure that runs the length of the main hall. Others - the ones with external windows - are built into the arches down the side of the hall. I was staying in a six bed dorm in the central structure. It was a small room but it was clean and cosy. My bed was comfortable and my locker was large enough to take my stuff.
I was staying in February and while the dorm and the common room downstairs were warm, the main corridors, toilets and shower room were pretty chilly.
Due to the construction of the dorms, noise travels easily between rooms. It was pretty quiet during my stay but if the hostel is busy and you sleep lightly take earplugs.
The common room and kitchen were clean and well equipped. Good wifi (which worked fine in my dorm room too) plus a TV room, bar, internet terminals and pool table. Outside there is a small BBQ/smoking area. Breakfast - tea and toast - is available at extra charge, as are towels and luggage storage.
Toilets and shower room were spotlessly clean, water was hot and showers were good.
Security is good. Front door has a key panel entry system and reception is manned until 3am. Each dorm has a lock and you get a key ring with both a room key and locker key on it (£10 returnable deposit).
Staff were excellent - really friendly and helpful.
The church has some great original features - stonework, stained glass windows, etc, and it is a very atmospheric place to stay.
The only downside for me was the distance from the city centre. It is a good 20 minute walk from the west end of Princes Street. On a more positive note, however, it is only 10 minutes walk from Haymarket Station for those arriving by train.

Room Tip: Book one of the smaller dorms (four bed) or a private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimcarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

My stay at the Belford Hostel was truly enjoyable. The common room is excellent, the staff friendly (especially the manager - she was really helpful!), and the place was clean. As a backpacker, what else do you need? A lot of the other comments seem to indicate that this is a dive, but it is really not. It is definitely the cleanest hostel I've stayed in (and I've been all over Europe!), and the staff are lovely. This place is for true backpackers.

Room Tip: Middle rooms are warmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saffachick1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Although the exterior surely looks nice, the rooms are prefabricated cubicles without windows, wich turns them to ovens when full.

One of the rooms in wich we stand was turned over to us without any previous cleaning., and the bed sheets were used.
The emploiers wanted us to take care of it by ourselfs.

The localization also isn't great, you have to walk for a while to reach the city center.

There are some positive points though: it is provided a locker per bed, as well as a key to it (they have incorporated locks).
There's free wifi at the bar and with some luck at the rooms too.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BringerOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

My favourite staffmember from belford hostel is the lovely debrah!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saintanna23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We went to Belford during the International Festival in the city, so everything else was booked. This hostel is a converted church - a beautiful historic building. However, the rooms were extremely small. Barely big enough for our luggage. The room and bathroom were both quite clean. However, there was no hot water in the shower when I went.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BatonRougeLSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The staff was average. Some were nice, some seemed indeferent. We had an en-suite room (yes, they have that). We prefered the privacy (had also read other reviews of dorms). Unfortunately, it was difficult to fall asleep due to the noisy partying by the staff and other guests. Even though we were not that near the commonroom. Also, the bathroom was not that impressive, The toilet took about 45 minutes to fill the cistern. This doesn't really work when you are a couple, unless you close your eyes and think happy thoughts. It was nice, though, that they offered to store our luggage 2 hours prior to check-in.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saenjaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#13 of 217 in Edinburgh
463 reviews
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#4 of 217 in Edinburgh
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#22 of 217 in Edinburgh
412 reviews
Containers Hostel
#78 of 217 in Edinburgh
67 reviews
West End
The Hostel
The Hostel
#90 of 217 in Edinburgh
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belford Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belford Hostel

Address: 6-8 Douglas Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 3DA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £18 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Belford Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belford Hotel Edinburgh
Belford Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing