We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Nearby Hotels
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$361
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$234
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$245
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$678
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,229)
Filter reviews
2,229 results
Traveller rating
1,222
637
223
97
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,222
637
223
97
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbothy restaurantcity centretv in the mirrorthe main hotellovely hoteledinburgh zoobus stoplovely roomlittle touchesbooked this hoteltea and coffeefull scottish breakfastbreakfast was deliciousprinces streetrugbybusesreceptionist
Filter
Updating list...
1,772 - 1,777 of 2,229 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Our long weekend in Edinburgh was made all the more enjoyable as a result of our stay in 'the house'. Our room was top notch complete with contemporary four poster and rainfall shower. Great breakfast too! The staff at the Murrayfield were extremely attentive and the team should be praised for their excellent service and attention to detail. The Murrayfield is within walking distance of Edinburgh Zoo (a birthday treat to see the Pandas). If you want to explore other popular attractions like The Castle, Calton Hill, the Botanical Gardens etc then just hop on a bus. A frequent bus service ensures that you are only 20 minutes away from the main attractions.

Room Tip: I would recommend that at the time of booking specify that you would like a room in the main house.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Good afternoon John B

Many thanks for taking the time to write yoiur review, I am delighted you had such a great time and may we wish you a late happy birthday.

I will let the chef and his brigade know that you loved our tasty breakfast.

We hope to see you again soon.


Best Wishedsfor 2014

Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We enjoyed the most superb afternoon tea today in The Bothy. There were only the two of us but there was enough for four people - 8 sandwiches, 4 cream scones and 8 cakes - so we were given a 'goodie bag' to take home. From the minute we arrived were impressed by the friendliness of the staff and the lovely decor. We shall certainly make a return visit to sample their lunch menu.......can't wait!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hyacinthbucket7a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Good morning hyacinthbucket7a

Thank you so much for writing your review, our afternoon teas are fabulous and really go down well with our guests.

I hope to see you soon for lunch as our chefs take the same passion in everyhing they produce, and ofcourse its all home made !!

See you soon


Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Really happy with this hotel. Breakfast was great, & the bar was great in the evenings. If i was going to be really picky i would say the rooms could be a tad larger, and it is a bit of a trek into the city centre - however buses are cheap & regular.
Overall really happy with our stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GemRVN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Good afternoon GemRVN

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

What better way to star your day than eith a good brreakfast and with our locally produced fresh produce thats exactly what we aim to do.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Best Wishes


Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The Murrayfield Hotel was a pleasant surprise for my self and a friend to stay Hogmany and New Years day for £140 each bnb. Although the hotel ground floor is stunning and very modern the bedrooms could do with being updated. Although comfortable bed and clean room was and always is my priority.

Speedy and polite staff both at reception, bar and breakfast and couldn't fault there attitude, The breakfast to a high standard with cheeses, hams and pastries as well as a full Scottish breakfast.I also, stupidly, left my house keys in the room when I checked out and after ringing them they were posted out to my and received within two days. I would stay at the hotel again and would really like to go to bistro for a meal as we had pre arranged plans.

As said the room isn't anything special and does look a bit tired but everything else including housekeeping standards are fantastic and great value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theweegingergay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Good afternoon theweegingergay

Thanks so much for taking the time to pist your review, as mentioned we are part way through refurbishing the property and our guests love what we have done already.

The food in the Bothy is delicious and all home made by our superb kitchen team so we do hope you can pop by and dine with us.

All the best for 2014.


Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We were invited to the Hogmanay Party to bring in the New Year. After a recent refurbishment this was a complimentary evening, however it was done very well, there was a piper who piped in the New Year at 'The Bells', and a disco playing great tunes all evening. Not overly advertised, there was no crush, and service was very good. There was a very friendly atmosphere and we had a great evening.

The Bothy Restaurant was also open, and this provided a slightly more relaxed and calm version of the party next door. Great music, and great service, dancing beside the bar if desired, and altogether a very good night.

At weekends the Bothy usually hosts a live band who play a variety of tunes live, and the band 10.04's have two members who occasionaly play here. We have attended some fabulous nights at the Bothy, with this pair really getting the whole bar going with their interpretation of some great tunes, classic and modern.

The Bar Staff (Gents) and waiting Staff, Maureen and Kirsty are very kind and professional, and deserve a mention for their hard work and dedication to the smooth running of this venue.

We have eaten at the Bothy in the evening, and had lunch there too, and the food is very nice, the service very attentive and friendly. Kirstly again going the extra mile to be helpful, and Maureen very welcoming and attentive.

We did not stay at the hotel, so therefore I cannot review. However the ease of obtaining a taxi outside this hotel is fantastic as you get all the taxi's coming back into town so frequently that you never wait more than two or three minutes, and it is only five mins drive to the city centre.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edinalass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Good afternoon edinalass

We had a cracking new year here at the Murrayfield and guests like you helped us do so, many have commented on the two different areas and how they enjoyed going from "the party" to the more relaxed bothy.

I hope to see you again before this new year.

Have a great 2014

Best wishes

Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews