We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Novotel Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Ranked #71 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Had an overnight stay at Novotel Edinburgh. Nice welcome. Room really spacious all the better for the 40% reduction. Very Scandinavian feeling about room and hotel. Toilet separate from bathroom, good idea! Bed and pillow a little hard but didn't deter from overall stay. Had a coffee in the bar and the waiter kindly fetched some biscuits I had asked for to have with my coffee. Later had a cocktail which was delicious. Central enough without the noise and hustle and bustle of a large city like Edinburgh. Also asked for a taxi on a couple of occasions, this was no problem for the desk staff.

Room Tip: Breakfast not included in price of room and was quite expensive but you did get 2 children free with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Novotel Edinburgh Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your feedback with our team. I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,
Craig Munro
General Manager
Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,214 - 1,220 of 2,667 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel was only ok. The room was cold but clean on arrival. It remained cold and the shower wasn't particularly warm either. The maid service was poor as the beds were hardly made and dirty glasses left. It was also noisy with it being on a main road. Breakfast was good and plenty of variety. The staff were friendly and the location was really good. For the price it was adequate but there is room for improvement.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Delibean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback on hotel staff, location and breakfast. I have taken note of your comments about service of room and apologise for your disappointment.
We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel for Christmas. Since everything was closed on the 25th and 26th, breakfast at this hotel was convenient, although not cheap. The selection was good, and it did the trick before heading out for visiting around. My husband and I had a room with 2 single beds, which was fine for us since we are used to the north-american massive king-size beds, which are rare in Europe. The room was clean and convenient, although my bed was missing a foot/wheel and so was slightly slanting. We were surprised that the bottled water in the room was chargeable, which was not clearly marked with a price list, and there was already a used bottle in the fridge upon our arrival, and so were not charged for it. Location was good, everything more or less walking distance (some places seemed further just because of how cold it was, but would not be an issue in nice weather :-)). On-street parking was free on holidays, then we were able to park at the hotel car park for the remainder of our stay (3 days) for something like 15 pounds, which was awesome. You only pay upon exiting the car park, be it 1 day or 5, so you have interest parking for a while. It is also hard to get a spot and they go really quickly, as they only have a dozen or so, and non-reservable. Would recommend this hotel, but with so many options around, know that you can have breakfast and meals within a 5 minute walk..

Room Tip: Apparently you can request a room with a castle view. Booking from a discount website, we didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie-Eve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Our room was very clean, we had everything we needed, the staff were very polite and helpful, breakfast was ok, but expensive, wouldn't have breakfast there again, quiet local to most of the attraction, shops and pubs, would Defo use this hotel again if visiting Edinburgh.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank wendyjanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed for 1 night with our 12 and 10 year old children. We have previously stayed in the Novotel Edinburgh Park (which is excellent). This hotel seems to be a bit short on space. The pool is very small (but at least they have one!), the changing rooms are tiny and our room was a bit of a squash. But, the location more than makes up for all that - a 10 minute walk to Princes Street and even less to the Grassmarket. The staff were all very pleasant and the breakfast was excellent. We will definitely return soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pammyjz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for leaving your thoughts. I appreciate you positive feedback on hotel staff and the location. I have also taken note of your constructive feedback and apologise for your disappointment.
I look forward to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel mid January 2014 for 3 nights. Arrived around 11:30 & expected to have to leave my bags in the luggage room but my room was ready. Room was spacious & spotless, the bed was SOOO comfortable it was a struggle to get out of bed in the morning, Breakfast was beautiful and plenty of choice. Had room service on the Wednesday night & I can honestly say that the burger I had was the tastiest I have ever had in my life. Location wise it is a little trek to the tourist attractions but plenty of bars around for the night time. I will definitely be returning in the future!!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank Jimbolski9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for your review. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Novotel Edinburgh Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am very pleased to hear you had a comfortable stay with us.

I will share your feedback with our team. I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,
Craig Munro
General Manager
Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

I stay here regularly for business and can't fault the hotel at all.

Usually pay circa £75 a night including breakfast. Breakfast is vast with a huge selection.

Rooms are always clean & well presented.

The main shopping and restaurant area is about a 15mins walk.

It lacks that little bit of quality but good value for money.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Novotel Edinburgh Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your feedback with our team. I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,
Craig Munro
General Manager
Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#76 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,293 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,682 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,598 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Address: 80 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £70 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Edinburgh Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel in the centre of Edinburgh. Perfect for a holiday in the Scottish capital, close to Edinburgh Castle and the lively Grassmarket Area, 10 min walk from Princes Street shopping and the Royal Mile. The famous Arthurs Seat is 15 min walk away and Edinburgh International Airport 15 min drive. Relax with friends or family and enjoy Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, gym and whirlpool. Limited pay parking. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing