We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Ranked #76 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Well-run hotel”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay, thought it was great value for money, and would happily return. The only reason for not giving a 5* rating is the room design. They've crammed a lot into a small space, but the result (at least in our room) is that the sitting area is large, but the area closer to the bathroom is cramped and it felt a bit hazardous squeezing between the bed and the wall to get between the small toilet and the small bathroom to wash your hands. Other than that it's all quite cleverly done, with more room facilities than I expected for the price I paid, spotlessly clean and well-maintained. We heard no noise from adjoining rooms or from outside, and we had a lovely view from the 4th floor of the castle (requested in advance, with a fast and personal response to my emails). The big windows (that can be opened) let in plenty of light.

The hotel itself is very well run. Every encounter with staff was pleasant and professional, and it looked as if a lot of thought was put into providing a good service. We noticed that food that a guest had dropped in our corridor was cleaned up very quickly, and the common areas throughout the hotel looked fresh and well-maintained, with lots of light. Wifi (free in rooms + common areas) worked well for us, the bar was pleasant with a good choice of sports channels but also quieter non-TV areas, and although we didn't have time to use the leisure facilities the pool area looked nice. Check-in and check-out was efficient, friendly and helpful.

We didn't eat in the hotel, but the menus looked interesting and varied, and the dining area looked fine for a casual meal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripbiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I have taken note of your comment about layout of the room and apologise for your disappointment.

I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.


Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    820
    1,126
    424
    117
    44
See reviews for
764
944
118
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Positives: convenient position and excellent staff. Surprisingly well presented breakfast.

Negatives:

1. the room. Has to be the worst room layout in any hotel we have ever stayed in. Added to which the level of maintenance was despicable. Especially in bathroom...tap loose and away from wall, basin plugs that wouldn't stay in position, damaged mirror, bath tap missing head (dangerously so).

2. a hair drier that looked as though should be out in a skip, a tv remote remote that had no battery cover, poor tv/radio channels (not radio 4 e.g.) and a pretty awful view.

We have photos of these in case hotels chooses to disagree.

We spoke with the duty manager who readily accepted the faults. As only there for one more night didn't ask to move rooms (nor was it offered) but rather expected that a bottle of wine of some flowers might appear just as a notional recognition. They did not.

3. The pool..one reason for booking. This is now used by local school childen in the morning....a sign in lift warns might like to avoid. Part of 'community commitment'. Presumably 'community commitment' is scots for 'to make extra profits'.

4. the Wi-Fi...uniquely slow. Resorted to 3G on phone.

Frankly even with a deal you would be better off at the premier inn next door.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore, New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

It's a Novotel, so comes with all the features one expects from a modern chain hotel. Clean, good service and everything works. Got an unexpected surprise with the location though. Yes, it's a short walk to the castle and other attractions but I got a surprise at the number of adult shops in the surrounding area. Turns out that it is in a part of Edinburgh known as "The Pubic Triangle". There was no problem with that and I was happy to walk around the area at night. If I had my kids with me though there may have been a bunch of questions asked by them that I wasn't ready for.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Great value - booking.com, A warm welcome,very clean, fridge in the room, and great swimming pool/Jacuzzi/steamroom/sauna.Ideal location,would stay again.Did not eat in the hotel as we wanted to be out early and back late but it lokked great to eat there.

Room Tip: Couldn't fault we were near the lifts so all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephenstoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I was in Edinburgh for a conference and the Novotel is convenient for the conference centre. It is a modern hotel. None of the charm of the old hotels but equally none of the draughts of the old hotels - you take your pick. For me it all seems a bit bland, nothing stands out for good or for bad. On the negative side my biggest complaint is that the sink did not drain very well. On the positive side, apart from location my biggest praise is that I didn't lack for power sockets.

So, in summary, it works.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJMacD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable. I have taken note of few issues and apologise for your disappointment.
I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Novotel Edinburgh Centre and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.


Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Weekend deal with breakfast good value. Comfortable beds. Wide range of food at breakfast. Good value bar snacks. Close to centre less than 5 10 minutes walk to Princes Street. Swimmimg pool & gym but very small. Very friendly & welcoming staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 190832Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Novetel Edinburgh Centre. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed for a weekend whilst attending a function, so didn't spend a huge amount of time in the hotel. Room was nice, very spacious and well equipped. Bathroom had the curse of modern chain hotels, the sink designed to be pretty rather than in anyway functional. No idea why anyone would design a sink with anything other than being able to use it to wash in mind. Getting the plug to actually stay down whilst trying to fill it provided an entertaining if unrewarding challenge anyway.

Room included a fridge which had bottles of water in - it wasn't at all clear whether these were complementary or chargeable, turns out the latter. Wasn't exactly a problem, as I was thirsty in the night and so was going to drink it anyway, but it was a surprising oversight.

Staff at reception were genuinely pleasant and helpful and were able to solve a problem for us (nothing to do with the hotel) very efficiently.

Location is good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C0rnc0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you for kind feedback on efficiency of staff. I have also taken note of issues with sink tap and minibar prices and apologise for your disappointment. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#81 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,156 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Property: Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Address: 80 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Edinburgh Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel in the centre of Edinburgh. Perfect for a holiday in the Scottish capital, close to Edinburgh Castle and the lively Grassmarket Area, 10 min walk from Princes Street shopping and the Royal Mile. The famous Arthurs Seat is 15 min walk away and Edinburgh International Airport 15 min drive. Relax with friends or family and enjoy Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, gym and whirlpool. Limited pay parking. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing