We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent new property in otherwise old Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Ranked #73 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Surat
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent new property in otherwise old Edinburgh”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I stayed at Novotel Edinburgh centre in first week of October 2013. Its a nice modern hotel stands out in otherwise age old hotels and buildings of Edinburgh. Excellent swimming pool at basement level. Very good buffet breakfast with caring kitchen staff - as usual at Novotel properties.
Rooms are clean and equipped with modern facilities.
Location is OK - Edinburgh is a small place and everything is close by.
Toilet was very small.

Room Tip: Road facing room in noisy till 9 pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Novotel Edinburgh Centre. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    1,116
    422
    117
    41
See reviews for
758
933
118
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
417 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I really, really enjoyed my stay here. Everything went well, from the very friendly welcome from the young lady at Reception through to my checkout. I cannot think of a single complaint (not like me, that!)

The location was good, I thought. Certainly perfectly safe, even at night. It is not bang in the centre but is within a fairly easy 10 or 15 minute walk of everything. You will need a taxi to and from the stations, though, if you have luggage (whether Waverley or Haymarket, as both are a full mile away.) My room had a fantastic view of Edinburgh castle and felt really spacious, with a separate WC and bathroom. I know some people dislike having the toilet separate, but I think it works really well in the morning if there are two of you, especially if your other half is a shower hogger like mine! The bed was perhaps a little on the hard side but I slept perfectly well.

One reason I like Novotels is the excellent food and wine, and again they did not disappoint. Both evening meals I had were delicious. The bar is also more pleasant than the majority of hotel bars tend to be, with a very nice barman (Tommy, I think he was called.) I didn't really have time to try out the leisure facilities, but had a look at them and thought they seemed very good - a nice warm plunge pool and a small swimming pool. All very clean and well kept.

I would be more than happy to return and stay here if travelling up to Edinburgh again, whether for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfuhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

good comfortable hotel , with ressturanet and pool, but not quite in the right place. it's several from the EICC (conference centr) and the many attractions of Ediburgh and 15-20 from Wverley or Hymarket railway stations. And perhaps not the best place to be after dark?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank xxxxxxxxxxx90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable. Look forward to welcome you back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My wife and I have visited Edinburgh many times before but this the first time we have stayed in the Novotel there. I am very happy to report that the next time we are in Edinburgh (at New Year) we will booking this hotel again. The location is really good and you can walk to Princes street in 10-15 mins, the Grassmarket in 5 mins and the Royal mile in 10 minutes, how good is that ? The staff we very helpful and nothing seemed to much trouble and they always seemd genuinely please to help out. The room was very spacious and well appointed, I always like having a proper seat to use when watching TV and of course all these rooms have that. The breakfast was nice, the usual fairly standard (full English) and as we were offered a discount price when we booked in I think a very acceptable price (over £15 would be too much). If I had one very small complaint it would be it would because the pool is directly below the reception sometimes the smell of the chlorine can be a bit potent. That it is really only during the few minutes you are actually in the reception area. As I said, we had a very pleasant stay there and we intend using this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Novotel Edinburgh Centre. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Overall a very good stay. We were in one of their queen suites which was a good size and nice having the extra living space. The carpet could do with replacing as it is very worn and tired looking.

Car parking was ideal - as we were there for the weekend it was great value at only £15.

The breakfast was good although selection was slightly limited and some of the items (waffles in particular) were pretty hard as though they had been sitting out for a while.

Overall, a good value for money stay and despite the couple of negatives, I would recommend and stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room to ensure you get the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thanks for your constructive feedback. I will definately look into the issues you have mentioned.
I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Lovely welcome
Parking a pain as with all city hotels
Upgraded when we booked in - nice.
All staff lovely
Room clean and comfy - kids complained about the fold down sofa which did have a steel bar through it vertically.
Relaxed and attentive hotel.
Leisure facilities clean, warm and enough to unwind in after a six hour drive. - kids loved it.
Don't expect to do a challenging swim - 18m long - Relax.
Great location - everywhere walkable.
Everything for breakfast and super mushrooms - great attentive service.
They do actually care how you are.
Return - definitely, especially for what we paid for direct with Novotel.

Room Tip: from 435 we could see the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GL57308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#82 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,135 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Property: Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Address: 80 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Edinburgh Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel in the centre of Edinburgh. Perfect for a holiday in the Scottish capital, close to Edinburgh Castle and the lively Grassmarket Area, 10 min walk from Princes Street shopping and the Royal Mile. The famous Arthurs Seat is 15 min walk away and Edinburgh International Airport 15 min drive. Relax with friends or family and enjoy Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, gym and whirlpool. Limited pay parking. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Lastminute, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing