We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would loved to have stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Ranked #35 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The quality of absolutely everything was first rate.
Thank you very much to Colin and his staff who were brilliant and extremely responsive.
This is our second visit this year and we're both very much looking forward to the next time

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Hi kelly b

Thanks so much for taking the time to write your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, here at the hotel we also love our house and new Bothy.

The team and I cant wait to welcome you back.

Have a fab Christmas and New Year.

Best Wishes

Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,032)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,611 - 1,617 of 2,032 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013

Had the most Amazing stay at the Murrayfield House, a special treat from my husband to celebrate my 30th. Our room in the House was Spectacular with a lovely view out to the garden. The room blew me away, very generous size with an immaculate interior and so many special little touches that really set it apart. I loved the TV in the mirror and could not believe how large and comfortable i found the bed. was more than pleased with the facilities provided which were much more than standard if im honest, hospitality tray was great, always happy to find an iron and ironboard in-room but was more than surprised to find a pair of GHD's also and a mini-bar. The bathroom also didnt dissappoint large in size with a seperate walk-in shower and lovely bathtub with toiletries provided along with slippers and dressing gowns, as someone who loves a long hot bath i was even more pleased that my husband could place his phone in the wall and it streamed music into the toilet helping me to relax and enjoy and didnt disturb him while he watched TV in the bedroom. We spent alot of time in the hotel bar the Bothy and were very impressed, Breakfast lunch and dinner were fantastic. Have to say a special thankyou to the staff who really helped make it a really enjoyable stay from the lovely girl who checked us in on arrival, the staff in the restaurant who worked incredibly hard to the bar staff one of which made me a cocktail that wasnt even on the cocktail list. Staff were genuinley happy to help and are doing a great job. I would definitely recommend the Murrayfield house and have already hinted to my husband that i would love a return visit next year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Hi kelly b

Thank you so much for your amazing review, we here at the Murrayfield ,ove our recently refurbished house and Bothy.

Our staff always try to go above and beyond for our guests.

Have a great Christmas and New Year.

Best Wishes


Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Ate in the refurbished restaurant, 17 Mums on a Christmas night out. Found staff to be helpful and pleasant and food was excellent as I know some places can be a hit or a miss at this time of year. The new decor and the Christmas decorations were tasteful.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank aviesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Good afternoon aviesus

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.

I am delighted you all had such a fab time and hope to see you all again soon, I have passed your comments on to the team and they are all greatfull to hear about your experience.

Have a great Christmas and New Year


Best Wishes


Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two nights, lovely clean spacious room, bathroom clean and spacious also. Hotel was in a very good location, near zoo and city centre. Good breakfast, cannot comment on lunch or dinner as we ate lunch and dinner elsewhere. Room was nice and comfortable and warm, would have preferred sofa to be facing tv which was on the wall, but, sofa was positioned underneath the tv and we did not want to start moving furniture. I would recommend this hotel and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Good evening christine w

thank you so much for taking time to write your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your breakfast and hope that next time you stay with us you are able to enjoy dinner in our fabulous Bothy.

Have a fantastic Christmas and New Year

Best Wishes


Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I recently stayed in the house part of the hotel in room 4 the house is superb and the room itself immaculate, the pictures on the website don't do it justice.
During our stay the staff couldn't be any better Rachael on the main desk was extremely nice and always willing to help, in the bar/ resteraunt we was served by Nikki who although being busy was always smiling and willing to help with any needs we had. The bar man I think his name was Ricky was also a highlight of our stay catering to my fussy wife and creating cocktails that she would like. Overall we had a wonderful 2 night stay the hotel staff are second to none and the food and facilities were all excellent thankyou to everyone

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 281lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Good evening 281lee

Thanks a million for taking the time to write your review, the team are delighted that you had such a fantastic time.

We delighted to be able look after you both so well and really hope to see you again soon.

Have a great Christmas and New Year.

Best Wishes

Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The room we had was dire! A twin room on the top floor (room 24), it was damp with water marks on the ceiling and pealing paper. One of the light fittings didn't work, one of the lamps was coming unscrewed at the base and tilting wildly and one of the lights scorched the wallpaper and was a serious fire hazard. The furniture was ancient and broken (there was only one handle on the wardrobe) and whenever a lorry/bus went by outside the room vibrated causing the wardrobe to squeak like an angry mouse! The hose for the shower was covered in black slime. All this could have been overlooked, had the beds been nice. However, they were the worst beds I've ever encountered in a hotel. The mattresses were hard and you could feel every spring, the pillows were exceptionally lumpy and the bedding looked like it had come off a hospital ward.

The hotel is conveniently located about a £9 taxi ride from the main shopping streets and a £15 ride from the airport. The downstairs area is very nice and modern, and the food in the restaurant is very nice (although they seem poorly stocked, they did have a started, pudding, beer or de-caff coffee which we ordered). The staff were also very helpful. That's all the positives...

I would definitely NOT recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Good Evening Vicki F

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am sorry that your room did not meet the high standards you found within our recently refurbished Bothy Restaurant and Drinkery.

We are currently going through a phased refurbishment, however if you wish to discuss your feedback please feel free to contact myself directly at the hotel.

Kind Regards


Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My friend and I stayed here for a weekend and had a good experience.
The only downfall is that it's about a mile from the city center, but it's only a 10 minute bus ride and the buses come very frequently.
It's not a luxury experience, but it's clean, the rooms are a decent size, and the hotel staff is friendly.
It's definitely a good value for what you pay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne11344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Good Evening Anne11344

Thank you for your review, I am delighted you found our team to be friendly as we pride ourselves on guest service.

I hope to see you again, have a great Christmas and New Year

Best Wishes


Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,400 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,563 reviews
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#87 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,579 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#55 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,677 reviews
Leith
Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Hotel
#92 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murrayfield Hotel and House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murrayfield Hotel and House

Address: 18 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £58 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Murrayfield Hotel and House 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Murrayfield Hotel is located in Edinburgh City Centre with ample complimentary parking and free Wifi. The hotel is the perfect destination for business, leisure or family occasions. The Murrayfield Hotel combines fantastic hospitality, outstanding value for money and second to none homemade food, served in the traditional, friendly pub kitchen. Serving as a perfect base from which to explore the historical Edinburgh City Centre, the Murrayfield Hotel is just a couple of minutes away from Edinburgh Zoo (and its giant pandas), the national Murrayfield Stadium which frequently plays host to major live sporting events as well as music concerts, and Haymarket Train Station.With fine home cooked food, complimentary car parking, traditional pub, restaurant, sun trap beer garden and unparalleled Scottish hospitality, we create a true home away from home for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Murrayfield Hotel and House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murrayfield Hotel And Lodge
Murrayfield Hotel Edinburgh
Murrayfield Hotel And House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing