We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good OK for 1 night - any longer stay somewhere else” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Ranked #74 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good OK for 1 night - any longer stay somewhere else”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed for 1 night on a business trip, room was OK however would not want to stay here any longer as the room I was in (on the 1st floor) was a little tired, in particular the carpet is stained and could have been cleaned. It is the little things which are easy to fix which let this hotel down.

If you are looking to stay at Novotel would suggest the one at 'The Gyle' as this is far better.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotelwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Novotel Edinburgh Centre. I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    778
    1,067
    412
    110
    40
See reviews for
724
888
116
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a three night weekend at under £50 per night, a real bargain for the big well equipped room on the top floor at the back so very quiet. Lyceum theatre and Usher Hall close by but be advised the shops of Princes Street are about 15 mins walk away although it is also possible to use a bus. As has been noted elsewhere there are some sleazy clubs/ pubs close by but we experienced no problems. Breakfast, no thank you, not at over £13 per head, better to go elsewhere. Taxi from airport about £20, the cheaper alternative using the airport bus would involve about a 15 min walk up from the nearest stop.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

stayed here for a couple of nights 14th-16th December. Hotel really clean staff very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and bathroom stocked with toiletries. No noise from the road outside. We had room only so cannot rate the food. The reason for going roomonly was that there are plenty of places to get breakfast and lunch etc within a stones throw of the hotel. Edinburgh itself is an amazing city with the old town and the new town covering all tastes...be prepared to walk the city has many little alleys and sometimes we were not even sure how we got from one place to another. The Grass market is around the corner from the hotel and there are a number of pubs and restaurant here, we loved The Beehive but to be honest 2 days was not enough time to visit everything, but one place to go is The Dome on George Street especially at Christmas with it's decorations the atmosphere was brilliant.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Novotel Edinburgh Centre. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Booked several weeks ahead- Paid £80-00p bed and breakfast. (over £210-00) per room if I'd just walked in!
Asked for rooms with Castle View. Got rooms with view of court yard. Poor to say the least.
But- rooms we got small, but well equipped- quality mechandise.
Breakfast- very average. (pleased we didn't pay "walk in price".) Milk from the dispenser, was sour...asked for it to be replaced. Water for tea, not boiled- and quality of breakfast tea, acceptable but....poor.
Staff- mostlty, of foreign - English not their first language. In some instances, we had to repeat our request for service.
Generally we (the 2 couples) felt that the staff wanted to do their best.
Again we paid approx. £80-00 per room per night- bed and breakfast. We would have felt "hard done by" to have paid £210-00p -ROOM ONLY, and nearly £14-00p per person for an average breakfast.
So...book well in advance, use an hotel booking agency....and you'll get an okay deal.

Room Tip: Book in advance- try and repeat your request to the member of staff with who you speak to, to make s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edwardtate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Novotel Edinburgh Centre. I am glad you had a good stay with us and we have noted all your comments which we are since addressing. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Pretty standard Novotel in a great location in edinburgh. Good gym, close to great restaurants & pubs. Internet could be faster.

Recommend you steer clear of the grass market area....too touristy.....there are much better places out in Marchmint etc

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alanreadingberks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you had a good stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed for 3 week nights. Overall I would stay again for the right price:

+large, comfortable room (quiet plain/simple decoration, not very many TV channels)
+Quiet surroundings - stayed on 6th floor at back of hotel - no noise at night
+Good breakfast hot + cold selection and helpful staff
+Reception staff friendly and helpful
+Evening meal at restaurant was good quality

-Leisure/Gym - very small only cardio equipment, pool also very small (sauna in major need of replacement). Gym was open early (from 6am).
-Surrounding streets not great for families (some strip clubs etc)

Room Tip: Higher floor on back of the hotel will be quiet
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank LukeMogDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#78 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#83 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,160 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#25 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Property: Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Address: 80 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Edinburgh Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel in the centre of Edinburgh. Perfect for a holiday in the Scottish capital, close to Edinburgh Castle and the lively Grassmarket Area, 10 min walk from Princes Street shopping and the Royal Mile. The famous Arthurs Seat is 15 min walk away and Edinburgh International Airport 15 min drive. Relax with friends or family and enjoy Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, gym and whirlpool. Limited pay parking. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing