We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 2 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Ranked #71 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights over a weekend and whilst there made use of all the facilities available. We booked months in advance so got a really good price. Clean, modern, comfortable. Breakfast was really good and set us up for the day. Made use of the pool, sauna and steam room too which was lovely, and again great value considering our advance rates. A good location for all the sights of Edinburgh. Would stay again and recommend.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lucyer321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,334 - 1,340 of 2,686 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

I stayed at Novotel Edinburgh centre in first week of October 2013. Its a nice modern hotel stands out in otherwise age old hotels and buildings of Edinburgh. Excellent swimming pool at basement level. Very good buffet breakfast with caring kitchen staff - as usual at Novotel properties.
Rooms are clean and equipped with modern facilities.
Location is OK - Edinburgh is a small place and everything is close by.
Toilet was very small.

Room Tip: Road facing room in noisy till 9 pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Novotel Edinburgh Centre. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I really, really enjoyed my stay here. Everything went well, from the very friendly welcome from the young lady at Reception through to my checkout. I cannot think of a single complaint (not like me, that!)

The location was good, I thought. Certainly perfectly safe, even at night. It is not bang in the centre but is within a fairly easy 10 or 15 minute walk of everything. You will need a taxi to and from the stations, though, if you have luggage (whether Waverley or Haymarket, as both are a full mile away.) My room had a fantastic view of Edinburgh castle and felt really spacious, with a separate WC and bathroom. I know some people dislike having the toilet separate, but I think it works really well in the morning if there are two of you, especially if your other half is a shower hogger like mine! The bed was perhaps a little on the hard side but I slept perfectly well.

One reason I like Novotels is the excellent food and wine, and again they did not disappoint. Both evening meals I had were delicious. The bar is also more pleasant than the majority of hotel bars tend to be, with a very nice barman (Tommy, I think he was called.) I didn't really have time to try out the leisure facilities, but had a look at them and thought they seemed very good - a nice warm plunge pool and a small swimming pool. All very clean and well kept.

I would be more than happy to return and stay here if travelling up to Edinburgh again, whether for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfuhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

good comfortable hotel , with ressturanet and pool, but not quite in the right place. it's several from the EICC (conference centr) and the many attractions of Ediburgh and 15-20 from Wverley or Hymarket railway stations. And perhaps not the best place to be after dark?

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank xxxxxxxxxxx90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable. Look forward to welcome you back soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My wife and I have visited Edinburgh many times before but this the first time we have stayed in the Novotel there. I am very happy to report that the next time we are in Edinburgh (at New Year) we will booking this hotel again. The location is really good and you can walk to Princes street in 10-15 mins, the Grassmarket in 5 mins and the Royal mile in 10 minutes, how good is that ? The staff we very helpful and nothing seemed to much trouble and they always seemd genuinely please to help out. The room was very spacious and well appointed, I always like having a proper seat to use when watching TV and of course all these rooms have that. The breakfast was nice, the usual fairly standard (full English) and as we were offered a discount price when we booked in I think a very acceptable price (over £15 would be too much). If I had one very small complaint it would be it would because the pool is directly below the reception sometimes the smell of the chlorine can be a bit potent. That it is really only during the few minutes you are actually in the reception area. As I said, we had a very pleasant stay there and we intend using this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Novotel Edinburgh Centre. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Overall a very good stay. We were in one of their queen suites which was a good size and nice having the extra living space. The carpet could do with replacing as it is very worn and tired looking.

Car parking was ideal - as we were there for the weekend it was great value at only £15.

The breakfast was good although selection was slightly limited and some of the items (waffles in particular) were pretty hard as though they had been sitting out for a while.

Overall, a good value for money stay and despite the couple of negatives, I would recommend and stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room to ensure you get the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thanks for your constructive feedback. I will definately look into the issues you have mentioned.
I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Lovely welcome
Parking a pain as with all city hotels
Upgraded when we booked in - nice.
All staff lovely
Room clean and comfy - kids complained about the fold down sofa which did have a steel bar through it vertically.
Relaxed and attentive hotel.
Leisure facilities clean, warm and enough to unwind in after a six hour drive. - kids loved it.
Don't expect to do a challenging swim - 18m long - Relax.
Great location - everywhere walkable.
Everything for breakfast and super mushrooms - great attentive service.
They do actually care how you are.
Return - definitely, especially for what we paid for direct with Novotel.

Room Tip: from 435 we could see the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GL57308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#74 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,321 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,747 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,614 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Address: 80 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £61 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Edinburgh Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel in the centre of Edinburgh. Perfect for a holiday in the Scottish capital, close to Edinburgh Castle and the lively Grassmarket Area, 10 min walk from Princes Street shopping and the Royal Mile. The famous Arthurs Seat is 15 min walk away and Edinburgh International Airport 15 min drive. Relax with friends or family and enjoy Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, gym and whirlpool. Limited pay parking. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing