We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinning at the Bothy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Ranked #36 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Booked the festive dinning meal in the Forester back in December, wasn’t disappointed. The food was outstanding and great value for money. Presentation and portion size was over and above what myself and my friend had expected for a 3 course Christmas meal with a glass of Prosecco on arrival. The staff were so attentive with flawless service and nothing was too much trouble.

At the time they were offering a locals card as an incentive to return. I have since gone back with a group of friends and with family and had cocktails and dinner in the newly refurbished Bothy, and again was not disappointed. The staff remembered me from my last visit which made me feel like ‘a local’. Food was even yummier, service was friendly and efficient even though the place was fully booked which gave a buzzing ambience. Defiantly a must try venue when in Edinburgh whether a local or visiting, you can hang out and enjoy good home cooked food and sample the amazing cocktails, beers and wine. We are even heading back for the rugby in the coming weeks as they have outdoor drinking areas-FAB!

Room Tip: You have to sample the Chorizo, Chickpea and pepper casserole it’s amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMcallister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Good Morning PMcallister

It was great to have you stay with us again, we loved having you and your friends again. I am delighted that you love our new look and the chorizo dish you mention is a personal favourite!!

See you at the Rugby we hope.

Best Wishes


Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,061)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,606 - 1,612 of 2,061 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed in the house for a weekend. The room was very luxurious, beautifully and tasefully decorated with all mod cons - GHDs Breakfast was hearty and excellent choice. Ate in the restaurant Friday, which was pretty good and then went in for drinks at the end of the evening on Sat night and the atmosphere was great. Definitely would stay again - good location, fab rooms and friendly staff.

Richard and Fiona

Room Tip: For luxury - stay in the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Morning Fiona G

Thank you for taking the time to write yout review. We are delighted that you enjoued your stay so much really hope you do stay again soon.

We love our new Bothy and it really is the place to be at the weekends, I wil lshare your comments with the team at our next meeting.

Best Wishes

Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Had a lovely mid week evening in the Bothy Restaurant with 7 friends. The food was good, the staff very nice and the restaurant was warm. Tables were well spaced and we did not feel we disturbed other tables nor were we aware of them and there was another table of 7 next to us.
I would recommend this restaurant for a lovely informal evening.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BBA8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Good afternoon BBA8

Thanks so much for your amazing review. We are delighted that you had such a wonderfull evening and we do look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best Wishes


Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We had lunch here about two weeks ago. It has been refurbished to a high standard and the food was very good. Also a good choice on the menu. Friendly, helpful staff. As we have family in the area, I am sure we will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Patsy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Good afternoon Patsy A

Thank you do much for taking the time to write your review, We love our new look Bothy and are delighted that you do to.

Our team go out of their way to try and make all of our guests feel at home.

I will certainly pass your comments to the staff and we cant wait to see you again.

Best Wishes


Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My Husband & I stayed here for 1 night but I could've stayed a week. The place has been decorated to a very high standard. The room (302) was absolutely stunning with it's high ceilings. The TV was actually the mirror. The bathroom was simply beautiful. The whole place just oozes class. Lovely big massive bed with top quality linen. A lovely array of nibbles & a mini bar. Even had hairdryer & GHD's. An amazing selection of teas & freshly ground coffee with complimentary Tunnocks Teacakes & Caramel Wafers. It's the little touches that make your stay special. Staff were great. Breakfast was really massive. Couldn't fault the place. Directly opposite Murrayfield Stadium, prime location with easy access to lots of buses, which will take you into town in 5-10 mins. Overall, a great stay, would highly recommend. Will definately return. Top class. Top marks. Sheer opulence.

Room Tip: 302 is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CATHY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Morning CATHY D

Thank you s omuch for taking time to write your review. We were delighted to hear that you had such an amazing time.

The team llok forward to seeing you again soon, hope you and your husband are well.


Best Wishes

Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Was romantic night away, room looked amazing when entred only to find linen wss dirty and room had not been cleaned moved to a much smaller room and was told would be refunded in the morning., duty manager said she could only refund half of our money and manager would call...... still waiting. ..

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Cleanliness
Thank milroy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Good afternoon milroy99

Thank you for taking the time to write your review,

We appologise for the short comings you experienced on arrival. We immediately moved you to a room of equal standard and given a 50% discount on your stay.

Please contact myself directly here at the hotel as there seems to be a mix up as to what your actual expectations were.


Kind Regards


Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

A little late review as me and my boyfriend went on the first week of January 2014. Overall good!

Arriving at the hotel we had to wait until 2pm to check into our rooms we asked if it was okay if we left our cases there- we then had to clamber our cases in a small broom cupboard with no help. No help or interest came from the receptionist which was poor as I personally have been to some amazing hotels.

Coming back at 2 we were greeted by a different receptionist who had got all out details wrong and demanded we pay cash for a room we had already payed for! After we sorted that minor dispute out we were walked to the house we didn't stay in the hotel. as soon as we entered the room was simply stunning with the tv hidden behind the mirror, all furnishings were top notch the room was really clean and just simply beautiful only problem was the heating- there was non. And the receptionist had run off before we could ask how to work anything!

The hotels restaurant is beautiful and the staff in there are super friendly! And they have special nights on we were there on a Saturday and it was a Children's night, a box of fancy dress was located under the telly tucked out of the way and children sat nicely In princess dresses or space suits it looked like fun- me and my boyfriend didn't mind at all the atmosphere in the restaurant was lovely!

It was time to leave and again he receptionist was rude and distant and rushed out of the room as soon as the taxi was ordered.

All in all defiantly go! Super romantic and beautiful!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nicoleehowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Good evening PandaBear94

thank you for your reivew,

I am delighted that you had such a good time while staying with us, I am a little dissapointed that you found our reception team to be lass hospitable than the rest tof the staff here and assure you it is something that will be looked into at our next guest training session.

I do hope to welcome you to the hotel again.


Kind Regards


Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,418 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#49 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,586 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#58 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,704 reviews
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#109 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,286 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murrayfield Hotel and House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murrayfield Hotel and House

Address: 18 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £50 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Murrayfield Hotel and House 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Murrayfield Hotel is located in Edinburgh City Centre with ample complimentary parking and free Wifi. The hotel is the perfect destination for business, leisure or family occasions. The Murrayfield Hotel combines fantastic hospitality, outstanding value for money and second to none homemade food, served in the traditional, friendly pub kitchen. Serving as a perfect base from which to explore the historical Edinburgh City Centre, the Murrayfield Hotel is just a couple of minutes away from Edinburgh Zoo (and its giant pandas), the national Murrayfield Stadium which frequently plays host to major live sporting events as well as music concerts, and Haymarket Train Station.With fine home cooked food, complimentary car parking, traditional pub, restaurant, sun trap beer garden and unparalleled Scottish hospitality, we create a true home away from home for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Murrayfield Hotel and House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murrayfield Hotel And Lodge
Murrayfield Hotel Edinburgh
Murrayfield Hotel And House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing