We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value large rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Ranked #75 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Friendly and helpful at checkin. We had a large room on the fith floor at the back (no view) but was very quiet. WC was separate but you had to go into the bathroom after a visit to wash your hands although this was not a problem for us. Shower was lovely and plenty of hot water for all 3 of us. The linen was fresh and clean and plenty of fluffy white towels. Room facilities included coffee/tea making, television, 24 hr room service, wifi, fridge, and a safe - all of which was very handy. Sainsbury round the corner very handy for in-room supplies.

Booked via a discount website so room was £60 per night. No Accor points unless you book direct which doesn't seem fare or induce loyalty!

We made full use of the gym, spa and pool - rather too full of families with chidlren on the Saturday.. Again plenty of fluffy white towels when you had finished in the pool.

Location was excellent and we were able to walk to all local attractions including Edinburgh Castle & Grassmarket. Grassmarket is very nearby and offers lots of restaurants, bars and pubs to eat well and reasonably.

Room Tip: For a quiet room on a high floor at the back
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Father Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Novotel Edinburgh Centre. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,306 - 1,312 of 2,784 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

First time I have stayed in a Novotel and certainly will not be rushing back. Room was clean but very basic and not really up to the standard I was expecting. I was thinking Hilton and would say this is Ibis. Stayed for 1 night as was told the pool and leisure area was being serviced when we checked and would not be able to for the rest of the day. No worries I thought, have a wee swim the next day. However, next day I was told no access to pool as swimming lessons were on. Shame as that was the reason I chose this hotel...to use the pool. Good central location but will probably avoid in future.

Room Tip: Not sure if they have "good" rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zabza29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback hotel cleanliness and the location. I have taken note of your comment about leisure facilities and apologise for your disappointment. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We walked into the bar for a few drinks and something to eat. We had one drink (which was flat and tasteless) then left. We just couldn't stand the noise of bottles being THROWN into the bin by the barmen. It was ridiculous. I'm not sure why management have not spotted this and stopped it. The beer was flat and the service was poor. This is something which should be checked daily.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank GoodGrubMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for your comments, I can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed with my 2 children (11yrs & 16yrs) over 3 nights.
We were given 2 queen beds with bathroom (with bath and walk in shower), WC was separate but you had to go into the bathroom after a visit to wash your hands although this was not a problem for us. Shower was lovely and plenty of hot water for all 3 of us. The linen was fresh and clean and plenty of fluffy white towels. Room facilities included coffee/tea making, television, 24 hr room service, wifi, fridge, and a safe - all of which was very handy. Thermostat in room however we found we were comfortable during the limited time we were actually in the room and didn't change it. We had breakfast included. The choice each morning was excellent, with fresh fruit, yoghurts, a variety of breads and cereals to chose from, full cooked breakfast with various items including both fried and scrambled eggs, and vegetarian sausages, mushrooms, beans, bacon, hash browns etc etc. We made full use of the gym, spa and pool - we found waiting later in the evenings we more or less had the facilities to ourselves. Again plenty of fluffy white towels when you had finished in the pool. Location was excellent and we were able to walk to all local attractions including Edinburgh Castle, The Scotch Whisky Experience, Tartan Weaving, The National Museum of Scotland, Sightseeing buses, Princes Street, Merkat Tours (tours of the historical vaults), Greyfriars Bobby, & Grassmarket. Grassmarket is very nearby and offers lots of restaurants, bars and pubs to eat well and reasonably.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarahjane1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Novotel Edinburgh Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh.

I will share your feedback with our team. I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,
Craig Munro
General Manager
Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This hotel is located conveniently close to the Kings and Lyceum Theatres and the Usher Hall. Our room was very comfortable and there was no traffic noise, but we found the bedding to be uncomfortably hot - a problem encountered in many other hotels. The staff were friendly and helpful.There is a pool and fitness suite, which we did not use, and underground parking, which is rather expensive at £15 a night. The breakfast buffet was quite varied, with a continental selection as well
as cooked options. We would certainly consider using this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnEdinburgh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for leaving your thoughts. We appreciate your positive feedback on the hotel cleanliness and the location.

We’ve also taken note of your comments regarding the temperature in your room and apologise for any discomfort. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your constructive feedback is very important to us.

We appreciate you sharing your feedback and it is our hope that you will allow us an opportunity to serve you better in the near future.


Kind Regards,

Craig Munro
General Manager
Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Had an overnight stay at Novotel Edinburgh. Nice welcome. Room really spacious all the better for the 40% reduction. Very Scandinavian feeling about room and hotel. Toilet separate from bathroom, good idea! Bed and pillow a little hard but didn't deter from overall stay. Had a coffee in the bar and the waiter kindly fetched some biscuits I had asked for to have with my coffee. Later had a cocktail which was delicious. Central enough without the noise and hustle and bustle of a large city like Edinburgh. Also asked for a taxi on a couple of occasions, this was no problem for the desk staff.

Room Tip: Breakfast not included in price of room and was quite expensive but you did get 2 children free with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Novotel Edinburgh Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your feedback with our team. I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,
Craig Munro
General Manager
Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel was only ok. The room was cold but clean on arrival. It remained cold and the shower wasn't particularly warm either. The maid service was poor as the beds were hardly made and dirty glasses left. It was also noisy with it being on a main road. Breakfast was good and plenty of variety. The staff were friendly and the location was really good. For the price it was adequate but there is room for improvement.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Delibean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback on hotel staff, location and breakfast. I have taken note of your comments about service of room and apologise for your disappointment.
We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#69 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,396 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#91 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,644 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Address: 80 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#39 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £64 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Hotel is one of the city's leading 4-star hotels, centrally located close to the Royal Mile, Princes Street and Edinburgh Castle. With recently refurbished Superior, Executive and Suite rooms, the hotel is the perfect base for an Edinburgh stay. Our leisure facilities will be closed from the 8th January until 26th January. Additionally we will be refurbishing part of our bedrooms from 12th February to 1st June 2018. We have limited parking facilities on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing