We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home from home!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Ranked #35 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2013

After a weekend sightseeing, my husband and I happened upon the hotel while out. We went in, and... It was fantastic! The food was amazing and the staff sublime. We were served by Ryan and he went above and beyond. A wonderful experience. One of the more refining points was the care shown to both the staff and customers by the manager. I'm not sure of his name, but he was tall, slightly chubby and messed up dark hair. All in all, the care and attention to detail made the experience one to remember. My only complain, was that we didn't get to stay!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoneyBeeLemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Front Office Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear HoneyBeeLemon

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review.

Ryan was glad that you enjoyed his service and that you were please with the managers demeanour.

We look forward to welcoming you back and hope you along with the rest of our customers enjoy the sight of the exciting changes that are starting soon.

Regards
Eithne Gallagher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,777 - 1,783 of 2,162 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

This was a lovely hotel, our room was top quality for the price, lovely massive bathroom, the bed was extremely comfortable and whilst the breakfast was a tad slow it showed that it was cooked freshly and tasted great..I also loved the fact guests could order drinks till three oclock in the morning. I would recommend the Murrayfield to anyone, was just a shame they had no rooms available for the next day as we'd gladly stayed another night

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l0zzab0zza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Front Office Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear 10zzab0zza

I am delighted that you loved your stay with us. We pride ourselves on providing the best possible service to all of our guests.

I'm glad that you loved the room too we have put a lot of love and attention into them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel once again and to have you see the continued improvements we are making to the hotel.

Kind Regards
Eithne Gallagher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I do not want to give this hotel a bad review. the people are nice, the location is good, and the refurbishing was also okay. I did not complain to the hotel, because I did not want to go through the trouble of changing rooms, however I am sure the hotel would be perfectly willing to fix my problems.

however I had the worst bed ever. the springs were peeking out of the mattrass, and i had to put towels on top to make it sleepable. something easily solved with a cover mattrass from Ikea.

Second the breakfast was terribly slow. the waiters did not welcome you into the room, so you had to find an unused table, and wait for them to ask you for tea, coffee or hot breakfast. the toast and croissants were usually gone by the time we arrived, although you could ask for more. the kitchen was very very slow.

some other details that could have been better were the noise from the street, and the paintjob on the furniture. the walls and carpet were fine, but they forgot to repaint the furniture.

so all in all not the best experience. we were in the part of the hotel above the pub, room 115.
If you are looking for a nice hotel for a good price this is one of the better choices. their website could inform you a bit more on how to reach the hotel by bus from the airport, since this is very simple. the airport transfer stops almost in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: do not take room 115, unless the mattrass is improved
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sander2475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Front Office Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear Sander2475,

I am sorry you did not speak with me about the issues you experienced during you stay. My team and I would have done our best to fix the issues you had.

I am disappointed to hear about the service you had at breakfast with both the wait on food and the server. We have looked into the breakfast procedures and have altered them accordingly with help from our exciting new head chef.

Within the next month we are entering into a very impressive refurb programme; which will be to a very high standard and I hope that myself and the team here can welcome you back to see the improvements.

Kind Regards
Eithne Gallagher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Excellent location for exploring Edinburgh, the Tattoo and partaking of the "Fringe" attractions. Easy access via cab and good regular bus service. We were allocated room 209 which is on the ground floor in the main building, room was absolutely roasting with no facility to decrease the heat generated from the bathroom towel-rail/radiator; unable to open door to outside area for ventilation due to damaged handle. However these problems were dealt with by the extremely helpful and friendly staff. Good bar and excellent restaurant facilities all at reasonable prices. Superb breakfast and polite attentive waiter/ress service. The hotel is about to undergo a major refurb, we will be back for another stay.

Room Tip: Choose the house along the road; it has been refurbished but no doubt the main building will equal t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Front Office Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear Steven S

Thank you for your comments. We pride ourselves on our service and the ability to meet all that is expected of us.

We are sorry that you experienced some maintenance issues but now that we are aware we have these issues in order and they are been fixed.

I'm glad to hear you'll be back to visit us once we reopen after what can only be described as a very exciting refurb.

Please call me directly at the hotel so we can help make you next stay that even better.

Kind Regards
Eithne Gallagher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here for the Edinburgh Tattoo and we couldnt have picked a better hotel the location was great the staff were excellent, the room was perfect.We will definitely stay there again. The room was in a house a few doors up and they have been renovated to a high standard, We were able to walk into the city as it was about 15 mins away. we ate at the hotel in the evenings, the food was excellent. Only down the road is the zoo so when we come again we will visit there,

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Good Morning Kevin B

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your visit and the kitchen brigade apprecaite your special mention of the food.

We are about to do some more renovation work here at the hotel and hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future, maybe even at Christams or Hogmanay.


Best Wishes


Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

My family ( Husband and 2year old Son) and I attended this establishment in September 2012 ... We travelled from County Durham the hotel was very easy to find as just down the road from the zoo... After a long day in the zoo we returned to our room which was separate from the reception at the hotel - the receptionist who was American treated our son to a few cuddly toys and made us feel very welcome, showed us to our room and made us feel at home... We had a shower - our only complaint the shower was luke warm and after been in cold rain all day we would have loved either a bath or warming shower... Nevertheless we went to the hotels bar for a meal expecting the usual bar meal and wow this exceeded all our expectations - we enjoyed the steaming pot of mussels - super delicious- little one had a pizza - husband enjoyed a steak - we were given the option to add this to our stay bill... Staff were very helpful and friendly... Atmosphere was warming, family friendly yet romantic! The room had a beautiful big bed, lovely views, and was warmed with heating- clean and can't fault apart from showering facilities... Would stay again and if in the area will definitely be visiting restaurant again... :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M40N26M2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Hi M40N26M2

Thank you so much for your review, I do apologis ethat the shower temperature was not up to standard and since your visit we have actually upgraded pout hot water system.

We do hope to see you back at the hotel again soon, maybe after visiting the Pandas!!

Warmet Regards


Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

My wife and I, along with our three children, stopped off at the hotel for some refreshments and lunch following a trip to the zoo. We were greeted warmly by Pat, who couldn't have been any nicer. Despite the fact it was busy, both ourselves, and, more importantly, the children, were made to feel more than welcome. The staff were polite and on hand when needed, but not in your face. The meal we had was delicious, and the setting and service was wonderful. Something which made it stand out, in my opinion, was that Duncan, the manager, was not only on hand to ensure everything was running smoothly, but was also quick to make us feel even more comfortable. The kids loved him.
All in all, a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Hi Gary L

Thank you so much for your review, Pat and Duncan were delighted you had such a good time, we try and go out of our way to make families feel at home here and am happy thats exactly how you felt.

We hope to see you again soon.


Best Wishes


Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#4 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,056 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,439 reviews
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#85 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,645 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#91 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murrayfield Hotel and House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murrayfield Hotel and House

Address: 18 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £50 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Murrayfield Hotel and House 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Murrayfield Hotel is located in Edinburgh City Centre with ample complimentary parking and free Wifi. The hotel is the perfect destination for business, leisure or family occasions. The Murrayfield Hotel combines fantastic hospitality, outstanding value for money and second to none homemade food, served in the traditional, friendly pub kitchen. Serving as a perfect base from which to explore the historical Edinburgh City Centre, the Murrayfield Hotel is just a couple of minutes away from Edinburgh Zoo (and its giant pandas), the national Murrayfield Stadium which frequently plays host to major live sporting events as well as music concerts, and Haymarket Train Station.With fine home cooked food, complimentary car parking, traditional pub, restaurant, sun trap beer garden and unparalleled Scottish hospitality, we create a true home away from home for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Murrayfield Hotel and House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murrayfield Hotel And Lodge
Murrayfield Hotel Edinburgh
Murrayfield Hotel And House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing