We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suited it's purpose”
Review of Budget Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Budget Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2012

It was a place to sleep...and that's just what I did there. Stayed in the 4 bed female dorm, wished there was a tad bit more heat in the room. It was so cold...
The showers were so nice and warm. They were also kept pretty clean considering how many people used them.
Only thing is that the door across from our room slams so loudly that it kept on waking everybody up. Also wish that the 10pm (or was it 11pm?) quiet time was enforced. There were some German students across the hall from our room that were having quite the party with music, yelling, screaming and all until the wee hours of the morning. Streets are also quite noisy at night.
Food is pretty good and the common room is neat. Great place to meet people that's for sure. This place is just great for that if you're traveling on your own.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XxSerenityxX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (797)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 798 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

Excellent Hostel with Loads of things on . The staff where really helpful . They have a free city tour which is ideal to get your bearings if its your first visit to Edinburgh. There is also pub crawls put on by the hostel which is good for getting to know other travellers. The only complaint might be that they could do with a larger kitchen and more fridges ..There is a pretty cool retro cafe on site which does pretty reasonably priced meals...... All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkypky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in a private room with a shared bathroom. The check in process was smooth, given that we arrived in Edinburgh quite late at night so our room was well and truly ready. we were told we were to be staying in their "other building" which is actually across the road from their main building, this was ok in ways because even though the building looks creepy and backs onto a graveyard, it's very quiet inside, or so it seemed. Staying on a saturday night it was extremely noisy and rowdy outside. The Cowgate, the street the hostel is located on, is renouned for being very noisy and the party part of town. So if you can't sleep with background noise of rowdy revellers, don't stay here. On other nights, it was ok, Sunday night was quiet and Monday was a little bit noisy. 
The room itself was ok. The linen on the bed was clean, the bed was comfortable and the room was small but functional. The view looks onto the Cowgate and another building (this was room 3/2 on the first floor of the "other building") there is a heater in the room but we couldn't figure out how to turn it on, and there was a small wardrobe with no coat hangers. Otherwise there are no benches or tables or chairs or space to put your stuff. Also the floor was filthy, it looked like it hadn't been vacuumed or mopped in a long time.
We also shared a bathroom with guests from the opposite room. The bathroom was a farce. It was comically small and filthy. You had to climb over the toilet to get into the shower, and there was a ridiculous electronically controlled thermostat in the shower which either made the shower too hot or too cold, and the water pressure was pathetic. There was also an old band-aid stuffed upon top of the shower which nobody bothered to get rid of. Also we shared this bathroom with a person who would spend hours in the morning coughing and clearing their throat and hocking noisily into goodness knows where. It made the idea of using the tiny bathroom very nauseating.  
The wifi was free but not available in the rooms or any part of the "other building". It was free in the lobby and the lounge but unfortunately unless you are alone in there it's very hard to connect, and then very hard to stay connected with the amount of people using it. However the connection was great when it did work. 
The laundry facilities are ok, there are two washers and two dryers which cost about £5 all up to wash and dry a load of clothes. We had a very bad experience where some inconsiderate person removed our clean washing from the washing machine (we were sitting in the lounge waiting for it to be finished, we hadn't left it for longer than a few minutes easily) and the dumped it on the filthy bench top! I was livid! Even in other hostels we didn't experience this kind of lack of consideration for other people. So needless to say, we deeply disliked the clientele here. 
Finally. The real sticking point. The price. For 3 nights this hostel charged us £152 (thereabouts) for 3 nights in a dirty shoebox room with a filthy unkempt bathroom. In London we paid £60 (thereabouts) for 3 nights in much cleaner and more pleasant accommodation! I feel we were overcharged for what we got. It's advertised as budget and it is, and so should be the price. 
I loved Edinburgh and will return, but I won't be taking my business here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ness-of-Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed here with friends for a weekend recently. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful on arrival. Rooms were basic but great value for £20pp ! Will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee_79h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Thanks Lee for your Great review..We really do try our best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Location
A 15-min walk from the Waverley train station. Close enough to the city centre to make it easy to go shopping or see the attractions.

Room / common area
I paid 24 GBP per person per night in a private room – cheap according to European standards. However, I soon realised why.
The common toilet was so squeezy that you had to sit sideways when using the toilet bowl.
The kitchen was horrendous. Perhaps there were too many people staying at the hostel; the fridges were literally bursting. When I opened one of the fridges, intending to put my food in, things started to fall out. Bags of food were spilling out of the compartments. I'm not sure whose at fault here, but there seemed to be no sense of hygiene in the kitchen. Pots, pans, plates, bowls and cutlery were left unwashed in the basins; small bits of food like breadcrumbs were all over the tables, chairs and floor. It was so disgusting that I didn't want to cook at all – I just had microwavable food and used my own utensils.
The room was dimly lit and small. The floor was not particularly dirty, but not spotless as well. The worst thing that happened was that we were all bitten by bedbugs - we had many bite marks after 2 nights there. This must be due to poor cleanliness in the room. I have slept at many hostels in my travels, but this is the first one which I got bitten.
My minimum requirement for a hostel room is cleanliness – this hostel fell below it, even after I considered the low price for a night's stay.

Staff
Staff were helpful, so no complaints.

This is a over-crowded city hostel which lacks good hygiene standards. Do not risk your health with it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheep1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Hi Traveller ... OUCH.. We have never had a review like this . We always ensure our Rooms are clean and tidy. We have never had any complaints about Bed Bugs either . There has been many more of The dreaded Scottish Midget recently because of the awful wet weather we have had in Edinburgh recently. We can only assume this is what has bitten you. Since your review we have double checked ALL our rooms and there are definitely no Bed Bugs. Thank you for your comments... Hostel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Generally this place is pretty good. The wifi is pretty bad and sucks you can't use it in your room. The walking tour wasnt very good, we did a tour the next day and were told so much more benifical information. The showers are squeezy but available all the time with hot water. The staff weren't too familiar with what was on around town, they didn't even know the Queen was in town we found this out from the day tour we went on. For the price it was ok, but overall wasn't the best experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisajmacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The best hostel in Edinburgh ! Really friendly staff, good rooms, clean bathrooms, yummy food and awesome walking tours and pub crawls.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank biacorrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Thanks for your great Review :) Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#15 of 218 in Edinburgh
475 reviews
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#13 of 218 in Edinburgh
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#4 of 218 in Edinburgh
1,637 reviews
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#32 of 218 in Edinburgh
172 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#109 of 394 in Edinburgh
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Backpackers

Address: 37-39 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 218 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £13 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Budget Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 250 beds, and located in the heart of beautiful Old Town, Budget Backpackers is one of the best places to stay in Edinburgh! All of the amenities you need including free linen, free hot showers, a self catering kitchen, and a bar/cafe! Budget Backpackers is one of the best located hostels in the city, being only a 10 minute walk from Waverly Train Station, a 2 minute walk from the Royal Mile, and the breathtaking Edinburgh Castle practically on our doorstep! There is also always something happening within the hostel, with weekly Wii and Pool Competitions, Quiz and Movie Nights, Free Walking Tours 11am daily Monday to Saturday, Whether you want to see the sights, make friends, party it up, or just relax, Budget Backpackers has everything you need to make your stay in Edinburgh memorable! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Budget Backpackers Hotel Edinburgh
Budget Backpackers Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing