We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Ranked #70 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Our second visit to this hotel and will go again.
Ideally situated to walk either to Princes Street or The Royal Mile. Also only minutes to The Kings Theatre, panto time.
We had two grandchildren with us Louie and James, both ten years old. They loved the swimming pool and enjoyed the food in the restaurant.
The staff could not have been more helpful with information about Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank PatJam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,314 - 1,320 of 2,682 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at this hotel ! Rooms where clean and comfortable ! Limited car parking but managed to get a space draw back £15 every time you take care out. Good location near grassmarket and castle! Friendly staff but did try and charge me £20 for an adapter i did use or get ! look at bill carefully ! didn't eat breakfast in hotel as many quaint cafes in the area .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellamac7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable. I would like to add that we never charge for adapters, we only post the charge in the room bill in order to track things. We always inform our guest regarding the same, charges are taken off the bill once adapter is returned.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Just a quick one night stay but greeted by a warm and smiling staff, and found a warm and modern room. Very well situated in the center of things without sleep being disturbed by traffic or late night pub revelers. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: I staid on the 'road' side of the hotel (odd numbered rooms) - so was worried that it would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boomer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Novotel Edinburgh Centre. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Enjoyed the two night stay. Booked a double room as a solo traveller.
Room was quite small and would be cramped for two people staying longer. Asked for a room facing backwards and was glad I did as there was no road noise. There is no view to speak of anyway. Liked the separate toilet although the lighting was a bit dark to read in!

Had to ask for a shaver and a toothbrush as these are not standard in the rooms anymore. Also had to ask for some bathroom amenities as house keeping forgot to provide them. Hotel is within walking distance to the royal mile, high street and the castle. Reception indicated a good less strenuous route to the castle instead of going via the high street which is rather steep going.

Reception staff are excellent and very knowledgeable.

Lots of eateries around within walking distance with the "slow" airport service running past the hotel. The faster airport stop of West End is about a10min pleasant walk past lots of eateries.

Breakfast was adequate if not spectacular but bemoaned the fact that there was no hot oats for breakfast. Sometimes cold cereal just does not do it for me. Thought that there might be some haddock or kippers but not on the menu. Everything is buffet style including fried eggs.

A Tesco and Sainsbury convenience store are both about 3min walk away so no need to buy the hotel's expensive bottled water.

Thought the bottled water was free but on enquiring was given a steep price. Suggest do not provide bottled water only in an otherwise bare fridge. Will be mistaken as "free" as in some hotels.

Did not make use of the swimming pool but was glad to see as part of an outreach programme the hotel was conducting swimming lessons for the local children.

Room Tip: Back facing rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thaanur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a 2 nights stay at hotel. Rooms clean and spacious. Fridge in room but expensive mineral water. Friendly staff. Car park was full so had to park nearby on street. Location was quite good - 15 mins walk to Princes Street, 25 to Playhouse.

Breakfast was really good but extremely busy - had to sit at table with other guests.

Gym was small and disappointing (hardly any equipment and no weights) Pool was tiny but jacuzzi, steam and sauna nice.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elainemcgeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Novotel Edinburgh Centre. I have taken note of few issues you had during your stay and apologise for your disappointment.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay, thought it was great value for money, and would happily return. The only reason for not giving a 5* rating is the room design. They've crammed a lot into a small space, but the result (at least in our room) is that the sitting area is large, but the area closer to the bathroom is cramped and it felt a bit hazardous squeezing between the bed and the wall to get between the small toilet and the small bathroom to wash your hands. Other than that it's all quite cleverly done, with more room facilities than I expected for the price I paid, spotlessly clean and well-maintained. We heard no noise from adjoining rooms or from outside, and we had a lovely view from the 4th floor of the castle (requested in advance, with a fast and personal response to my emails). The big windows (that can be opened) let in plenty of light.

The hotel itself is very well run. Every encounter with staff was pleasant and professional, and it looked as if a lot of thought was put into providing a good service. We noticed that food that a guest had dropped in our corridor was cleaned up very quickly, and the common areas throughout the hotel looked fresh and well-maintained, with lots of light. Wifi (free in rooms + common areas) worked well for us, the bar was pleasant with a good choice of sports channels but also quieter non-TV areas, and although we didn't have time to use the leisure facilities the pool area looked nice. Check-in and check-out was efficient, friendly and helpful.

We didn't eat in the hotel, but the menus looked interesting and varied, and the dining area looked fine for a casual meal.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripbiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I have taken note of your comment about layout of the room and apologise for your disappointment.

I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.


Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Positives: convenient position and excellent staff. Surprisingly well presented breakfast.

Negatives:

1. the room. Has to be the worst room layout in any hotel we have ever stayed in. Added to which the level of maintenance was despicable. Especially in bathroom...tap loose and away from wall, basin plugs that wouldn't stay in position, damaged mirror, bath tap missing head (dangerously so).

2. a hair drier that looked as though should be out in a skip, a tv remote remote that had no battery cover, poor tv/radio channels (not radio 4 e.g.) and a pretty awful view.

We have photos of these in case hotels chooses to disagree.

We spoke with the duty manager who readily accepted the faults. As only there for one more night didn't ask to move rooms (nor was it offered) but rather expected that a bottle of wine of some flowers might appear just as a notional recognition. They did not.

3. The pool..one reason for booking. This is now used by local school childen in the morning....a sign in lift warns might like to avoid. Part of 'community commitment'. Presumably 'community commitment' is scots for 'to make extra profits'.

4. the Wi-Fi...uniquely slow. Resorted to 3G on phone.

Frankly even with a deal you would be better off at the premier inn next door.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#75 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,316 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,724 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,611 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Address: 80 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £62 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Edinburgh Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel in the centre of Edinburgh. Perfect for a holiday in the Scottish capital, close to Edinburgh Castle and the lively Grassmarket Area, 10 min walk from Princes Street shopping and the Royal Mile. The famous Arthurs Seat is 15 min walk away and Edinburgh International Airport 15 min drive. Relax with friends or family and enjoy Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, gym and whirlpool. Limited pay parking. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing