We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Ranked #72 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Novotel Edinburgh Centre which I stayed in for 2 nights over my birthday.

Its location makes accessing areas such as the castle and the royal mile very simple with short (albeit hilly) walks. It was also near plenty of public transport options.

The hotel is very modern however it is a little impersonal and if you are narrowing your choice down to the fact that it has a pool and spa facilities I may look elsewhere as the pool is actually tiny.

All in all however the hotel was perfect for what we needed and I most certainly would return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishstandards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you had a good stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,192 - 1,198 of 2,668 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed 5 nights at this Novotel, and really enjoyed the room, staff, breakfast, location, etc. I don't know the price we paid since we were on a package tour, but I would definitely recommend this hotel. There were a lot of great restaurants/pubs nearby, at the Grassmarket and near the university.
It was so quiet at night, and I even had a room that faced Lauriston St.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Many thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Premalatha_balan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed a couple of nights as we wanted to see some of Edinburgh. The hotel was ideal for this, situated in a quiet spot less than ten minutes walk from Princes Street and the Castle. Friendly reception staff, the whole hotel looked in good order and clean. Our room was plenty big enough and also clean, with a good bathroom/shower. There is parking for only 15 cars and costs £15 per exit, but staying in the city centre and walking we were happy to pay the £15 when we departed. We thought the cooked breakfast was very expensive but to be fair the room cost was very reasonable considering the location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stampman26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Namerof
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 March 2014

For the price I payed I expected 4 star. The room was nice & clean although we found blood all over the spare pillows, we had to phone reception for a new one. The toilet roll was cheap and nasty. We payed nearly £9 each for breakfast which wasn't the best with over cooked sausages, cold tea & rock hard hash browns. The swimming pool & jacuzzi were lovely. The staff were very nice & the location was great. Just a pitty a few things let them down.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Novotel Edinburgh Centre. I am glad you had a good stay with us and we have noted your comments about breakfast and room cleanliness, which we have since addressed. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Really enjoyed our stay in novotel, the room was nice and clean we had no problems with it. We didnt opt for breakfast on the 2 mornings as it would have been an extra £60 which is ridiculous however I know this is what most hotels charge, but finding a nearby cafe or place for breskfast in town for much cheaper was not a problem! The only thing that was slightly annoying was we didn't get to use the pool either morning early morning or mid day due to what looked like lessons or classes for mums and babies, we werent sure if we were still able to get in or use the jacuzzi or suana but either way we didnt feel comfortable to get in with the class going on and werent told these happened daily, we were disappointed not to get using the facilities as this was one of our reasons for choosing the hotel, but overall we had a great stay in the city and the location was great, close to the castle and the royal mile and we were able to walk everywhere during our 3 day stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jennimason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Novotel Edinburgh Centre. I am glad you had a good stay with us. With regards to the issue of children’s swimming classes, I’d like to inform you that it is a part of the hotel’s commitment to the local community, to contribute to the next generation of children being able to swim. The classes take place from 9.30am to 1pm, and I’m sorry that on this occasion we were unable to meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Novotel Edinburgh Centre. Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#75 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,296 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#88 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,685 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,601 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Address: 80 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £67 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Edinburgh Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel in the centre of Edinburgh. Perfect for a holiday in the Scottish capital, close to Edinburgh Castle and the lively Grassmarket Area, 10 min walk from Princes Street shopping and the Royal Mile. The famous Arthurs Seat is 15 min walk away and Edinburgh International Airport 15 min drive. Relax with friends or family and enjoy Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, gym and whirlpool. Limited pay parking. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing