We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel full of character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Ranked #39 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
107 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel full of character”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Really happy with this hotel. Breakfast was great, & the bar was great in the evenings. If i was going to be really picky i would say the rooms could be a tad larger, and it is a bit of a trek into the city centre - however buses are cheap & regular.
Overall really happy with our stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GemRVN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Good afternoon GemRVN

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

What better way to star your day than eith a good brreakfast and with our locally produced fresh produce thats exactly what we aim to do.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Best Wishes


Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,010
    555
    187
    79
    41
See reviews for
269
987
59
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The Murrayfield Hotel was a pleasant surprise for my self and a friend to stay Hogmany and New Years day for £140 each bnb. Although the hotel ground floor is stunning and very modern the bedrooms could do with being updated. Although comfortable bed and clean room was and always is my priority.

Speedy and polite staff both at reception, bar and breakfast and couldn't fault there attitude, The breakfast to a high standard with cheeses, hams and pastries as well as a full Scottish breakfast.I also, stupidly, left my house keys in the room when I checked out and after ringing them they were posted out to my and received within two days. I would stay at the hotel again and would really like to go to bistro for a meal as we had pre arranged plans.

As said the room isn't anything special and does look a bit tired but everything else including housekeeping standards are fantastic and great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theweegingergay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Good afternoon theweegingergay

Thanks so much for taking the time to pist your review, as mentioned we are part way through refurbishing the property and our guests love what we have done already.

The food in the Bothy is delicious and all home made by our superb kitchen team so we do hope you can pop by and dine with us.

All the best for 2014.


Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We were invited to the Hogmanay Party to bring in the New Year. After a recent refurbishment this was a complimentary evening, however it was done very well, there was a piper who piped in the New Year at 'The Bells', and a disco playing great tunes all evening. Not overly advertised, there was no crush, and service was very good. There was a very friendly atmosphere and we had a great evening.

The Bothy Restaurant was also open, and this provided a slightly more relaxed and calm version of the party next door. Great music, and great service, dancing beside the bar if desired, and altogether a very good night.

At weekends the Bothy usually hosts a live band who play a variety of tunes live, and the band 10.04's have two members who occasionaly play here. We have attended some fabulous nights at the Bothy, with this pair really getting the whole bar going with their interpretation of some great tunes, classic and modern.

The Bar Staff (Gents) and waiting Staff, Maureen and Kirsty are very kind and professional, and deserve a mention for their hard work and dedication to the smooth running of this venue.

We have eaten at the Bothy in the evening, and had lunch there too, and the food is very nice, the service very attentive and friendly. Kirstly again going the extra mile to be helpful, and Maureen very welcoming and attentive.

We did not stay at the hotel, so therefore I cannot review. However the ease of obtaining a taxi outside this hotel is fantastic as you get all the taxi's coming back into town so frequently that you never wait more than two or three minutes, and it is only five mins drive to the city centre.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edinalass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Good afternoon edinalass

We had a cracking new year here at the Murrayfield and guests like you helped us do so, many have commented on the two different areas and how they enjoyed going from "the party" to the more relaxed bothy.

I hope to see you again before this new year.

Have a great 2014

Best wishes

Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Just had to write something about staying here for the night on the 3rd of January. If anybody has any doubts (as I did) that the price per night is too cheap for the look of the hotel online, trust your instincts!
20 mins wait for a somebody to appear at reception. Small, bleak room with windows that had gaps through to outside and no toliet roll. We asked to move and were shown the only other room available. It was bigger. We took it. But….the kettle didn't work, we had to jam the windows with paper to keep them sort of closed, one wardrobe door was completely missing, the shower head fixing was busted….not so good!
I've never written a review before, but feel it should be more obvious what your paying for (or not paying for!) Staff tried they're best, but standing at reception the next morning, another 2 couples ahead of me were explaining there own woes of their rooms….:-((

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Good Afternoon Garry H

Firstly thank you for taking the time to write your review. Let me appologise for your recent experience and assure you that we have taken huge steps to resolve the issues you mentioned.

I do hope you use us again to enjoy the "real" Murryfield Hotel House and Bothy.


Kind Regards


Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and were not really expecting more that a basic base for what we paid. We couldn't have been more pleased with what we found.

This place was clean, welcoming and well decorated. The breakfast was delicious and service was faultless too. As an added bonus the free parking was included and all the attractions are reachable in a few minutes by the buses which stop outside.

I have stayed in supposed 5* hotels for a lot higher price which were no where near as nice as this. I wouldn't hesitate to return here and would highly recommend it. I can't understand why it's not better rated.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaymc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Good morning jaymc2012

Than you for taking the time to write such an amazing review.

We aredelighted that you had such an enjoyable time and cant wait to welcome you back to the hotel.

All the best in 2014



Best Wishes

Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We had afternoon tea on a Monday afternoon using an Itison voucher and were very pleased with the service and quality of food. There was plenty to eat and we even had an extra person which they welcomed at no extra charge,
The Bothy Restaurant was very pleasant with plenty room and excellent service from the staff.
We will certainly be returning for more.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Hi John L

I am delighted that you had such a great experience, the offer you mentioned is going down very well indeed.

Next time your passing you should pop in for dinner and have the Lamb Shank Shepheards Pie, its amazing.

Have a great New Year


Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I decided to book this place as it seemed a good price at just £44 per night. We stayed for 2 nights. This was for one of the rooms in the main hotel. After booking i was unsure of staying here after seeing the pictures and was thinking of booking somewhere else. But i must say im glad i stuck with the choice to stay here. My partner & me were in one of the refurbished rooms, we were both impressed with the size of the room and how nice it looked. Also for the price, we couldnt have found a better deal anywhere else. The staff were friendly, we also had a few quiet drinks in the bothy which is also nicely decorated & a good place to chill out. We were in a room at the front of the hotel & we didnt have any bother with traffic or anything even though it was on the main road.The only minor fault i would say there was is that the blinds in the bathroom could do with replacing, but other than that cant fault anything about our stay. If we ever go to edinburgh again we would definitely book here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tchristie941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Hi tchristie941

Thanks for such a great reiveiw, our new Bothy seems to be going down very well.

I do hope that your able to come back to Edinburgh and see us again soon.

Have a great 2014

Best Wishes


Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Channings Hotel
#37 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#12 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murrayfield Hotel and House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murrayfield Hotel and House

Property: Murrayfield Hotel and House
Address: 18 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Murrayfield Hotel and House 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Murrayfield Hotel is located in Edinburgh City Centre with ample complimentary parking and free Wifi. The hotel is the perfect destination for business, leisure or family occasions. The Murrayfield Hotel combines fantastic hospitality, outstanding value for money and second to none homemade food, served in the traditional, friendly pub kitchen. Serving as a perfect base from which to explore the historical Edinburgh City Centre, the Murrayfield Hotel is just a couple of minutes away from Edinburgh Zoo (and its giant pandas), the national Murrayfield Stadium which frequently plays host to major live sporting events as well as music concerts, and Haymarket Train Station.With fine home cooked food, complimentary car parking, traditional pub, restaurant, sun trap beer garden and unparalleled Scottish hospitality, we create a true home away from home for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Murrayfield Hotel and House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murrayfield Hotel And Lodge
Murrayfield Hotel Edinburgh
Murrayfield Hotel And House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing