We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed me and I don't usually stay in backpackers!”
Review of Budget Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Budget Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Was a bit hesistant to stay in a backpackers on our trip around Scotland but most of the central cheaper hotels were already booked up and my partner wanted to stay somewhere central so we decided to go for a double room at Budget Backpackers! Put a bit of research into deciding where to stay and I'm glad I did. Good, secure room (uses a keycard system similar to a hotel), comfortable enough beds, room was clean and not too much noise from other rooms :). Breakfast was amazing! Porridge yummy and good value, waffles delicious. Wifi available to use in the eating/chill out areas. Was a bit slow to use at night time (when many people are using it) but in the morning was very quick. Showers were hot and clean. Toilets could have been a little cleaner but I have seen public toilets much worse and was expecting worse anyway. Staff were nice. There was a place to leave suitcases and backpacks on the day you leave but lockers could only fit backpacks in so we had to leave our suitcases unsecured. They were still there at the end of the day but next time if I stayed I would aim to move on to the next place in the morning so I wouldn't have to leave my suitcase.

Room Tip: Our double room had a bunk bed with a double bed at the bottom, single on the top. Room had a basin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeeCee1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 799 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights with 10 friends and we all loved it.
The staff were really friendly from the minute we arrived.
The dorms were clean and the beds had good duvets and pillows. There were big lockers which would fit backpacks for each bed.
The restaurant/chill out area was great, loads of big couches and lots of other tables and chairs. There was a pool table too! The food in the hostel was really cheap and very tasty.
The location is brilliant for exploring the city because the whole city is so compact you can walk anywhere from the hostel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeenanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Friendly staff, really helpful suggesting stuff to see. Nice dorm rooms with decent sized lockers and comfy beds. It had a good amount of communal space - kitchen, lounge, bar/cafe - made it an easy place to stay. Would stay here again, had a good time!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This place was awesome. The central location, helpful staff and nice colourful rooms make it an ideal choice. The location in old town, literally minutes from the castle is ideal for short trips to Edinburgh.

We went on the FREE walking tour which was guided by one of the staff when we arrived which gave us the opportunity to get our bearings of the city. He was really nice and organised a lunch for all of us afterwards which gave us a chance to meet others staying in our hostel. There are heaps of activities organised through the hostel which gives the place an awesome atmosphere. Plus the rooms are spacious and clean.

There was an incident in our room with a guy and a single female traveller that we only heard about the morning after. I don’t think this was the hostels fault and when alerted to the fact they took all the necessary steps but perhaps security could be improved. The were some unisex bathrooms which was weird and the kitchen was not always clean but generally speaking this is one of the best hostel I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treeoflifelife_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I stayed there for a weekend in August during the Fringe festival with my best friend and literally we have no complaints! The hostel interior itself is spacious, bright and clean and the staff are so friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much for them, plus the drink and food is really cheap! There's room to chillax and the kitchen is well kitted out for all needs. We stayed in a 6bed dorm and there was loads of room, plus lockers for storage. You're right on the doorstep of Grassmarkets and we didn't have to use public transport once. Great banter on offer in the evening and I would genuinely recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a fantastic time!! Couldn't of asked for better :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niamh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We were kindly greeted and got a room for four people.
In the room were two bunk-beds and a simple sink. We only stayed in the room to sleep. Budget Backpackers attracts mostly young people so it can become quite noisy in the evenings (even though the staff wants it to be quiet after a certain hour)
Bathroom with toilet and shower were right outside our room. It was not so much space, but it was fresh.
Down on the bottom floor were very pleasant activities in the evenings. There was also a pub/restaurant that served simple dishes and drink at very good prices. The staff were very nice all the time!

In summary, Budget Backpackers is for those who want to sleep cheap in a good location! It is a place for you that is OK with just the basic stuff.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReseJocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

The location is pretty good, close to a lot of pubs, bars, shops and more.

The employees are great; friendly, cool and they do care about their (future) residents. They really are very friendly and helpfull, it felt like home!

The rooms were good. We had a 4 beds room. Good enough space (not cramped) and enough storage facilities. The room also had 4 power outlets, something I hadn't seen at other hostels altough not that important it still is verry handy when you travel with 4 people and their phones and camera's! Beds are a bit noisy.

Hygiene is ok. Showers consist mostly out of small spaces with a glass door and a curtain. Showers could be a lot better, had a few cold and dirty showers.

The atmosphere in the hostel really is amazing! Full credit for that goes to the employees. Public area's are great to chill out, have a drink or dinner/breakfast. Food quality is also really good and cheap for what you get.

I will definitly return to this hostel first when I go back to Scotland!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AidenVennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#15 of 218 in Edinburgh
476 reviews
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#13 of 218 in Edinburgh
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#4 of 218 in Edinburgh
1,639 reviews
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#31 of 218 in Edinburgh
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Backpackers

Address: 37-39 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 218 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £13 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Budget Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 250 beds, and located in the heart of beautiful Old Town, Budget Backpackers is one of the best places to stay in Edinburgh! All of the amenities you need including free linen, free hot showers, a self catering kitchen, and a bar/cafe! Budget Backpackers is one of the best located hostels in the city, being only a 10 minute walk from Waverly Train Station, a 2 minute walk from the Royal Mile, and the breathtaking Edinburgh Castle practically on our doorstep! There is also always something happening within the hostel, with weekly Wii and Pool Competitions, Quiz and Movie Nights, Free Walking Tours 11am daily Monday to Saturday, Whether you want to see the sights, make friends, party it up, or just relax, Budget Backpackers has everything you need to make your stay in Edinburgh memorable! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Budget Backpackers Hotel Edinburgh
Budget Backpackers Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing