We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleased - Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Ranked #74 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Pleased - Great Value”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My wife and I have visited Edinburgh many times before but this the first time we have stayed in the Novotel there. I am very happy to report that the next time we are in Edinburgh (at New Year) we will booking this hotel again. The location is really good and you can walk to Princes street in 10-15 mins, the Grassmarket in 5 mins and the Royal mile in 10 minutes, how good is that ? The staff we very helpful and nothing seemed to much trouble and they always seemd genuinely please to help out. The room was very spacious and well appointed, I always like having a proper seat to use when watching TV and of course all these rooms have that. The breakfast was nice, the usual fairly standard (full English) and as we were offered a discount price when we booked in I think a very acceptable price (over £15 would be too much). If I had one very small complaint it would be it would because the pool is directly below the reception sometimes the smell of the chlorine can be a bit potent. That it is really only during the few minutes you are actually in the reception area. As I said, we had a very pleasant stay there and we intend using this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Novotel Edinburgh Centre. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    806
    1,098
    421
    116
    41
See reviews for
750
916
117
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Overall a very good stay. We were in one of their queen suites which was a good size and nice having the extra living space. The carpet could do with replacing as it is very worn and tired looking.

Car parking was ideal - as we were there for the weekend it was great value at only £15.

The breakfast was good although selection was slightly limited and some of the items (waffles in particular) were pretty hard as though they had been sitting out for a while.

Overall, a good value for money stay and despite the couple of negatives, I would recommend and stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room to ensure you get the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thanks for your constructive feedback. I will definately look into the issues you have mentioned.
I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Lovely welcome
Parking a pain as with all city hotels
Upgraded when we booked in - nice.
All staff lovely
Room clean and comfy - kids complained about the fold down sofa which did have a steel bar through it vertically.
Relaxed and attentive hotel.
Leisure facilities clean, warm and enough to unwind in after a six hour drive. - kids loved it.
Don't expect to do a challenging swim - 18m long - Relax.
Great location - everywhere walkable.
Everything for breakfast and super mushrooms - great attentive service.
They do actually care how you are.
Return - definitely, especially for what we paid for direct with Novotel.

Room Tip: from 435 we could see the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GL57308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renfrewshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend last night and found the customer service from the lady at the desk terrible. One of the reasons we booked this hotel was because it had parking but when we arrived at 1.30pm there were no spaces left and the only option we had was to pay for street parking!! The receptionist did not care and told us there was nothing she could do.

The room was worn and there were dirty marks on the carpets and curtains. There were two long hairs in the bath which meant I couldn't use it and when I went to use the shower there were more hairs on the shower and on the tiles- it was disgusting. When I mentioned this to the receptionist at check out she just shrugged and said they are understaffed!! I don't think this is a valid excuse when paying nearly £150 to stay here for 1 night!

There was also a constant humming noise which sounded like an extractor fan or something going on all night which resulted in us both having a broken sleep,

On check put the receptionist asked if we used anything from the mini bar (the fridge only had 2 bottles of still and 2 bottles of sparking water) and I said we drank 2 bottles of water but I assumed it was complimentary as there was no price list. I said this to her and she accused me of lying and said there is a price list in every room. By this point I just wanted to leave and paid for the water but I have never received such terrible customer service in my life.

I will never stay with the Novotel again!

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaylz440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for your comments and apologise for your disappointment, we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times and find it good value. The staff are always friendly, breakfast is to a good standard and bar prices are not extorniate. I have always found the rooms clean and spacious, the only grumble I would have is that the mattresses are not that comfortable - ok for one night. Overall a good location at a good price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We have taken note of your constructive feedback about mattress and will certainly investigate further.
Look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed with friends for three nights. This is a really good hotel and very good value. Booked through Hotels.com and got a great deal. Rack rate seems very high. Reception staff were very friendly. Breakfast was good with a buffet of cooked foods, fruit, cereal, various breads and bakery products etc.
I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it as a good city centre hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela5601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#82 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#83 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,307 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Property: Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Address: 80 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Edinburgh Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel in the centre of Edinburgh. Perfect for a holiday in the Scottish capital, close to Edinburgh Castle and the lively Grassmarket Area, 10 min walk from Princes Street shopping and the Royal Mile. The famous Arthurs Seat is 15 min walk away and Edinburgh International Airport 15 min drive. Relax with friends or family and enjoy Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, gym and whirlpool. Limited pay parking. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing