We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sunday Brunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Ranked #36 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Wanted a lazy Sunday brunch and decided to stagger along to the hotel. Staff opened the door and settled us into an excellent spot. Couldn't have asked for more. Bar looked tempting but thought the Better of it. Will try next time. The refurb is excellent, very cool yet comfy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Good afternoon S B

Thank you for taking time to review our new Bothy. I am delighted that you found it to be so welcoming.

With live sports, relaxing music and a great menu it really is the place to relax after a Hectic weekend.

We cant wait to see you again.


Best Wishes


Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,999)
There are newer reviews for Murrayfield Hotel and House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,546 - 1,552 of 2,000 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

This hotel has recently undergone a major refurb. I have stayed twice in the past few months; both times in the boutique 9 bedroomed Murrayfield House which is a seperate building from the main hotel. It is quite simply stunning. The nicest place I have stayed in Scotland (and I have stayed in quite a few) and should be 5 stars not 3. On my stay last night I saw that the main hotel has now also been refurbished to a similar standard of the Murrayfield House. My room was extremely spacious; with a large bay window; a seating area; a dressing table with huge mirror and concealed TV within the mirror. A honeymoon suite without the price tag. Lots of freebies / extras. Wonderful service. Very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Room 5 in the Murrayfield House is the best room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debs2422013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Hi Debs2422013

Thank you for such an amazing review. We love having you stay with us and are all a little jellous at how often you get to stay in our amazing house.

Room 5 as you mention is also my favourite room.

Be sure to say hello next time your with us.

Best Wishes

Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The hotel was undergoing quite a few refurbishments but none of which really effected our stay in any great way. The reception wasn't overly easy to find, but people were helpful in pointing it out for us. Other than that, the room was spacious and modern. We only had a fleeting one night visit in Edinburgh so the location wasn't ideal, as it was not particularly close to the city centre. The staff were pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Hi Leo B

Thank you for taking the time to write your reivew, I am happy that our recent renovation works did not inconvienience you. We put a lot of preperation into them and it has certainly paid off.

If you ever "pop" over agin we hope to welocme you back.

Best Wishes


Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Booked the festive dinning meal in the Forester back in December, wasn’t disappointed. The food was outstanding and great value for money. Presentation and portion size was over and above what myself and my friend had expected for a 3 course Christmas meal with a glass of Prosecco on arrival. The staff were so attentive with flawless service and nothing was too much trouble.

At the time they were offering a locals card as an incentive to return. I have since gone back with a group of friends and with family and had cocktails and dinner in the newly refurbished Bothy, and again was not disappointed. The staff remembered me from my last visit which made me feel like ‘a local’. Food was even yummier, service was friendly and efficient even though the place was fully booked which gave a buzzing ambience. Defiantly a must try venue when in Edinburgh whether a local or visiting, you can hang out and enjoy good home cooked food and sample the amazing cocktails, beers and wine. We are even heading back for the rugby in the coming weeks as they have outdoor drinking areas-FAB!

Room Tip: You have to sample the Chorizo, Chickpea and pepper casserole it’s amazing!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMcallister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Good Morning PMcallister

It was great to have you stay with us again, we loved having you and your friends again. I am delighted that you love our new look and the chorizo dish you mention is a personal favourite!!

See you at the Rugby we hope.

Best Wishes


Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed in the house for a weekend. The room was very luxurious, beautifully and tasefully decorated with all mod cons - GHDs Breakfast was hearty and excellent choice. Ate in the restaurant Friday, which was pretty good and then went in for drinks at the end of the evening on Sat night and the atmosphere was great. Definitely would stay again - good location, fab rooms and friendly staff.

Richard and Fiona

Room Tip: For luxury - stay in the house
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Morning Fiona G

Thank you for taking the time to write yout review. We are delighted that you enjoued your stay so much really hope you do stay again soon.

We love our new Bothy and it really is the place to be at the weekends, I wil lshare your comments with the team at our next meeting.

Best Wishes

Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Had a lovely mid week evening in the Bothy Restaurant with 7 friends. The food was good, the staff very nice and the restaurant was warm. Tables were well spaced and we did not feel we disturbed other tables nor were we aware of them and there was another table of 7 next to us.
I would recommend this restaurant for a lovely informal evening.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BBA8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Good afternoon BBA8

Thanks so much for your amazing review. We are delighted that you had such a wonderfull evening and we do look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best Wishes


Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We had lunch here about two weeks ago. It has been refurbished to a high standard and the food was very good. Also a good choice on the menu. Friendly, helpful staff. As we have family in the area, I am sure we will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Patsy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Good afternoon Patsy A

Thank you do much for taking the time to write your review, We love our new look Bothy and are delighted that you do to.

Our team go out of their way to try and make all of our guests feel at home.

I will certainly pass your comments to the staff and we cant wait to see you again.

Best Wishes


Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,386 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,537 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#107 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,224 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#57 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,662 reviews
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#7 of 150 in Edinburgh
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murrayfield Hotel and House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murrayfield Hotel and House

Address: 18 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £54 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Murrayfield Hotel and House 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Murrayfield Hotel is located in Edinburgh City Centre with ample complimentary parking and free Wifi. The hotel is the perfect destination for business, leisure or family occasions. The Murrayfield Hotel combines fantastic hospitality, outstanding value for money and second to none homemade food, served in the traditional, friendly pub kitchen. Serving as a perfect base from which to explore the historical Edinburgh City Centre, the Murrayfield Hotel is just a couple of minutes away from Edinburgh Zoo (and its giant pandas), the national Murrayfield Stadium which frequently plays host to major live sporting events as well as music concerts, and Haymarket Train Station.With fine home cooked food, complimentary car parking, traditional pub, restaurant, sun trap beer garden and unparalleled Scottish hospitality, we create a true home away from home for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Murrayfield Hotel and House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murrayfield Hotel And Lodge
Murrayfield Hotel Edinburgh
Murrayfield Hotel And House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing