We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a makeover and somewhere to swing a cat! Beware of the 9.30 cut off time for breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Ranked #38 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Needs a makeover and somewhere to swing a cat! Beware of the 9.30 cut off time for breakfast!”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed for two nights £65 per night single. Light over the sink in bathroom would not switch off, bathroom was big bedroom was tight for space. Room safe didn't work, apparently it's hit and miss according to the staff! Bed needed a new mattress, was hard worn and uncomfortable. Breakfast was good with a good range, eggs benedict was very salty, beware of the 9.30 cut off time for breakfast!. Still good service and not bad value for a couple of lads away!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnieszka S, Front Office Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I was glad to see that you found our hotel to be a good value for money and experienced a good standard of customer service.

Thank you for pointing out the issues with the bathroom light and the room safe – please accept my apologies for those inconveniences. I would like to take this opportunity to let you know that we will undergo a complete makeover soon – our extensive refurbishment programme starts this autumn and the finished product will be quite spectacular. At this point we have a sample room ready - please feel free to pop in and view it next time you are in Edinburgh or take a look at the pictures on our Facebook wall.

I do trust we will see you again and I am sure you would love the new Murrayfield Hotel!

Kind regards,

Agnieszka Sady
Senior Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,046
    569
    195
    82
    41
See reviews for
281
1,012
65
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

My partner and I booked in the Murrayfield Hotel for 1 night. The good points were that we had a nice, comfortable superior room on the ground floor which had everything you expect of most hotel rooms and was nicely decorated. The location is good, it was easy to find by car and the hotel has free parking behind it which was good.

We had booked dinner, bed and breakfast and unfortunately the dinner let the place down. Upon entering the dining room other diners stared back at us whilst we hovered hoping to be seated but there were no staff around. We went back out to main reception to find a member of staff and were told just to sit down in the restaurant and that someone would be along soon. So we sat and waited and waited and waited and waited some more. About 15 minutes pass and another couple enter and wait around for a few minutes before a member of staff arrives to see to another table of diners and also tells the couple to sit down. This new couple then got their menus and drink orders whilst we were still waiting to see a menu...or anyone for that matter! We tried to catch the waitresses eye on numerous occasions but she flitted around the room so fast she either didn't notice or was very good at making sure she didn't look at us before vanishing out the door. Finally, after the other couple placed their order we were approached and given some menus and got to order our drinks. This was pretty much how the evening continued between courses we were left waiting and waiting plus our orders were confused with the wrong items; for the main course they initially brought us fajitas when we'd ordered pasta and steak and they initially only brought out 1 dessert then took it away again when we said it was 2 that we ordered. The menu was ok but none of the mains were really to my taste; usually if this happens I'll go for the veggie option but that was listed as a rather uninspired sounding courgette risotto so I ended up having the prawn and chorizo penne pasta which sat heavily in my stomach for the rest of the night. In saying that, the starters and desserts were tasty and my partner enjoyed his steak. This was quite possibly one of the longest dinners I've had in my life; it lasted just over 2 hours thanks to all of the waiting. The place was not busy; 2 families were finishing their meals as we entered so were soon gone and, other than us, I think there was a family of 4, an individual and the other couple. The dining room itself lacks any atmosphere, it is very quiet with just the noises of other people eating and news showing on mute on a big tv screen on the wall. A quiet dining room is usually fine but if you're going to leave people to sit so long some music or something would have been nice. Throughout it all the staff were polite and apologetic but it seemed worse that they were aware of our long waits and were letting them continue.

After we endured dinner, we went through to the hotel bar for a drink and it soon became clear that there were only 3 members of staff on and they were having to deal with the people in the dining room as well as the people coming in to order off the bar menu - hence all the flitting about and vanishing staff members whilst we waited in the dining room. It seems they were somewhat short staffed.

Despite the slow dinner I would consider staying here again as the room was nice and it's a convenient location but if there's a next time, I'll be eating out!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorrs_McD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnieszka S, Front Office Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.

Please accept our sincere appologies for the experience you had during yout time with us, particularily when dining. The issues you have raised have been addressed with the witing staff and managment and training has taken place to highlight where we ned to focus to ensure that we consistently deliver the standard of service that we pride ourselves with and that indeed we deliver to the vast majority of our guests.

Our general manager would be very happy to discuss in detail your isses and would like the opportunity to do so if you you so wish. you can contact us on murrayfield@centraledinburghhotels.co.uk and we will reply directly.

We would also be delighted of you could come and visit us again and see that the experieince you had during your last visit is far from the standard that we provide.

Thank you once again for your honest and constructive feedback,

kind regards

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Staff very friendly and helpful. Room clean and quiet if a bit small. Sunday Roast excellent, breakfasts very filling. Bus access easy. Would go back and recommend to others. my brother and I will go back.

Room Tip: I was in the new part on the bottom floor. Upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IreneM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Guest,

We are always extremely glad to see our Guests recommending us to others, so thank you for posting your nice comments on Trip Advisor.
We look forward to welcoming you and your brother at the Murrayfield Hotel again!

Warm regards,

Agnieszka Sady
Senior Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Was there for my honeymoon. Friendly staff and nice hotel. Had a good size room. Stayed there for 2 days. Unfortunately my only complaint are, both mornings I've been woken up by people slamming doors at 6.50am, reported to reception about the noise and they told me they had a coach in. Again would have been nice if something would have been sorted. The food wasn't great , it would have been ok if the chefs would have payed attention on washing the salad. The room was clean (in a way) found hair on the toilet seat and the bath, must have been the housekeeping I hope.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we truly do appreciate all feedback from our Customers.
I was glad to see that you found our staff friendly and the hotel nice.
As for the noise that woke you up early in the morning, I can only apologize. Whenever we have tour groups staying with us, we do try to allocate rooms for them in a separate wing, but unfortunately this isn’t always possible.
As for the cleanliness issue you have mentioned, I have passed this on to our Head Housekeeper and appropriate action has already been taken. Again, please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience this has caused.
Thank you again for your comments, we have taken all of them on board and will use them constructively to improve and grow as a business.

Kind regards,

Agnieszka Sady
Senior Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Not the best hotel I've ever stayed in but perhaps the friendliest. Every member of staff I encountered, in the hotel and bar, obviously understood customer care - I was very impressed. The room was OK and the bar food was good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaddyBadger2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.
We are very proud to be the friendliest hotel you have stayed in, and if you decide to use us again in the future I am confident we will maintain our high standards of customer care that you experienced. 2012/13 is a very exciting time for us as we will be undergoing a major refurbishment programme and would love for you to come and see the brand new Murrayfield Hotel next year.

Kind regards,

Agnieszka Sady
Senior Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I stayed in the lodge on 14th June and although I had a single room was clean, comfy abeit a bit small, The one fault I could find was having to put the kettle on the floor for the nearest plug,
The lodge was a beautiful building with a huge stained glass window on the stairs, with quite a few original features.
I had a wonderful evening meal that was actually hot!!! the bar staff were fantastic........I didnt have to move off my seat for anything. Breakfast was brilliant which was served on Hot plates so your food stayed hot whilst eating it. The hotel does not deserve some of the bad reviews it has received but my experience at the hotel was all good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor- all of us here at the Murrayfield Hotel really enjoyed reading it (the Chef now has a copy of your review on his kitchen wall and sends his best regards)!
I was really glad to see that you liked our Lodge building; we love the original features too and will certainly do our best to preserve them in the process of refurbishment which we will be undergoing later this year. Thank you for bringing up the issue with the kettle – we will definitely make sure that such inconveniences are eliminated.
We really hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,

Agnieszka Sady
Senior Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

was recommended this hotel and couldn't believe the quality, short bus ride or taxi from haymarket and the breakfast was amazing, I was obviously in a brand new room and it was full of quirky surprises in fixture and fittings, very spacious and quiet. The bar has a great atmosphere and the staff excellent. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: ask for the brand new room availabilty - amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay at out hotel - I was very pleased to see that you enjoyed it.
I am really glad that you had a chance to stay in our brand new, freshly refurbished room and had a first-hand experience of what is our vision of the future.
Thank you for recommending us and we hope that you will get a chance to visit us again yourself!

Kind regards,

Agnieszka Sady
Senior Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,334 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,896 reviews
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#8 of 149 in Edinburgh
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murrayfield Hotel and House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murrayfield Hotel and House

Property: Murrayfield Hotel and House
Address: 18 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Murrayfield Hotel and House 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Murrayfield Hotel is located in Edinburgh City Centre with ample complimentary parking and free Wifi. The hotel is the perfect destination for business, leisure or family occasions. The Murrayfield Hotel combines fantastic hospitality, outstanding value for money and second to none homemade food, served in the traditional, friendly pub kitchen. Serving as a perfect base from which to explore the historical Edinburgh City Centre, the Murrayfield Hotel is just a couple of minutes away from Edinburgh Zoo (and its giant pandas), the national Murrayfield Stadium which frequently plays host to major live sporting events as well as music concerts, and Haymarket Train Station.With fine home cooked food, complimentary car parking, traditional pub, restaurant, sun trap beer garden and unparalleled Scottish hospitality, we create a true home away from home for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Murrayfield Hotel and House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murrayfield Hotel And Lodge
Murrayfield Hotel Edinburgh
Murrayfield Hotel And House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing