We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious dinner in a beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Ranked #38 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious dinner in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Had a really lovely dinner after work with some friends. The new decor is stunning, and the new menu certainly lived up to it! Relaxed atmosphere, good drinks menu and not to mention a great discount with the locals card!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenroseclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Hi jenroseclarke

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review! I'm so happy to hear that you like our new look after our recent refurbishment and that you had a wonderful experience with us in The Bothy. It's also great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our great locals card - they certainly are proving popular right now!

Come visit us again soon :-)

Best wishes,



Linda Keddie - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,034
    564
    192
    81
    41
See reviews for
275
1,004
63
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Just had a very pleasant Afternoon Tea. Love the new makeover the Bothy Bar has been given. Staff were very welcoming and attentive..more than ample,good quality home baking and CHILLED Prosecco ...easy access and parking. All in all just what was needed and excellent value. Thank You.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Good morning Margaret P,

Many thanks for taking the time to review over afternoon tea, it’s great to hear you had a pleasant experience with us and you loved the new look of our Bothy bar. I will certainly make a point of sharing this lovely feedback with the team, please come back and visit us again soon… we have lots more tasty home baking and chilled Prosecco to share with you! Have a great weekend,

Craig Brodie – Hotel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Before I chose to stay here, I had read the reviews and had been really looking forward to staying here as was my partner. Well....CHAOS is probably the only word to describe it. There was no one at reception when we entered.....stood there for about 10 mins before we had to go to the bar to fetch a bar tender to check us in!! Is this a hotel? Dinner seemed much better and the food was good, again service was a little patchy. However breakfast in the morning was shambolic....15 minute wait for tea....never anyone around to get their attention....and we watched a member of staff LOOK at and STEP OVER food waste on the floor TWICE!!! Maybe this was a one off but there are much better places to stay in the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Choccy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Good morning Choccy81,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us and for your valuable feedback on your experience with us. Your comments will be discussed at our weekly team meeting and measures put in place to ensure we address the level of service you have received during your stay with us.

This is not the service we would ever want to provide our guests and I can only apologise this, if you are ever returning to Edinburgh please let me know personally & directly. I would be delighted to show you the steps we have put in place following your review.

Best wishes,
Colin Brand – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed in Murrayfield House last week. The room is very quirky with the TV integrated into the mirrir. Unfortunately the TV channels did not work, we could only view BBC3. There were no windows although there was a door leading out to the garden. Could not open during the night as we were on ground floor. Air conditioning did not work well enought. Loved the Iod docking station playing music in the room and bathroom! Also thought the biscuits/chocolate/whisky minature were a lovely touch. I wish I had known there were GHD;s as I would not need to have packed mine! Pretty disappointed we were not in one of the rooms which had the bath tub :-( We probably would return again if we were in one of these rooms, with windows that could be opened. Breakfast was ok. The server Olga, was very pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clareb_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hi clareb_21,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us, it’s great to hear you found our Murrayfield House great value. I will certainly share your comments with Olga which she will be delighted to hear. I will have our maintenance team check out the TV reception and air-conditioning within the room as soon as possible, many thanks for bringing this to my attention. We hope to welcome you back soon,

Colin Brand – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here very recently and had a lovely time. It isn't far from the city centre and we walked to within about 20 minutes. Shops nearby and you can't miss it from the road.
The room was lovely. Bright, incredibly clean, warm, lots of room for clothes and bags, well finished, comfortable, a HUGE bed and a very cool bathroom.
There was a lot of nice little touches such as white company products, and a good choice of bar snacks and drinks (slightly pricey but to be expected).
The food at the hotel was very good and there was a good selection at breakfast and the evenings.
My only criticism is that if you have loud people staying in a neighbouring room, their noise can carry easily and if they are slightly worse for wear then banging etc carries right to your room.

Other than that really friendly staff and a very enjoyable stay for two days.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Hi Alex L,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such great feedback! It’s fantastic to hear yourself and girlfriend enjoyed your time with us, I’ll be sure to share this post with the team & kitchen. It was a pleasure to have you both as our guest.

Come visit again soon,

Colin Brand – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. very dissapointing! the level of service was awful. Receptionist was quite rude and unhelpful. We waited nearly an hour for breakfast on the second day and there were less people than the previous day. I would not stay here again, will look for a b&b if I ever go back to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suelloyd34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Hi suelloyd34,

Firstly, thank you for getting in touch with us. After reading your review I would like apologies for the service you have received, this is in no way a standard we would ever want deliver to our customers. I would like to discuss this personally if possible, if you could get in touch with me directly at murrayfield@centraledinburghhotels.co.uk & mark for my attention your time would be greatly appreciated. I look forward to hopefully hearing from you soon,

Craig Brodie – Hotel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here March 2014 and was initially confused by the name, it works out that the main hotel, reception, restaurant & bar are all in one building with additional accommodation a couple of hundred yards down the road in a separate house, don't be put off by this, in truth it's no different to having to walk from reception to your room in most large corporate type hotels.
Once you get to your room in the house you will not be disappointed, take It from a tired old travelling salesman this is something special, a sight for sore eyes!, a real hidden treasure. The room was large and beautifully decorated, from the huge bed with its crisp and fresh linen to the little touches like the hidden tv in the mirror or the complimentary Scotland's finest Tunnocks wafer biscuits and tea cakes.
The bathroom was amazing with a huge wet room type shower and hot tub style bath, other touches also included GHD hair straighteners and complimentary miniature whiskey, this is quite possibly the best room I have ever stayed in and fabulous value for money.
The main hotel has a great bar called the Bothy with a really good atmosphere, brilliant staff and some great tunes playing in the back ground. Finally I didn't eat in the restaurant as I had clients to entertain in the city centre which is only a £6 cab fare away, however I did have breakfast on the two mornings I stayed there, the traditional Scottish breakfast is a real treat and should not be missed.
Can't wait to come back! 10/10

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AndyJ1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Good morning AndyJ1965,

Many thanks for the 10/10 review! It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and great to read you appreciated all the little touches in our Luxe bedrooms at Murrayfield House. I will be sure to share this with our team at our meeting this week, again thank you. Please let us know directly if you would ever like to return & stay with us, have a great week…

Colin Brand – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,318 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,857 reviews
Channings Hotel
#37 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murrayfield Hotel and House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murrayfield Hotel and House

Property: Murrayfield Hotel and House
Address: 18 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Murrayfield Hotel and House 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Murrayfield Hotel is located in Edinburgh City Centre with ample complimentary parking and free Wifi. The hotel is the perfect destination for business, leisure or family occasions. The Murrayfield Hotel combines fantastic hospitality, outstanding value for money and second to none homemade food, served in the traditional, friendly pub kitchen. Serving as a perfect base from which to explore the historical Edinburgh City Centre, the Murrayfield Hotel is just a couple of minutes away from Edinburgh Zoo (and its giant pandas), the national Murrayfield Stadium which frequently plays host to major live sporting events as well as music concerts, and Haymarket Train Station.With fine home cooked food, complimentary car parking, traditional pub, restaurant, sun trap beer garden and unparalleled Scottish hospitality, we create a true home away from home for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Murrayfield Hotel and House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murrayfield Hotel And Lodge
Murrayfield Hotel Edinburgh
Murrayfield Hotel And House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing