We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Ranked #76 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
lossiemouth
1 review
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We have stayed at the Novotel twice in the last 2 years and have found it to be a lovely hotel. The staff were very pleasent, and the rooms are great.
We ate in the restaurant in the hotel, and while a little pricey, the food was delicious.
The hotel isn't really in the centre, but a good 20 minute walk, which isnt a bad thing as there was no hassel's with the noise from the pubs and clubs closing.

My only real bad point about this hotel is that the parking is terrible. They only have space for around 10 cars, but there is parking just 5 minutes away and is priced around £15 per night.

All in all a great hotel.

Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stikkz213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    831
    1,136
    426
    118
    46
See reviews for
781
950
118
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

stayed at Novotel for one night with my huband and 2 kids, on arrival there was one parking space left in the hotel carpark this was lucky, if there are no spaces you have to use the ncp 5 mins walk away or on street parking, which i expect would be expensive. We were seen to and checked in quickly by friendly staff.

The room was an ok size for our family, maybe a bit more storage would be good. The bathroom was clean and the shower was of good power, i liked the seperate toilet. We had a sofa bed for the kids to share and a double bed. We didn't go near the mini bar as it was a total rip off. The room was nice, clean and quiet and we all slept well, no noise.

We used the pool twice this was great, kids enjoyed it as we had the place to ourselves. It was a tuesday though- can imagine it would be packed at the weekends.

Breakfast.. well that is the only thing i would say that lets this nice hotel down unfortunately. Over priced for a start, and there had been a power cut in the hotel that morning, so it was only cold stuff on offer, we waited a while till the power was back on as we prefer a cooked breakfast. wish we hadn't bothered, it was awful, tastless and overcooked. The worst i have ever had! We ended up eating toast, fruit and yoghurt they couldnt go wrong with that, Tables around us were dirty i felt they were slightly understaffed in the restaurant. Obviously i refused to pay the £13 they were asking for.

Overall the hotel did the job and it's in a great spot, but they need to have a look at other 4 star hotels in the area to see they are not in the same league when it comes to food and service. We have stayed at Apex a few times which it is much better quality, we will stick with what we know in future.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoseAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2009

The hotel is well located, close to the castle, Grassmarket, the National Museum of Scotland, the Royal Mile and the Meadows. It is also close to a bus stop for those who get tired of using the best means of transport in Edinburgh....your feet! The hotel is very clean and well maintained. Some of the complaints on this site seem to be exagerated, in particular the one related to queing for breakfast.. We spent a week at the hotel and the only time we had to wait for a table at breakfast was on one occasion and this wait wasn't longer than five minutes. All in all an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbieMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

We were attending a concert at the Castle so this hotel was ideal - only 10 minutes away. The room we had was really fine, clean and comfortable. Shower was very good which I think is a good sign. We had a good night's sleep and we enjoyed the rather expensive breakfast.

But the negative points...

We travelled to Edinburgh by car and the hotel for all its rooms has a dozen or so parking spaces. On street parking was doubtful but the hotel reception told us that we would get 20% off our parking if we used the NCP multi storey. Unfortunately the closest one we found was not NCP which we discovered next morning when we tried to claim our discount. Presumably another nearby one was NCP but we were not told where it was.

Breakfast was interesting. The eating area was too small for all the people there. I had to more or less manhandle a waiter to get coffee and cutlery. There were queues everywhere. The food was plentiful and good.

After the concert we walked back to the hotel. Instead of having a drink in any of the excellent pubs we passed we opted to try the hotel bar. I went up to the rather soul less bar where, through all the dirty glasses and dishes, I managed to catch the eye of the barperson who was doing some sort of administrative task. Unfortunately, she smirked at me, she could not take my order because she was not allowed to accept cash or visa after 11. I could however go and get my card registered at reception and then she would serve me. Now I'm no jet setter flitting from hotel to hotel but I've never heard anything like that at all. How do all these other pubs and restaurants manage to accept cash late at night? Still we were both winners - I did not poison my body with alcohol and the hotel did not have to process my cash.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inveroran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Good location. Nice large rooms.

Horribly lacking in character in public areas. Breakfast an overheated, dried out buffet. Toilet/bathroom separate - wierd.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbrown057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2009

We stayed for two nights; the room was comfortable, spacious and very clean. The air conditioning didn't work but we were provided with a fan which did cool us down sufficiently. We found the staff to be exceptionally polite and helpful. I agree with a previous comment on the room layout being inconvenient as regards to toilet and bathroom but otherwise we were very happy with it and would definitely stay there again.
We had no problems at breakfast time (unlike some previous guest's comments). We never had to wait for anything and there was always a good choice of items. We found that staff couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chr1ss1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cacapava, SP
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

For a Novotel I just found this one had no atmosphere. Service was a bit boring in both, reception and bar. Bedrooms although big the air conditioner was not working. And I had reserved two bedrooms and in both of them nothing! Toiletries for a 4 star hotel left a lot to desire. On the good side, is well located, clean and the bedrooms are big.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariana_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#80 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,193 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Property: Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Address: 80 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Edinburgh Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel in the centre of Edinburgh. Perfect for a holiday in the Scottish capital, close to Edinburgh Castle and the lively Grassmarket Area, 10 min walk from Princes Street shopping and the Royal Mile. The famous Arthurs Seat is 15 min walk away and Edinburgh International Airport 15 min drive. Relax with friends or family and enjoy Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, gym and whirlpool. Limited pay parking. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing