We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what was required”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Ranked #76 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Forres, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just what was required”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed here for one night a group of 3 adults and 5 teenage girls to go to 1 direction concert at Murrayfield. Easy to get too from Waverley station and no problems getting bus or tram to venue. Very clean and comfortable and considering the amount of other concert goers also staying at the hotel very quiet. Breakfast adequate,certainly no complaints and decent coffee, always a plus in my book.Very impressed with staff all very helpful and seemed genuinely keen to help.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheenaallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Novotel Edinburgh Centre. I look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    831
    1,136
    426
    119
    46
See reviews for
781
950
118
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel with my wife and my 2 kids. It was a very pleasant experience from check in to check out. A request for early check in was fulfilled. The room and toilet was also very spacious and clean. The only thing which was not upto the mark was the addition bed provided for the kids. It was a sofa cum bed and was very uncomfortable to sleep, apart from this my family had a great stay. Not to forget the additional help provided by the reception, specially by Mr. Vipin Gupta. The property is a treat to stay

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Aloke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for leaving your thoughts. We appreciate your positive feedback on the hotel cleanliness and the hotelstaff.

I have also taken note of your comments regarding the sofa bed and apologise for your disappointment. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures. The hotel is planning a renovation starting at the beginning of 2015.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your constructive feedback is very important to us.

We appreciate you sharing your feedback and it is our hope that you will allow us an opportunity to serve you better in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I promised to take my wife to Edinburgh about 10 years ago and finally I booked for a long weekend in March this year. Although the weather was not great, what would you expect at that time of year, it was mild and allowed us the full weekend to take in this great City. Our Hotel was chosen from BA travel and we chose it because of its location. We were not disappointed. The room was well appointed and comfortable. We ate in the dining room and enjoyed a fine meal for 2. The hotel has a good bar and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Worth a visit and stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jafergusonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully soon!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontenay-aux-Roses, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Clean, friendly staf, Fine location
but no atmosphere
You feel you could be anywhere but Scotland ,
amenities are quite basic / breakfast is fine although / Free WIFI
and all right pool in the basement.



  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable. I have also taken your comment about atmosphere onboard and I have planned hotel refurbishment in early 2015.

Hope to see you next time.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

It is not something special, but it's a good hotel, with very good breakfast, friendly staff, comfortable rooms, nice swimming pool. The only problem is the location, if you dont' have a car, because is far from the city centre and the railway station, while the road is steep, though you can find some restaurants and shops in a short distance.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ff00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for leaving your thoughts. I appreciate your positive feedback on hotel staff and facilities. I am sorry if location of the hotel was not suitable for your needs.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#79 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,194 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Property: Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Address: 80 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Edinburgh Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel in the centre of Edinburgh. Perfect for a holiday in the Scottish capital, close to Edinburgh Castle and the lively Grassmarket Area, 10 min walk from Princes Street shopping and the Royal Mile. The famous Arthurs Seat is 15 min walk away and Edinburgh International Airport 15 min drive. Relax with friends or family and enjoy Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, gym and whirlpool. Limited pay parking. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing