We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Festival fever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Ranked #72 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two days at the end of Edinburgh Fringe festival - it was great to know that I was returning to a clean and comfortable hotel at the end of a long day. The rooms are a good size and the facilities are super - if you fancy a dip in the pool at the beginning or end of the day its all at your disposal. The staff are friendly and the breakfast menu in substantial. Its a hotel that I will use again when visitor Edinburgh which is a fabulous place to see. The hotel is located about a 10 minute walk from the centre of town - but is around 5 minutes from the castle so its easy to plan your day trips out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAJ28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Novotel Edinburgh Centre. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,601)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Edinburgh Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,339 - 1,345 of 2,601 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel as part of a tour group and I must say I was impressed. The room was fantastic and the location was brilliant. Only a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile which was great for the Military Tattoo. The staff at this hotel were brilliant as well. There was a minor mix up with the Laundry Service which was fixed by the reception staff in no time at all. I was also a little sick during my stay and needed quite a lot of water which the staff ensured was in good supply in my room. Overall a great stay and a great start to a trip around Scotland.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Russ_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

A typical run of the mill corporate hotel, with all you could need in the room. Comfy bed and extra pillows.The hotel was also quite at night which is a rarity these days TV selection could do with more channels. Not far to walk to the castle. Spa facilities on site. Breakfast plentiful and pleasant , no crowds whilst I was there. Would stay again without issue if needs be

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wazza99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The hotel is approx 15 mins walk from Waverley Station.
Couple of minor negatives first
1) Lack of storage in the bedrooms but if your only staying a couple of nights like ourselves then its just about adequate
2) For a major hotel chain thought the TV choice was poor, accept you don't plan to stay in the room a lot but when your in your room you at least want to have a reasonable choice of program's
However the pluses outweighed the above areas the hotel is modern, the rooms large, clean and tidy, service from the staff was good, leisure facilities were small but adequate and the hotel is ideally located to visit the main areas which were all within approx 15 - 20 minutes
Didn't eat at the hotel but there are numerous bars and restraints approx 10 mins walk from the hotel which provide a good choice

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you had a pleasant stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I stayed here with my husband, my daughter and her partner to see the final showing of the Tattoo. We expected to pay more than usual as we stayed during the Fringe festival and the Tattoo but I have to say we were expecting alot better. The double room was standard but lacking the extras that some cheaper rooms have, plain white bed linen being noticeable. The room was ok but showing signs if wear and tear. Within 5 minutes of getting the room my husband went to the loo and we had to phone reception as in there he found excrement smeared on the toilet wall. A porter came to the room within a few minutes and cleaned it off but you really dont expect to find the cleaning so lacking!
Theres a small pool, jacuzzi and sauna which was nice. The breakfast was average, husband said it was very good, but the self service area was too small and there were lengthy queues. To park the car we had a 10 minute walk to the car park but did get overnight parking at a reduced rate. Our room overlooked the bins and was noisy. All in all not at all what we expected for the price when I've stayed in better for half the price of £150 for one night. Wont be booking again!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We have investigated your comments, our Housekeeping department has stringent procedures in place which are reviewed periodically with the team. It is our hope that you will allow us an opportunity to serve you better in the near future. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed in the hotel for business during the Fringe festival. Rooms are spacious and clean. The bathroom had both a bad and shower and all the needed amenities. The only minor was that breakfasts were very busy due to several tour busses leaving at the same time, however there was definitely no shortage (food, drinks, fruit,..) in any way and the service was fast and friendly. Nice hotel and would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Kristof M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Thank you for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The Novotel is clean and conveniently located to the Castle and the Royal Mile; however, it is not a 4-star property. The rooms are tiny. Our room had a view of the back alley and rubbish bins. The breakfast buffet is adequate, but not extravagant (i.e., scrambled eggs, pre-made waffles, some fruit, some breads, yogurt). When we arrived at the hotel at 1:00 A.M., we found that our room had been made up with the sofa bed pulled out (even though we were only a couple). With the sofa bed out, there was no possibility of moving around the room or accessing one side of the bed, so we partially collapsed the sofa bed (to get it out of the way). The bed in the room has a hard mattress and is really uncomfortable (although the first night we were so tired, we could have slept on a rock--oh, we did!) I also think the staff is tired, as no one was particularly friendly. Apparently, the Trafalgar tour bus company uses the hotel regularly and there were always hoards of people waiting in the lobby. This hotel was too expensive for the value given and I was frankly disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyrelaxeddudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness. Please feel free to contact me on H3271-GM@ACCOR.COM to discuss this further. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#75 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,237 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,533 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Address: 80 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#39 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £81 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Edinburgh Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel in the centre of Edinburgh. Perfect for a holiday in the Scottish capital, close to Edinburgh Castle and the lively Grassmarket Area, 10 min walk from Princes Street shopping and the Royal Mile. The famous Arthurs Seat is 15 min walk away and Edinburgh International Airport 15 min drive. Relax with friends or family and enjoy Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, gym and whirlpool. Limited pay parking. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing