We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lodge rooms. Not too good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Ranked #35 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed here for the rugby. 3 of us in a lodge room. Room was very cold and in need of a full make over. Curtains hanging off, poor decor etc... at just short of £400 for 2 nights not cheap. Main plus point is that all staff and breakfast very nice.

Room Tip: Not room 303
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,964 - 1,970 of 2,162 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2012

My wife and I said for one night in the Murrayfield hotel. We stayed in what must be a new part of the hotel it was very clean and looked great. All the staff were friendly especially the girl on reception and the lady doing the breakfast. They also have a great bar with great bar staff there was a quiz night on the night we were there. It is about 3 mins walk from Murrayfield stadium witch is very handy. If we are through in Edinburgh for the rugby again this will be the place we go!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manson44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I have stayed here now a few times, always pay the extra for the upgrade! the rooms are very large! It is one of the better value hotels in the city.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank getmeabeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I recently booked the Murrayfield conference facility and restaurant for myself and 31 colleagues. From the moment I started negotiations, right through to the account being settled I received nothing other than a prompt, efficient and friendly service. The conference facilities were comfortable and well serviced. The three course set menu offered enough variation to meet everyone's liking and seemed very well priced at just a little over 20 quid. What came out of the kitchen was simply "exceptional cuisine" and worthy of a special journey for anyone visiting Edinburgh.

Any business that's absolutely devoted to service will never be short of custom. The Murrayfield Hotel has mine!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lodgecaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

My friend and I came for a last minute stay on the 2nd of January for a night out. The hotel is beautiful our room was fantastic for the money we paid especially this time of year. All of the staff were really lovely people very helpful and considerate. The food in the restaurant was nice too... You can jump on the bus right outside the hotel into city centre for less than £2. Definately not any point getting a taxi during the day! We ended up staying for a second night, and will be back to visit soon :-D

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mersho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Nice hotel,booked last minute for very good price-excellent value,bedroom (standard double) may benefit from some modernisation but can't complain at the price we paid and rest of hotel maintained to high standard.Plenty of free parking in private car park and good location.We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kb270310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel from 28-30/12/11 for a city visit. The location of the hotel was great. It was a 10min drive from the airport and a short bus trip to the centre. The staff at the hotel are very helpful and provide a fantastic service. There was a small mix up with our room but we were more than compensated with a complementary meal and drinks. We would consider staying in this hotel when we return to Edinburgh.

The standard room we were given was quite small with a large bathroom but this is not a complaint just information.

Room Tip: I would not recommend the lodge, stay in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blackcat180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#4 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,056 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,439 reviews
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#85 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,645 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#91 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murrayfield Hotel and House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murrayfield Hotel and House

Address: 18 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £50 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Murrayfield Hotel and House 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Murrayfield Hotel is located in Edinburgh City Centre with ample complimentary parking and free Wifi. The hotel is the perfect destination for business, leisure or family occasions. The Murrayfield Hotel combines fantastic hospitality, outstanding value for money and second to none homemade food, served in the traditional, friendly pub kitchen. Serving as a perfect base from which to explore the historical Edinburgh City Centre, the Murrayfield Hotel is just a couple of minutes away from Edinburgh Zoo (and its giant pandas), the national Murrayfield Stadium which frequently plays host to major live sporting events as well as music concerts, and Haymarket Train Station.With fine home cooked food, complimentary car parking, traditional pub, restaurant, sun trap beer garden and unparalleled Scottish hospitality, we create a true home away from home for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Murrayfield Hotel and House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murrayfield Hotel And Lodge
Murrayfield Hotel Edinburgh
Murrayfield Hotel And House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing