We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Murrayfield House-fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Ranked #35 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here because we were going to the theatre, the interior of the hotel was tastefully decorated but we were a little worried when the receptionist took us outside and along the road to a separate house for our room but we were absolutely delighted with our room, high ceilings fabulous furniture with the tallest wardrobe ive ever seen and a TV hidden in the mirror plus its the first hotel we have stayed in that supplied not just a hairdryer but a pair of GHD's. The bathroom was very nice and a great walk in shower that we thoroughly enjoyed, we also liked the little touch of having a copy of Oor Wullie in the bedside drawer instead of the usual bible. The staff were very helpful as we were running late for the theatre so they rushed out our dinner order so we wouldnt be late.
I would highly recommend this hotel, perfect for Murrayfield as well.

Room Tip: We had room 6 in the house and it was brilliant, couldnt say anything about the other rooms because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Good morning Derek L

Thank you so much for your amazing review. We really appreciate when our guests take the time to tell everyone about their stay.

Like you we love our new house and never tire of showing it off to our guests.

I will share your comments with our team at the next team meeting, we look forward to seeing you again very soon.


Kind Regards

Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,689 - 1,695 of 2,162 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

My mum and I stayed in Murrayfield house for one night (we got a cheap last min deal) and we did not want to leave! Interior design was outstanding and the attention to detail was breathtaking! The room was so comfortable, we slept so well. The complimentary whiskey and fudge was a lovely touch too. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Loved the speakers in the bathroom, showers, tea selection, ghd's and black out ceiling to floor curtains! Amazing! Cant wait to come and stay again.

Room Tip: I don't know what the rooms are like in the hotel but Murrayfield house was just lovely! We stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Good Evening Lucy C

Thank you so much for tasking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you had such an amazing time.

We love our new Murrayfield House and are delighted that you have too.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the hotel and please feel free to contact us directly for your next booking.

Best Wishes

Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed here on Wednesday night just for one night..... It was recommended to us...... We had a great welcome and the staff were amazing especially Kerr she was so helpful
We had dinner there and our daughter and her friend came and met us ..... The food was lovely and service excellent.... We will be staying again as we will be visiting Beverley frequently.
Just a couple of things about the room which we felt weren't upto standard..... The bed was hard and lumpy and we both ached..... And the silver foil blind in the bathroom was filthy
It will not stop us returning in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for room in the house as I think they are superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ladymaule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Good morning ladymuaule

Thank you so much for your review, I am delighted that our team managed to look after you. I will share your comments with the team and especially our chef and Kerr at our next meeting.

I will look into the bedroom issues you mentioned and resolve them immediately.

Please contact us directly next time your in Edinburgh to arrange your booking.


Best Wishes


Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed in the hotel as part of an itison deal. Pleasantly surprised at how fantastic the Murrayfield house hotel was and it was great value for money.

The room was the nicest hotel room I've ever stayed in. The decor was stunning and the modern decor set the hotel to the highest standard.

Drinks and dinner in the restaurant was also top class as was the service received by all the staff.

I'd definitely recommend the hotel and I look forward to visiting again.

Top notch!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Littlemissquick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Hi Littlemissquick,

Many thanks for this fantastic review, your comments that our Murrayfield House was the best hotel you have ever stayed in means a great deal to us. Again, thank you. I will be sure to share your review with the team at our next meeting. We hope to be welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes,

Colin Brand – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed here at the end of January and loved it. Comfy beds, great shower, high quality toiletries. Couldn't fault it at all. Got on the bus to Edinburgh centre which took ten mins, so great location also. Thanks!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oskar642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Good morning Oskar642,

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and thank you for taking the time to review us. I’ll be sure to share this feedback with the team. Come back and visit us again soon…

Colin Brand – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stayed in the House. Beautiful room - quirky, tasteful and elegant. Lovely meal in the restaurant. Great food and particularly pleasant and helpful staff. We enjoyed the great atmosphere in the hotel bar too - brilliant live music from the charming Graeme and Dave. Will definitely return and would most certainly recommend.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Hi Liz S

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you had such a great time andI will be sharing your comments with the team at our next meeting.

We hope to see you again soon and hopefully you can catch another of our great live music acts.

Best Wishes


Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Myself and my partner stayed at this hotel in Dec and were very impressed with this hotel, the room that we stayed in was amazing and had lots of little added extras and way beyond our expectations. Breakfast the next morning was also good.

However, after realising that i had left my watch in the bathroom after i had checked-out the aftersales treatment that i received was appalling! After contacting reception to advise them i was told several hours later that my watch was not there and it would be followed up the next day. I had to call back twice to get a response and im also awaiting a reponse to my email to the Manager. Very disappointed in the level of service for such a nice hotel and will not be recommending this to any friends and family.

Room Tip: Get a room in the new part of the hotel which is two doors down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wifeFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Good evening wifeFife

Thank you for taking the time to review your recvent visit. I am a little dissapointed that you found us not to have reponded to your communications with regards to your watch. I know my reception team spoke with you and I also responded via email.

Please feel frree to contact us again if you need anymore help.


Kind Regards


Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#4 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,056 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,439 reviews
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#84 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,645 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#91 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murrayfield Hotel and House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murrayfield Hotel and House

Address: 18 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £49 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Murrayfield Hotel and House 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Murrayfield Hotel is located in Edinburgh City Centre with ample complimentary parking and free Wifi. The hotel is the perfect destination for business, leisure or family occasions. The Murrayfield Hotel combines fantastic hospitality, outstanding value for money and second to none homemade food, served in the traditional, friendly pub kitchen. Serving as a perfect base from which to explore the historical Edinburgh City Centre, the Murrayfield Hotel is just a couple of minutes away from Edinburgh Zoo (and its giant pandas), the national Murrayfield Stadium which frequently plays host to major live sporting events as well as music concerts, and Haymarket Train Station.With fine home cooked food, complimentary car parking, traditional pub, restaurant, sun trap beer garden and unparalleled Scottish hospitality, we create a true home away from home for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Murrayfield Hotel and House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murrayfield Hotel And Lodge
Murrayfield Hotel Edinburgh
Murrayfield Hotel And House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing