We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and Friendly, Room could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Ranked #39 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Warm and Friendly, Room could be better”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed in this Hotel for just one night, not booking it ourselves as it was a treat for a trip to Edinburgh from our son.

The hotel has had some modernisation and updating carried out, and on first appearances it is very good. There is a restaurant / bar attached to the building called The Bothy, which does provide some very nice meals, something that was very welcome after a long day sightseeing in the capital.

We were given room 4 on the ground floor, this is where the Murrayfield let itself down, even though the room was well decorated and clean and there was plenty of tea and coffee in the room. This room backs on to a car park and it still has the old metal windows, one of which we could not close and as a result you heard everyone coming into the car park talking and starting their cars up, which was annoying, and strangely at about 10 pm we were disturbed by the dustmen collecting all the industrial garbage from the bin store, I know this is not the Hotels fault that they collect the bins at 10pm, but if the windows were closable or double glazed it would not have been an issue.

Having said that for the price we paid, the breakfast was great and the staff were certainly very pleasant and obliging all it needs is just a bit more doing to some of the rooms and it would get a lot higher rating.

One last thing it is approximately a 35 minute walk to get right into Edinburgh shopping, if you don't want a nice refreshing walk there are loads of bus stops on the main road.

Would we stay there again, possibly

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oz59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Good morning Oz59

Thank you for your feedback,

as you mentioned we have recently refurbished our Bothy Restaurant and Reception area as part of our phased refurbishment of the property. The issues you mentioned ahve been addressed and I will also be talking to our refuse collectors.

Have a great New Year.

Best Wishes


Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    984
    549
    182
    76
    41
See reviews for
259
970
58
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This hotel has a feel of a pub from outside but it doesn't feel like a pub inside! The rooms are recently renovated so they are quite luxurious! Big modern bathroom, nice bed. There were some renovation work happening at the entrance of the hotel when we were there so there was a bit of confusion. It is a fair walk (20- 30 mins) to Edinburgh castle but there are buses that take you there in no time. The best things we love about this hotel are the price and the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raspberryinblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Hi raspberryinblue

Thank you for your review,

as mentioned during your stay we were doing some refurbishment works, and if you liked your room you will love our new Bothy Restaurant.

We hope to see you next time you "pop over "

have a great New Year

Best Wishes


Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I stayed one night because I had an appointment nearby. The room (room 21)was ok for just me but for two it would have been too small. The room was too hot and there was no way of turning down the radiator because the regulator was missing. I reported this in the morning. It was 14 degrees C outside and there was no need for the heating to be full on right through the night. I didn't sleep a wink because I reckon the room temp was over 30 C. I opened the window but there was little air and the noise from the fan from next door didn't help. The heating needs to be off during the night. Continental Breakfast was mediocre. 5 out of 10. For the price it was ok but will look for something better next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snraem1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Good morning Snraem 1953

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The heating issue you mention has been resolved and we thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We regualrly seek to improve our offering and your comments will certainly help with that.


Kind Regards


Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Entertained a group of 4 for lunch yesterday. One of my party wanted a Famous Grouse whisky and was told it was not available I was gobsmacked bearing in mind we are in Scotland's capital and virtually at the entrance to the prestigious home of Scottish Rugby.

The staff were outstanding could not have been better but they were short staffed and under pressure

My friends enjoyed their meal. I ordered Poached salmon with potatoes on a bed of lettuce it was disappointing too much lettuce !!
Lovely atmosphere, can't believe they had no Famous Grouse to offer my guest !!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdcotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Good morning sdcotland

Thank you for your review, I am glad that over all you had a great time and shall definately take all of your comments on board, especially in regards to Famous Grouse as we now have added it to our stock list.

I do hope to see you soon and treat you to a wee nip.

Kind Regards


Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here last week and was lucky enough given a room in the house. Wow! The attention to detail in the room is way above what I was expecting, the service in the Bothy bar was excellent. Could not fault it on any level. I will definitely return.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tja A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Good evening Tja A

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Here at the hotel we love our house as much as all of or guests and never tire of hearing about our guests experiences.

All the team were delighted that you had such an amazing time and we all hope to see you again soon.


Have a great New Year

Kind Regards

Colin Brand
General Mnager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The quality of absolutely everything was first rate.
Thank you very much to Colin and his staff who were brilliant and extremely responsive.
This is our second visit this year and we're both very much looking forward to the next time

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Hi kelly b

Thanks so much for taking the time to write your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, here at the hotel we also love our house and new Bothy.

The team and I cant wait to welcome you back.

Have a fab Christmas and New Year.

Best Wishes

Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Had the most Amazing stay at the Murrayfield House, a special treat from my husband to celebrate my 30th. Our room in the House was Spectacular with a lovely view out to the garden. The room blew me away, very generous size with an immaculate interior and so many special little touches that really set it apart. I loved the TV in the mirror and could not believe how large and comfortable i found the bed. was more than pleased with the facilities provided which were much more than standard if im honest, hospitality tray was great, always happy to find an iron and ironboard in-room but was more than surprised to find a pair of GHD's also and a mini-bar. The bathroom also didnt dissappoint large in size with a seperate walk-in shower and lovely bathtub with toiletries provided along with slippers and dressing gowns, as someone who loves a long hot bath i was even more pleased that my husband could place his phone in the wall and it streamed music into the toilet helping me to relax and enjoy and didnt disturb him while he watched TV in the bedroom. We spent alot of time in the hotel bar the Bothy and were very impressed, Breakfast lunch and dinner were fantastic. Have to say a special thankyou to the staff who really helped make it a really enjoyable stay from the lovely girl who checked us in on arrival, the staff in the restaurant who worked incredibly hard to the bar staff one of which made me a cocktail that wasnt even on the cocktail list. Staff were genuinley happy to help and are doing a great job. I would definitely recommend the Murrayfield house and have already hinted to my husband that i would love a return visit next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hi kelly b

Thank you so much for your amazing review, we here at the Murrayfield ,ove our recently refurbished house and Bothy.

Our staff always try to go above and beyond for our guests.

Have a great Christmas and New Year.

Best Wishes


Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Channings Hotel
#34 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,233 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,535 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murrayfield Hotel and House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murrayfield Hotel and House

Property: Murrayfield Hotel and House
Address: 18 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Murrayfield Hotel and House 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Murrayfield Hotel is located in Edinburgh City Centre with ample complimentary parking and free Wifi. The hotel is the perfect destination for business, leisure or family occasions. The Murrayfield Hotel combines fantastic hospitality, outstanding value for money and second to none homemade food, served in the traditional, friendly pub kitchen. Serving as a perfect base from which to explore the historical Edinburgh City Centre, the Murrayfield Hotel is just a couple of minutes away from Edinburgh Zoo (and its giant pandas), the national Murrayfield Stadium which frequently plays host to major live sporting events as well as music concerts, and Haymarket Train Station.With fine home cooked food, complimentary car parking, traditional pub, restaurant, sun trap beer garden and unparalleled Scottish hospitality, we create a true home away from home for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Murrayfield Hotel and House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murrayfield Hotel And Lodge
Murrayfield Hotel Edinburgh
Murrayfield Hotel And House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing