We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, some lowlights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Ranked #35 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We were in one of the not yet refurbished rooms. Loose and broken floor tiles in the otherwise nice bathroom made it a less nice experience. Staff at the reception was great. Staff in the restaurant for breakfast a no go. Orders took very long, quite unfriendly and unorganised personnel. The buffet offered a rather small selection.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wolfgang E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Hi Wolfgang E,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review; I appreciate all feedback provided by guests.

I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay, or that I was able to speak to you directly before you departed. As you noted, not all of our rooms have yet been refurbished, and I will alert the Maintenance department to the floor tiles in your bathroom in order to have this issue rectified urgently.

I also apologise for the service that you received during breakfast times. I have passed on your comments to the General Manager of The Bothy and he will investigate your comments fully. I am happy to hear however, that you found the reception team to be great, and will ensure that each of them take the time to read your kind comment.

Please do contact me directly when you are next returning so that I can ensure you are allocated one of our newly refurbished rooms.

Kind regards


Linda Keddie - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,604 - 1,610 of 2,162 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel has clean rooms but the rooms have no ventilation and thus become very stuffy. I had to keep the door open for almost 1 hour to let the foul air out. There are no phones in the room so even for ordering, one needs to go down.

Room Tip: Being on the main road and near the airport is a benefit. airlink buses from the airport drop close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kppmumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Good evening kppmumbai,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of your stay with us; I appreciate all feedback provided to us by our guests.

I am saddened to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay with us and I would be grateful if you could contact me directly at murrayfield@centraledinburghhotels.co.uk to discuss your stay further.

Best wishes,


Linda Keddie - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights during the Commonwealth Games 2014 and it was reasonably priced. The room was well appointed and comfortable, an added bonus was the Tunnocks Caramel Wafers provided with the tea and coffee. The breakfast was good value for money and staff were very helpful and friendly. the transport links made it cheap and easy to get into the centre of the city with buses running every 5mins from near the hotel - just make sure you have change. The Bothy bar, linked to the hotel was a pleasant place for a meal and a drink too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RSib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Good morning RSib,

Thank you for such a great review! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the Caramel Wafers to be an extra bonus (they are one of my personal favourites!).

We certainly feel that we are situated in a great wee spot, so it's always lovely to hear that our guests are able to take advantage of it with the fantastic local transport system from almost right outside our door.

I do hope that we will see you again soon - remember to contact us directly to ensure the best returners rate. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back at anytime.

Best wishes,



Linda & The Murrayfield Hotel and House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

sadly could only stay one night here. all was perfect! restful and extremely clean. room was one of the smaller budget rooms but was impeccibly clean. professional staff,. great food. the bar and restaurant were lovly and service was excellent.

Room Tip: late booking got a great rate with a budget- sized room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Pyromomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Hi Pyromomma,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review! I'm so happy to hear that you found your stay to be perfect, with both the room and The Bothy. I will make sure that all the staff take the time to read your fantastic comments.

Please do contact me directly when you are next returning so that I can provide the best returners rate for you.

Best wishes,



Linda & The Murrayfield Hotel and House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the murrayfield hotel for 2 nights and we had a great experience.
The room was lovely and clean with attention to details.
The breakfast was very good and the bar next to the hotel has very good staff; we had our dinner there as well and it was very good!
The location is great: 10 mins by bus from the city centre and there is a bus running every 10 mins in front of the hotel going to the airport in less than half an hour.
Unfortunately I didn't fell good the first night of our stay but all the members of the staff tried their best to help me and make me comfortable!
Everyone was very friendly and professional! Thank You!
We would recommend the murrayfield hotel to everyone, a great location from which you can start discovering a wonderful city as Edinburgh.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GiadiBi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Hi GiadiBi,

Wow - thank you for such a fantastic review of your recent stay here with us! I'm delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us, and that you were able to take advantage of our great local transport system to get you around the city.

I do hope that you are feeling better, and am happy to hear that the staff were able to help you feel more comfortable during your stay. I will make sure that each of the staff take the time to read your lovely comments. I have also passed on your comments to the kitchen team and they were delighted to hear that you enjoyed both breakfast and dinner.

I do hope to see you here again soon - remember to contact us directly to ensure the best returners rate.

Best wishes,



Linda & The Murrayfield Hotel and House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We booked after reading the Trip Advisor reviews & we were not disappointed. So glad we booked this place!
Absolutely gorgeous interiors- very clean, & modern with a few old fashioned twists.
The room had a big flat screen tv (which the other half was super impressed with!), tea & coffee making faculties were great- with filter coffee & even some lovely caramel wafers :)
It has an attached restaurant & bar which is nice.
We slept wonderfully- the bed was SO comfy!
The hotel is in a prime location. It's about a 3 minute drive, just the right distance away from the main streets to avoid the hustle & bustle.
All in all a perfect hotel. This place knows how to make guest happy & it set us up for a fantastic trip in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Hi Kay N,

Wow - thank you for such a brilliant review! I'm so happy to hear that you had such a fantastic stay with us - and that you enjoyed the little extras that we add to each of the rooms (the caramel wafers are my favourite!).

It's great to hear that our guests are able to take advantage of our great location, and we have a fantastic local transport system from right outside our door.

I do hope that we will see you again soon - remember to contact us directly when you are next returning.

Don't stay away too long ...

Best wishes,



Linda & The Murrayfield Hotel and House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

A little further out but great bus links into the center and airport. You will need exact change for the buses though - £1.50 single, £3.50 day rider. The room was small but cute and modern, it was perfect for our stay as we were out a lot. Bed was very comfortable and complementary water and tea cakes was appreciated. Only thing stopped full marks is that we had to wait a long time to be served at the bar whenever we went however i think there was a lot of new staff on. Thanks for a nice stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Hi Elizabeth T,

Thank you for leaving such a great review of your recent stay with us! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our great location. The complimentary teacakes go down a storm with all of our guests too!

I do apologise for the wait you experienced whilst waiting to be served at The Bothy and have passed your comments on to the General Manager.

Please contact us directly when you are next returning, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back anytime.

Best wishes,


Linda & The Murrayfield Hotel and House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#4 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,056 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,438 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#85 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,292 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,051 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murrayfield Hotel and House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murrayfield Hotel and House

Address: 18 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £48 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Murrayfield Hotel and House 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Murrayfield Hotel is located in Edinburgh City Centre with ample complimentary parking and free Wifi. The hotel is the perfect destination for business, leisure or family occasions. The Murrayfield Hotel combines fantastic hospitality, outstanding value for money and second to none homemade food, served in the traditional, friendly pub kitchen. Serving as a perfect base from which to explore the historical Edinburgh City Centre, the Murrayfield Hotel is just a couple of minutes away from Edinburgh Zoo (and its giant pandas), the national Murrayfield Stadium which frequently plays host to major live sporting events as well as music concerts, and Haymarket Train Station.With fine home cooked food, complimentary car parking, traditional pub, restaurant, sun trap beer garden and unparalleled Scottish hospitality, we create a true home away from home for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Murrayfield Hotel and House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murrayfield Hotel And Lodge
Murrayfield Hotel Edinburgh
Murrayfield Hotel And House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing