We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Edinburgh Novotel Lauriston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Ranked #73 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

2,482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    806
    1,098
    421
    116
    41
See reviews for
750
916
117
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Renfrewshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend last night and found the customer service from the lady at the desk terrible. One of the reasons we booked this hotel was because it had parking but when we arrived at 1.30pm there were no spaces left and the only option we had was to pay for street parking!! The receptionist did not care and told us there was nothing she could do.

The room was worn and there were dirty marks on the carpets and curtains. There were two long hairs in the bath which meant I couldn't use it and when I went to use the shower there were more hairs on the shower and on the tiles- it was disgusting. When I mentioned this to the receptionist at check out she just shrugged and said they are understaffed!! I don't think this is a valid excuse when paying nearly £150 to stay here for 1 night!

There was also a constant humming noise which sounded like an extractor fan or something going on all night which resulted in us both having a broken sleep,

On check put the receptionist asked if we used anything from the mini bar (the fridge only had 2 bottles of still and 2 bottles of sparking water) and I said we drank 2 bottles of water but I assumed it was complimentary as there was no price list. I said this to her and she accused me of lying and said there is a price list in every room. By this point I just wanted to leave and paid for the water but I have never received such terrible customer service in my life.

I will never stay with the Novotel again!

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaylz440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for your comments and apologise for your disappointment, we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times and find it good value. The staff are always friendly, breakfast is to a good standard and bar prices are not extorniate. I have always found the rooms clean and spacious, the only grumble I would have is that the mattresses are not that comfortable - ok for one night. Overall a good location at a good price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We have taken note of your constructive feedback about mattress and will certainly investigate further.
Look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed with friends for three nights. This is a really good hotel and very good value. Booked through Hotels.com and got a great deal. Rack rate seems very high. Reception staff were very friendly. Breakfast was good with a buffet of cooked foods, fruit, cereal, various breads and bakery products etc.
I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it as a good city centre hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela5601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed here for a business trip along with a colleague of mine. We had problems on check in as they could not find my colleague's name on the system and insisted he wasn't booked in. Eventually after some messing around they found that his name had been spelt wrong. Then they wanted to pre-charge my card on arrival even though the room was booked for on account. I explained this to them and again after some typing on the computer they eventually resolved the error.

The room was nice and spacious although the layout was a little confusing. The toilet was separate to the rest of the bathroom right by the bedroom door which I found quite awkward. They should at least have another sink in the toilet for you to wash your hands! Otherwise the room was fine.

Breakfast was adequate. I came down at 7am (breakfast was advertised to start at this time) and there were a few people already down. They was no-one to greet me though and I ended up waiting several minutes before someone showed me to a table. I then had to wait a while before I could grab the attention of someone to ask for a pot of tea. I waited another 10 minutes or so before this was eventually brought out to me. The staff seemed too busy laying the table with cutlery etc. although they really should have been focusing their attention on the guests who were already down for breakfast at that time.

On check on I was again prompted for payment of my room and again had to remind them that the room was booked for on account. After several minutes of typing away the receptionist called over her colleague and asked for assistance. She told her that yes my room was booked for on account. There was no apology even after I explained I had the same problem when checking in.

All in all it seems the customer service is lacking somewhat and they are not geared up towards business guests which is disappointing. I have used several other Accor hotels in the past which have been excellent but unfortunately this one doesn't quite live up to their usual standards.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for your comments, we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Check in, a lovely young dark haired girl, very helpful and friendly. Her colleague however, the complete opposite ( short man, dark haired, black glasses) miserable, unsmiling.
We had a basic room which is just that, VERY basic with a toytown toilet cubicle,which seemed like a coffin if you closed the door but let's just say that the other option of leaving it open wasn't very pleasant either as the toilet is then in the bedroom! The tiniest open wardrobe (for dolls clothes perhaps) a very low bed, small shower cubicle and sink area.....all in all seemed like a room designed for Hobbits. Everything in the room was done on the cheap, curtains were dirty and holey, carpet dirty and just generally felt like a budget hotel rather than one which cost £129
The bed has a thin, very hard mattress, the duvet, lumpy and the pillows wafer thin.
The sofa was the same....rock hard and very uncomfortable.
The hearing wasn't working, on arriving back from a day out freezing I put it to 30 degrees for a quick blast of heat....nothing! Didn't get the engineer to have a look as we were going back out I an hour or so.

The car parking is an absolute joke! Space for only a few cars and only if you have a noddy car as not much else can fit in and allow you to open your door to get out.........the fee is £15 PER EXIT.......we only took our car out on departure so cannot tell you if it really means that........so if you plan on using your car several time during your stay in this hotel it could end up costing you more than your trip is check that out with the hotel before you book.

It is hard to find any positives about this hotel......only the staff (with the exception of the aforementioned chap on reception)have saved me scoring it a zero..... Everyone else I came into contact with were perfectly pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rightdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating this matter. Please feel to contact me at h3271-fo1@accor.com

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The hotel and rooms were very tidy and comfortable, no complaints. We stopped here to attend a show at Usher Hall, which is just down the road, the hotel was also in a good central location to visit the city. We didn't eat in the restaurant or visit the bar as we found the price of the breakfast to be a little expensive, so we went elsewhere, which was no problem.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fowler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#82 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#84 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,306 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Property: Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Address: 80 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Edinburgh Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel in the centre of Edinburgh. Perfect for a holiday in the Scottish capital, close to Edinburgh Castle and the lively Grassmarket Area, 10 min walk from Princes Street shopping and the Royal Mile. The famous Arthurs Seat is 15 min walk away and Edinburgh International Airport 15 min drive. Relax with friends or family and enjoy Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, gym and whirlpool. Limited pay parking. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing