We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and underwhelming” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Ranked #74 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced and underwhelming”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We booked this hotel because of its location and parking. The location is terrific but the parking and service/attitude were terrible. The hotel offers parking but then says it's full and you need to go about a km away to a parking station for you to pay. The information provided on parking was wrong on two other occasions.
The room does not have a shower and the changeover from hand shower to bath leaked like a sieve. On top of this, we had to ask for a towel each.
The attitude of the front desk staff was uncaring and the response to the parking in-house was "we have 180 rooms but not 180 car spaces".
All of this comes at the grand price of £199 - avoid it like the plague !

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your email. I am sorry for your disappointment. My team will be contacting you shortly to discuss your concern.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    778
    1,067
    412
    110
    40
See reviews for
724
888
116
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

As city centre hotels go, this one is not bad. It is a modern, business class hotel with all the usual facilities one would expect. There are a couple of nice extra touches - an xbox360 in the reception area to occupy the kids (if you are waiting to checkout), and a leisure suite with a gymnasium, a sauna, steam room, pool and spa bath. There is a couple of computers available for use (didn't use them so don't know if there is a charge), but there is also a large touch screen monitor so you can get information to plan your day (google maps, local attractions, weather etc). There is free WiFi (you need to register each device and you get 24 hrs access - simples, after 24 hrs - just register again). Did not try the premium WiFi as only wanted simple internet access.

The hotel is over 7 floors (Basement = gym/pool/car-park access, ground = reception, bar, restaurant, meeting rooms, 1-6 = guest rooms). There are 2 lifts (only 1 goes to the basement though) and the ubiquitous stairs. The reception is light and spacious with plenty of room to manoeuver around if a coach party is checking out.

There is a car park - but it is not cheap - when I enquired on arrival I was told it was £15 PER EXIT but was full. Apparently there is an arrangement with a local NCP car park for ~£7 if wanted. There is on-street parking all around the hotel - free from 6:30pm to 8:30am, and £2.40 per hour (max 4 hours) outside these times. As for location, the hotel is located just south of the castle in "Old town", well within walking distance of Princess street/Royal mile - but do remember Edinburgh is quite hilly and we found the footpaths around the hotel uneven and in poor condition - in particular Lady Lawson Street was bad!!! (this is NOT the fault of the hotel though).

This hotel seems to cater for a lot of coach tours - so breakfast can be fraught between 7 and 8am, after 9am it seemed to be those staying to explore Edinburgh frequenting.

I ate once in the bar in the evening, a steak, bowl of chips, 2.5pts lager and 2 hot chocolate came to ~£35. I had no complaints regarding quality of this meal - unfortunately the same cannot be said for breakfast. At £13.95, I would say it is very poor. The breakfast area is very busy, and I was not impressed with the buffet breakfast.
Breaking it down:
-Scrambed/fried eggs - good, but boiled eggs would be a nice option
-beans - difficult to get wrong
-hot fresh tomato - good
-bacon - seemed to alternate between back and smoked streaky, fair (The back was cooked in an oven rolled up, the streaky was very thin)
-sausages (didn't try the veggie ones) - poor, I like sausages but after 4 days, still could not convince myself that I liked them
-mushrooms - poor, they were stewed and sat in liqud so were very soggy.
-Haggis - nice and crumbly but very spicy (at least for me at 7:30 am!)
-Hash browns - dried out and rock hard on the 1st day - much better later (I think the 1st lot had been out for a while as there were not many on the plate)
-Tea - too few teapots (according to the staff!!)
- Coffee - in a steel cafetiere and weak (poor)
- One one occasion, the milk on the table (for tea/coffee) was spoilt (poor)
- Pancake maker - temperamental and regularly not working (Good when it worked, otherwise poor)
-Selection of cereals/juices/fruit/danish pastries/croissants/ yoghurts/fruit salad (good)
-Small amount of cold cooked meat/sliced cheese (poor - not a good enough selection)

The room We had was a family room - with the second bed being a sofa bed. Unfortunately this meant there was next to no floor space (so you could not use the desk as intended) - and calling this a "Family Room" I think was pushing it - it was a standard sized room with a sofa bed so was very cramped. The toilet (exceptionally small - difficult to close the door when inside, no sink to wash hands so risk of infection control if you have diahorrea) was separate to the bathroom (sink, bath and separate shower). There was a ~36" flat screen TV which had excellent picture quality and lots of channels (including several HD channels). There is a/c with in room controls and the windows do open.

There is a safe, kettle and a small fridge - beware the 4, 500ml bottles of water in the fridge are chargeable - £2.50 per bottle is taking the michael - fortunately you are not charged for putting your own drinks (or strawberries) in the fridge. Curiously, we had booked the room for 3, but only had towels for 2, cups/glasses for 2 and after the 1st night (of 4) only had toiletries for 2 - the hotel needs to put a little more attention to detail here (also, there was no soap in the dispenser in the shower in the pool).

The staff were absolutely wonderful and helpful - I feel they did an excellent job.

I got the impression that the carpets in the room and hallways could use a good shampooing, so I have docked 1 mark for cleanliness, however the room was prepared immaculately each day, and the public ares (incl pool changing rooms) were very clean.

So, the bottom line, £715.50 for 4 nights B&B for 2 adults and 1 child in a central hotel at peak holiday time. Hmmm, not cheap but it could have been a lot worse. Would I go back? - possibly, but would look hard in the vicinity first.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms on the 4th floor have a view of the castle.
See more room tips
Green Features: Usual bunkum about towels on the floor and a very dim low energy lamp in the toilet.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay. I appreciate you writing a detailed review as this helps us to understand where we are doing good and where improvement is needed.

Once again thank you for your time and hope to see you again in future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay. Rooms excellent, comfy beds. Required early breakfast, this was sorted, no problem. Quite a walk from the train station if you have bags. Excellent leisure facilities a bonus. A room at the front can be a little noisy at nightime.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JHTBrookes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us.
See you on your next trip soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Though being slightly off (if one wants to walk down with bags!) from Edinburgh Waverly station, the hotel is well placed vis a vis the best spots in the city ...be it Royal Mile , the castle , Princess Street or the grass market ..all these places can be easily covered on foot ...for that matter even hollyrood palace and Arthurs seat can be reached ...but it can become a bit stretched...
The rooms are well furnished and the breakfast spread is pretty good. A small heated pool and sauna complements the facility. The front desk was very smart and helped in organising for a day tour on a short notice...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sachinmathur_2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable. I hope to see you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
432 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

It took me along time to decide on the rating, the hotel is in a good location, it has some parking underneath it, the room was clean and presentable, breakfast was good so it should get more than an average rating but i used the spa facilities well the pool anyway as the sauna and steam room were not working and talking to guests had not been for a couple of days.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for leaving your thoughts about your stay at Novotel Edinburgh Centre. I appreciate your good comments on hotel location, breakfast and the car park.
I am sorry hear that you could not use our sauna and steam room due to the ongoing maintenance work. It was due to an emergency maintenance work that we had to close spa facility and I apologise for inconvenience.

I hope to see you in near future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Booked this hotel thinking it was the Novotel at Edinburgh park for a two day business meeting. Didn't know what to spect as had used the other one before, but I was in for a surprise !

Absolutely brilliant meeting venue, rooms perfect natural light and excellent table lay outs, plus and a big plus for a training meeting fantastic support from staff especially Karine who was excellent with her support to me and my team.

Karine organised all support coffee breaks, lunches, photocopying and she also took time to source restaurant off site if we wanted.. Food in the hotel was very good as well.

Bedrooms were great novotel class always good, bed comfy, air con working well 25c in the city ! All agreed good night sleep which is important when attending a training meeting.

Well done to all at the Novotel would be delighted to return and would recommend to any company wanting a meeting in the city.

Special thanks to Karine and Monica behind the desk.

Room Tip: Get a side room quieter than facing main lauriston place road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Macham47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Novotel Edinburgh is convenient to Grassmarket, the Castle and the Royal Mile. The staff are friendly and helpful. I emailed them before we left the States with a question and they responded quickly and were very helpful. The entire time we were there, they were quick to help us in any way possible.The hotel is very modern and fresh-looking.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayelucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us.
See you on your next trip soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#79 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,160 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#25 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Property: Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Address: 80 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Edinburgh Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel in the centre of Edinburgh. Perfect for a holiday in the Scottish capital, close to Edinburgh Castle and the lively Grassmarket Area, 10 min walk from Princes Street shopping and the Royal Mile. The famous Arthurs Seat is 15 min walk away and Edinburgh International Airport 15 min drive. Relax with friends or family and enjoy Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, gym and whirlpool. Limited pay parking. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing