We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looked great but dirty linen was big let down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Ranked #39 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Looked great but dirty linen was big let down”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Was romantic night away, room looked amazing when entred only to find linen wss dirty and room had not been cleaned moved to a much smaller room and was told would be refunded in the morning., duty manager said she could only refund half of our money and manager would call...... still waiting. ..

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank milroy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Good afternoon milroy99

Thank you for taking the time to write your review,

We appologise for the short comings you experienced on arrival. We immediately moved you to a room of equal standard and given a 50% discount on your stay.

Please contact myself directly here at the hotel as there seems to be a mix up as to what your actual expectations were.


Kind Regards


Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,029
    565
    192
    80
    41
See reviews for
275
1,000
63
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

A little late review as me and my boyfriend went on the first week of January 2014. Overall good!

Arriving at the hotel we had to wait until 2pm to check into our rooms we asked if it was okay if we left our cases there- we then had to clamber our cases in a small broom cupboard with no help. No help or interest came from the receptionist which was poor as I personally have been to some amazing hotels.

Coming back at 2 we were greeted by a different receptionist who had got all out details wrong and demanded we pay cash for a room we had already payed for! After we sorted that minor dispute out we were walked to the house we didn't stay in the hotel. as soon as we entered the room was simply stunning with the tv hidden behind the mirror, all furnishings were top notch the room was really clean and just simply beautiful only problem was the heating- there was non. And the receptionist had run off before we could ask how to work anything!

The hotels restaurant is beautiful and the staff in there are super friendly! And they have special nights on we were there on a Saturday and it was a Children's night, a box of fancy dress was located under the telly tucked out of the way and children sat nicely In princess dresses or space suits it looked like fun- me and my boyfriend didn't mind at all the atmosphere in the restaurant was lovely!

It was time to leave and again he receptionist was rude and distant and rushed out of the room as soon as the taxi was ordered.

All in all defiantly go! Super romantic and beautiful!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicoleehowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Good evening PandaBear94

thank you for your reivew,

I am delighted that you had such a good time while staying with us, I am a little dissapointed that you found our reception team to be lass hospitable than the rest tof the staff here and assure you it is something that will be looked into at our next guest training session.

I do hope to welcome you to the hotel again.


Kind Regards


Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Won a night here through itison but decided to stay an extra night. Stayed in the house part and can't fault it at all. The rooms have been done up so well. High ceilings and lovely decor. My husband didn't think there was a TV until I told him it was seemingly in the mirror!! Huge comfy bed and beautiful bathroom. Breakfast each morning was delicious & staff were very chatty & pleasant. Would recommend this place to any of my friends or family. Will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Good morning Julie R

Thank you so much for your review.

We are delighted that you had such an amazing time and cant help but agree that the rooms are stunning.

I will let the kitchen and waiting team know that you felt well looked after.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!!!

Best Wishes


Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I was completely shocked when we walked into our room. It was the front room, #107 with 3 huge windows, just above their function room. The ceilings were amazingly high and the chandelier made the room look beautiful shining a pattern throughout the room. The bathroom was immaculate with a rainfall shower head, which I love. The double sinks were a great addition. The bed was quite hard to sleep on. The bus stopped right outside the door pretty much, which came from the airport. The same bus stop would get you to city center near the castle in 15 minutes. Frequent runs. The bus also picked up and went straight to the airport which was a huge bonus.

There were only a couple of things that would have made the stay a bit better.

1. No phone in our room so every time we needed something we had to go down to see the lady at the desk.

2. the toilet seat was let go on one side and only anchored with one bolt. Every time you sat down you didn't know if it would fall off or not. I mentioned this to the lady on the desk on our first night and she said some one would fix it the next day but no one came. I had to take extra caution so I didn't fall off the seat all together.

3. The large black out curtains were very hard to get in place to block out the sunlight, well in our case the day light, due to the terrible weather when we visited. One part of the curtain had come undone and didn't close flush with the other side.

Overall the look and feel of the room really made up for the shortcomings. The staff was very friendly and helpful with tips on how to get around the city and booking us in at the restaurant. They also held our bags past checkin with no questions asked so that we could go explore some more. Our flight was a late evening flight.

The wifi password was on our room key holder and worked perfectly with no issues.

The restaurant was great and just off the lobby of the hotel.

This was the nicest hotel room I've ever stayed in, whether it is based on my taste and love of the old fashion or if it was just great, I'm not sure but I loved it either way. I would recommend this room to anyone.

Room Tip: 107 just above the functions room seemed to be one of the larger rooms and it couldn't have gott...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Hi Sam B

thank you for such a fabulous review, we are delighted you had such agreat stay, the loose seat and curtain have already been sorted out.

We do hope to see you here again soon,

Have a great 2014

Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilbirnie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Stayed here for a night whilst in Edinburgh to see the Lion King at the Playhouse. We found all the staff to be very friendly and informative as to where places were and how to get to them. The room we were given, 206, was large and well equipped with plenty of tea and coffee available in the room. Breakfast offered a good choice and service was good but a minor complaint for us was the music being played throughout breakfast at a volume which was not acceptable.
There is a very good and frequent bus service from just outside the front door into Prices Street.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Good afternoon David G

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we really do appreciate it.

I will let the kitchen brigade know you enjoyed our delicious breakfast, also we would have been happy to turn down the music volume if you felt it was detracting from your experieince.


Kind Regards


Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Had a wonderful lunch with my pardner and her father. Extensive menu, I had gammon steak with home cut chips and veg, well presented and cooked to perfection, my pardners father had cottage pie, came in a metal dish, perfect as he was recovering from two recent strokes, my pardner had a salad and was more than happy with this choice. The restaurant has recently been refurbished, the place looks very impressive. Will return again as It was very relaxed but professional in its delivery.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chastee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Hi Chastee

Thanks a lot for your review, we appreciate people taking the time to do so.

We will share your comments with our chefs as I know they will be delighted to hear you enoyed your meal.

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Our long weekend in Edinburgh was made all the more enjoyable as a result of our stay in 'the house'. Our room was top notch complete with contemporary four poster and rainfall shower. Great breakfast too! The staff at the Murrayfield were extremely attentive and the team should be praised for their excellent service and attention to detail. The Murrayfield is within walking distance of Edinburgh Zoo (a birthday treat to see the Pandas). If you want to explore other popular attractions like The Castle, Calton Hill, the Botanical Gardens etc then just hop on a bus. A frequent bus service ensures that you are only 20 minutes away from the main attractions.

Room Tip: I would recommend that at the time of booking specify that you would like a room in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Good afternoon John B

Many thanks for taking the time to write yoiur review, I am delighted you had such a great time and may we wish you a late happy birthday.

I will let the chef and his brigade know that you loved our tasty breakfast.

We hope to see you again soon.


Best Wishedsfor 2014

Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,316 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Channings Hotel
#37 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,266 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murrayfield Hotel and House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murrayfield Hotel and House

Property: Murrayfield Hotel and House
Address: 18 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Murrayfield Hotel and House 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Murrayfield Hotel is located in Edinburgh City Centre with ample complimentary parking and free Wifi. The hotel is the perfect destination for business, leisure or family occasions. The Murrayfield Hotel combines fantastic hospitality, outstanding value for money and second to none homemade food, served in the traditional, friendly pub kitchen. Serving as a perfect base from which to explore the historical Edinburgh City Centre, the Murrayfield Hotel is just a couple of minutes away from Edinburgh Zoo (and its giant pandas), the national Murrayfield Stadium which frequently plays host to major live sporting events as well as music concerts, and Haymarket Train Station.With fine home cooked food, complimentary car parking, traditional pub, restaurant, sun trap beer garden and unparalleled Scottish hospitality, we create a true home away from home for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Murrayfield Hotel and House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murrayfield Hotel And Lodge
Murrayfield Hotel Edinburgh
Murrayfield Hotel And House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing