We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Ranked #39 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

As a group of 4 (2 couples) travelling from Australia around Europe for 3 months, we came by train to Edinburgh from London.
I booked online and got a great deal. We stayed in room 209 in the hotel for 4 nights and it was lovely. The furnishings were tasteful, everything was spotlessly clean, it was quiet and the bed was very comfortable. Our friends stayed in 207.
We had dinner in the restaurant, drinks at the bar and breakfast each morning, we couldn't fault the food/drinks or the service. We will certainly recommend this hotel to our friends. Many thanks to Kieren, Duncan and Kerr (as well as all the others whose names I didn't get) for the warm, friendly way they welcomed us. We will come back to Edinburgh, one of the most beautiful cities I've seen, and would definitely choose the Murrayfield hotel again.
The only thing I can find to whinge about was that the room was too warm and the heated towel rack thingy made the bathroom like a sauna, but apart from that - it was perfect!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flossie00_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hi flossie00_12

Thank yo so much or your very kind review.

I have passed your comments to ll the team and they were delighted to hear about your recent visit.

We are delighted to have been such an important part of what sounds to have been an excellent adventure.

Kind Regards


Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,012
    555
    188
    79
    41
See reviews for
269
988
60
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here again for the rugby. I really think this will be the last time.

Booking 2 treble room's at a cost of over £1000.
I personally expected more this year we stayed in the main building on the top floor cleanliness and decor below par.

We had lunch on arrival steak sandwich and chips not bad.

Went into Edinburgh for the evening called back into the bar for a night cap. The band two lads with guitars were excellent.

Jumped out of bed in the morning remembering how good breakfast was last time. How thing's have changed buffet style all cold totally under staffed no tea or coffee a disaster inedible. Had toast.

During the Saturday even if your a resident all prices are increased to ridiculous costs. Profiteering on rugby crowd.

Breakfast on Sunday was slightly better and a few more members of staff so we got tea and coffee.

To find an English member of staff is all but impossible so communication is a major issue.

A girl who had told us she was the owners daughter wafts about and seems to be too busy to deal with anything other than the temporary staff brought in for the day.

All in all great location for the match, but overpriced accommodation and drinks on match day.

I'm sure this review won't bother them too much as on rugby weekends. They will always sell out.
Hope if you stay on other date's things are better.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear David W

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am disappointed to hear that we did live up to our usual high standards.

I would like the opportunity to discuss your points in person so please feel free to email me directly at colinbrand@g1group.co.uk


Kind Regards

Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Fantastic...Booked online whilst looking for hotels with bar and parking.. The Murrayfield ticked all the boxes and was a pleasure to stay there. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the hotel itself very clean and tidy. Location was a very good walk from the city centre ,, but does have its own car park with which you do struggle to find closer to the centre. The breakfast was also excellent and the bar was reasonable also. Would stay again , as we found a Mon - Fri break wasn't long enough to do everything the City has to offer

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Good morning Paul N

Many congratulations on your 10 year anniversary.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are delighted that you had such a great break.

I will let the chef and the team know just how much you enjoyed your breakfast.

Please dont leave it another ten years before you come and see us again.

Best Wishes


Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here because we were going to the theatre, the interior of the hotel was tastefully decorated but we were a little worried when the receptionist took us outside and along the road to a separate house for our room but we were absolutely delighted with our room, high ceilings fabulous furniture with the tallest wardrobe ive ever seen and a TV hidden in the mirror plus its the first hotel we have stayed in that supplied not just a hairdryer but a pair of GHD's. The bathroom was very nice and a great walk in shower that we thoroughly enjoyed, we also liked the little touch of having a copy of Oor Wullie in the bedside drawer instead of the usual bible. The staff were very helpful as we were running late for the theatre so they rushed out our dinner order so we wouldnt be late.
I would highly recommend this hotel, perfect for Murrayfield as well.

Room Tip: We had room 6 in the house and it was brilliant, couldnt say anything about the other rooms because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Good morning Derek L

Thank you so much for your amazing review. We really appreciate when our guests take the time to tell everyone about their stay.

Like you we love our new house and never tire of showing it off to our guests.

I will share your comments with our team at the next team meeting, we look forward to seeing you again very soon.


Kind Regards

Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My mum and I stayed in Murrayfield house for one night (we got a cheap last min deal) and we did not want to leave! Interior design was outstanding and the attention to detail was breathtaking! The room was so comfortable, we slept so well. The complimentary whiskey and fudge was a lovely touch too. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Loved the speakers in the bathroom, showers, tea selection, ghd's and black out ceiling to floor curtains! Amazing! Cant wait to come and stay again.

Room Tip: I don't know what the rooms are like in the hotel but Murrayfield house was just lovely! We stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Good Evening Lucy C

Thank you so much for tasking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you had such an amazing time.

We love our new Murrayfield House and are delighted that you have too.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the hotel and please feel free to contact us directly for your next booking.

Best Wishes

Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed here on Wednesday night just for one night..... It was recommended to us...... We had a great welcome and the staff were amazing especially Kerr she was so helpful
We had dinner there and our daughter and her friend came and met us ..... The food was lovely and service excellent.... We will be staying again as we will be visiting Beverley frequently.
Just a couple of things about the room which we felt weren't upto standard..... The bed was hard and lumpy and we both ached..... And the silver foil blind in the bathroom was filthy
It will not stop us returning in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for room in the house as I think they are superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladymaule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Good morning ladymuaule

Thank you so much for your review, I am delighted that our team managed to look after you. I will share your comments with the team and especially our chef and Kerr at our next meeting.

I will look into the bedroom issues you mentioned and resolve them immediately.

Please contact us directly next time your in Edinburgh to arrange your booking.


Best Wishes


Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed in the hotel as part of an itison deal. Pleasantly surprised at how fantastic the Murrayfield house hotel was and it was great value for money.

The room was the nicest hotel room I've ever stayed in. The decor was stunning and the modern decor set the hotel to the highest standard.

Drinks and dinner in the restaurant was also top class as was the service received by all the staff.

I'd definitely recommend the hotel and I look forward to visiting again.

Top notch!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Littlemissquick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Hi Littlemissquick,

Many thanks for this fantastic review, your comments that our Murrayfield House was the best hotel you have ever stayed in means a great deal to us. Again, thank you. I will be sure to share your review with the team at our next meeting. We hope to be welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes,

Colin Brand – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Channings Hotel
#37 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murrayfield Hotel and House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murrayfield Hotel and House

Property: Murrayfield Hotel and House
Address: 18 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Murrayfield Hotel and House 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Murrayfield Hotel is located in Edinburgh City Centre with ample complimentary parking and free Wifi. The hotel is the perfect destination for business, leisure or family occasions. The Murrayfield Hotel combines fantastic hospitality, outstanding value for money and second to none homemade food, served in the traditional, friendly pub kitchen. Serving as a perfect base from which to explore the historical Edinburgh City Centre, the Murrayfield Hotel is just a couple of minutes away from Edinburgh Zoo (and its giant pandas), the national Murrayfield Stadium which frequently plays host to major live sporting events as well as music concerts, and Haymarket Train Station.With fine home cooked food, complimentary car parking, traditional pub, restaurant, sun trap beer garden and unparalleled Scottish hospitality, we create a true home away from home for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Murrayfield Hotel and House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murrayfield Hotel And Lodge
Murrayfield Hotel Edinburgh
Murrayfield Hotel And House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing