We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happiness personified” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Murrayfield Hotel and House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Ranked #41 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Happiness personified”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Booked this hotel at last minute, they were carrying out some refurbishment work, but had everything well shuttered off, and no noise in the morning or night. Great rooms didn't eat there apart from breakfast which was really good, but it was the helpfulness of all the staff which was refreshing, couldn't do anything more for you. Would really recommend here and the location to get into Edinburgh was great, and for any rugby at Murrayfield it is obviously ideal, just wish the Scottish rugby team can get up to similar standards !

Room Tip: Go for one of the comfort rooms it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Hi Richard,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review! I'm so happy to hear that you found the staff here to be so helpful - I will make sure that each of them read your review.

I am also happy to hear that our current refurbishment work did not affect your stay with us - the next time you come to stay with us you will see our newly refurbished rooms.

Come visit us again soon :-)


Linda & The Murrayfield Hotel and House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    968
    537
    181
    76
    41
See reviews for
252
955
55
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We arrived with high expectations after reading positive reviews.....however the reality was rather disappointing. The radiator in the bathroom had no regulator and was so hot that you couldn't touch it. Subsequently it was like a sauna in there and very uncomfortable. All of the electrical appliances in the room were out of date for PAT testing. Most had not been tested for over two years leaving us doubting the safety of them. The telephone in the room didn't work and despite reporting this it wasn't fixed. The main door to the room had a hole in it. On a positive note the bar and restaurant were very good. Although this was little consolation in an overall disappointing experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi andyl227

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - I greatly appreciate all feedback and comments from our guests.

I apologise that you were disappointed by your stay - this is not the standard that we strive to achieve in trying to deliver an unforgettable stay for all of our guests. The maintenance issues that you mentioned are now being dealt with by our maintenance team, and I thank you for bringing them to my attention.

I would be grateful if you could contact me at murrayfield@centraledinburghhotels.co.uk to discuss this matter further.

Kind regards



Linda Keddie - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Always fancied this place - had a very nice burger and a couple of drinks on another sunny afternoon - this time in the amply proportioned beer garden. The burger was large and freshly made, the beer was the pub's own 'bothy ale' very light and refreshing. Our friends were working the following day otherwise we would certainly have been sampling more of the well stocked bars wares. I will be keeping this place in mind for the summer.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hi Nick C

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed our Bothy Ale and took advantage of the sunshine - our beer garden certainly proves to be popular on sunny afternoons!

Come back and visit us again soon.

Best wishes



Linda & The Murrayfield Hotel and House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Excellent accommodation, breakfast was everything you could want.
All staff very helpful. Even the bus drivers were helpful.
Would recommend this hotel to family and friends.
Ideally situated to use bus to visit all attractions.

Room Tip: Great stay will definitely use again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Hi Samantha B

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review! I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found all of the staff to be friendly and helpful. I'll be sure to show your review to all of the team. I will also pass on your kind comments to the kitchen - our breakfasts certainly provide a good start to your day!

Please contact me directly when you are next returning so that I can provide you with our best returners rate.

Best wishes


Linda and The Murrayfield Hotel and House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Allthough I stayed for a very short time in the Murrayfield Hotel, I enjoied it very much. Everything was perfect.Large confortable room with a great bathroom, absolute cleanliness, very friendly behavior of the stuff. Absolutely satisfied.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Vasileios P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Hi Vasileios P

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of your short stay with us. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff to be friendly - I'll make sure that they all read your review!

Please do let us know directly when you are coming back to visit us so that we can provide you with the best returners rate - hopefully you will be able to stay for more than one night next time!

Best wishes,



Linda & The Murrayfield Hotel and House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel along with my partner who was celebrating his 30th birthday , I had booked one of the Luxe Rooms within the house building and I had no faults at all. The room was very modern, clean and comfy with added extras ...
At a request the hotel had welcomed our arrival with cupcakes and birthday candles along with a birthday card from the hotel staff at no extra cost! We had dinner in the hotel restaurant again there were no complaints.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be going back sooner rather than later.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Hi Ashleigh P

Thank you for such a lovely review! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed our Luxe rooms within the House - they certainly are something special. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, and to play a small part in helping to celebrating your partners birthday!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon .... don't stay away too long!

Best wishes,



Linda Keddie - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Had a really lovely dinner after work with some friends. The new decor is stunning, and the new menu certainly lived up to it! Relaxed atmosphere, good drinks menu and not to mention a great discount with the locals card!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenroseclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Hi jenroseclarke

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review! I'm so happy to hear that you like our new look after our recent refurbishment and that you had a wonderful experience with us in The Bothy. It's also great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our great locals card - they certainly are proving popular right now!

Come visit us again soon :-)

Best wishes,



Linda Keddie - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Channings Hotel
#31 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murrayfield Hotel and House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murrayfield Hotel and House

Property: Murrayfield Hotel and House
Address: 18 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Murrayfield Hotel and House 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Murrayfield Hotel is located in Edinburgh City Centre with ample complimentary parking and free Wifi. The hotel is the perfect destination for business, leisure or family occasions. The Murrayfield Hotel combines fantastic hospitality, outstanding value for money and second to none homemade food, served in the traditional, friendly pub kitchen. Serving as a perfect base from which to explore the historical Edinburgh City Centre, the Murrayfield Hotel is just a couple of minutes away from Edinburgh Zoo (and its giant pandas), the national Murrayfield Stadium which frequently plays host to major live sporting events as well as music concerts, and Haymarket Train Station.With fine home cooked food, complimentary car parking, traditional pub, restaurant, sun trap beer garden and unparalleled Scottish hospitality, we create a true home away from home for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Murrayfield Hotel and House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murrayfield Hotel And Lodge
Murrayfield Hotel Edinburgh
Murrayfield Hotel And House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing