We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cowgate Tourist Hostel
Ranked #146 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

There of all the I have nothing to say about the staff, they were great.

Dont stay here more than an overnight.There are 3 rooms for 6 to 8 people in each flat, they share 2 toileta and 2 showers. There is no area to relax like in every hostel... just your room and the kitchen where you can find 3 chairs and a couch siting on 2 printera.


I ve been in a lot of different hostels and this one wasbone of the poorest.

Safe travel!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivan9973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sian28, Manager at Cowgate Tourist Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

I am sorry you did not like our hostel. We are unique in the way we have an apartment style with 3-5 rooms per apartment with shower and toilets to share and a large kitchen area. This may not of been something that suited you, however we do find people really like the set up and for large and small groups it is perfect with a very cheap price to make it even better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

The location of the hostel was great, in Old Town and everything within walking distance, pub across the road. Royal Mile was less than a 5 minute walk.
The room itself was gross and old. A refurnish wouldn't go astray. Out of 4 power outlets only 2 worked with a room of 6 people who didn't know each other. Kitchen was a good size and had everything you needed which was good. We were two young girls put in a room with 4 men over the age of 40. Yes, we did select a mixed dorm but it was still a little intimidating. The staff were really helpful and nice. Not the best place i've stayed but hey it's just somewhere to sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klarisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sian28, Manager at Cowgate Tourist Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

We do have only mixed dorms in our hostel and we try our best to put people together that may suit, however it is sometimes impossible. If you book a mixed dorm you must be prepared to share with any age or gender. I will speak with maintenance and ask them to look at all plug sockets and get these fixed. I'm glad you found the staff friendly!! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Great location! couldnt be any better... right in the old part of town so its central to everything - its a simple hostel which has everything you need - a place to put your bags and a place to put your head

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JazzzSay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sian28, Manager at Cowgate Tourist Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Cheap and Cheerful :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Was a bit worried about staying here after reading reviews and seeing pictures.Stayed here for one night to go out in Edinburgh.Rooms were warm and clean so were toilets Beds were a bit squeaky but that was to be expected.Staff at front desk were very helpful.The only thing I would say that if you are not intending on going out and having a few beers the noise from the pub across the street may keep you awake.This hostel is perfect for travellers and folk that want a cheaper bed for a night out in Edinburgh seeing as its a expensive place.

Room Tip: Earplugs as there is a lively pub across street so may keep you awake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sambo_rfc_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Really good located and very friendly staff. I stayed for two nights and enjoyed it very much! The only problem was that the room I stayed didn't have lockers and the toilet wasn't working. But the room was very clean and the bed truly confortable. The windows could be opened and I loved it. (Usually in cold places they don't let you open the window). I recommend it!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Henara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Walked in off the street on Saturday after our bag was stolen from our room in Budget Backpackers across the road the night before (see review!) and was visibly upset and exhausted. The receptionist couldn't of been nicer! Very helpful and even assigned us a room with just one other girl so we could relax and get some sleep. Beds were lovely and clean - fresh laundry that smelt gorgeous, (hard to come across in a hostel!) Very safe - keys and codes to get in every door. Great central location and bathrooms super clean, i would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niamhoooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sian28, Manager at Cowgate Tourist Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review. We were very happy to help:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed here for 3 months and had a great time meet new friends and because of the location everything was at my doorstep. Ive worked for accommodation and I cleaned that pleace myself so the pics you see are old and dont look like that anymore (I made damn sure of that!!) I also enjoyed the free wifi (I dont think theres many if any that provides free wifi in hostels) so I could skype family and friends back home also make bookings while cooking bacon & eggs (yummo!!) the staff are awesome and made me feel at home and even though I've never experienced shared dorms it was the best time and experience I've had in Scotland!!

Chur to the chur Cowgate miss you lads already!!

Speedo From kiwiland X

Room Tip: Just remember its located in the heart of the city so it can be loud (students do like to party!!) s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank speedos36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#14 of 217 in Edinburgh
484 reviews
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#5 of 217 in Edinburgh
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#26 of 217 in Edinburgh
179 reviews
West End
The Hostel
The Hostel
#107 of 217 in Edinburgh
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cowgate Tourist Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cowgate Tourist Hostel

Address: 96-112 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £11 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cowgate Tourist Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hostel with a difference! Our 168 bed hostel contains 12 individually lockable apartments all fully fitted with their own toilet, shower rooms and kitchen/lounge including an oven, microwave, fridge freezer, toaster, plates, dishes, cutlery and cooking pots. An apartment sleeps between 8 and 22 people in a combination of 4 and 6 bed dorms and twin or double rooms. That's 12 fully fitted kitchens and 17 shower rooms with toilets plus 12 separate private toilets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Cowgate Tourist Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cowgate Tourist Hotel Edinburgh
Cowgate Tourist Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing