We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Any place, any town...”
Review of Ocean Terminal

Ocean Terminal
Book In Advance
More Info
US$20.45*
and up
The Royal Yacht Britannia
Ranked #103 of 399 things to do in Edinburgh
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A leisure and shopping complex in Edinburgh's revamped port that includes a 12-screen movie theater.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Any place, any town...”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

If it wasn't for visiting Britannia I don't think we'd have bothered to be perfectly honest.

A very average looking shopping center with a pretty poor selection of shops and the usual tourist tat! We wanted to eat after visiting Britannia but to be honest the choice was poor. We ended up in Frankie and Benny's as the main dining area appeared bereft of food despite it being lunchtime... the best thing about that was we could look at Britannia out of the window and also a submarine!

In short, yes you have to pass through on the way to Britannia but other than that, don't bother, there is far better available elsewhere!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank short_rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    119
    148
    64
    18
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not great, cinema is the best thing about it!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Never really understand why people travel here for shops as the selection is very poor and the restaurant selection isn't much better. We occasionally go to the cinema as it is cheaper on certain days! But as there isn't much else to do, especially late night, we try to go somewhere with a bit more atmosphere!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinbugh
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Used to be good”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Sorry but big disappointment today , we always go here when we are in Edinburgh , it's lost its way Although it was lunch time the offer was poor , I opted for chilli and my wife had burger
Chilli and rice cooked to death , plastic burger with very plastic cheese slice.
Terrible service at bar by the time we got served the mains were cold .cake offer was also poor too This site deserves better as it's got best views in Edinburgh, also noticeably quieter than it used to be . Need to reinvent and make the place exciting again .

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank F C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Gruesome”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Spent 5 minutes here off the hop-on hop-off bus and that was more than enough. Plastic food, expensive clothes shops and if you ignore the Scottish tourist tat available for less in the town you could be in any one of a thousand other shopping malls scattered around the world. As for the Britannia you can't get near it unless you're prepared to pay £14 for a tour and on the other three sides there are ugly apartment and office developments.How the city council thought this development was a reasonable idea beats me. You'd be betteroff spending your money in one of the excellent bars abd restaurants available in Leith.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinsler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The staff ignore customers”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Wanted a drink here today and yo sit and look out over docks. We're completely ignored by 2 staff members who repeatedly walked past us. Will never darken their premises again. Walked 100 yards to Bella Italian and served straight away and had a seat overlooking the docks.

They don't deserve their jobs these 2 members of staff.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank borthwickdene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Terminal also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Ocean Terminal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing