We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Ranked #76 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

2,411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    778
    1,069
    413
    111
    40
See reviews for
724
891
116
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

I stayed at the Novotel Edinburgh Centre for three nights in Jan 2011. I was offered (and accepted) an upgrade on check-in and was happy to pay the extra UKP20.00 per night for this as it included the cost of the internet connection. The restaurant was good (I had dinner there as well as breakfast) and staff were friendly and helpful.

I don't know if I was just tired after my 36 hour journey but when I checked in I found the young lady who was on the reception desk spoke very quickly and indistinctly, clearly to a set formula with which she was very familiar. I felt embarrassed at having to ask her to repeat things.

Just an odd feature of the room: the bathroom door was permanently open as the bed was in the way and wouldn't allow the outwardly-opening door to close. I guess this happened with the renovation of the room, but it did strike me as something that would be awkward had I been staying there with someone else.

Overall, though, I was very happy.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahaminAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmunro96, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 28 January 2011
Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments. Rest assured we will address them. Kind regards Marc Pichot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

This hotel was well located for exploring Edinburgh. We arrived on the train and didn't use public transport at all - just walked everywhere.
The rooms we spacious enough and well equipped, and it was nice to have a pool sauna, gym and jacuzzi to relax after a long day.
Staff were helpful.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmunro96, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 28 January 2011
Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at [Novotel Edinburgh Centre. Kind regards, Marc Pichot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

We stayed here over xmas, was comfortable. I did find the reception staff on arrival not as friendly and polite as you would expect when you are away for a xmas holiday, it was also very weird arriving at around 6pm thinking all day about how we were going to go have a jacuzzi but while checking in video footage of the jacuzzi came up on the screen for the reception staff which put me off completely i found this, even though they may argue is a safety measure , an invasion of privacy. So there went the idea of having a nice hot jacuzzi after a 5 hour train journey!

The other downside was that the toilet paper used in this hotel was like sandpaper, i mean recycled or not it felt rough and what i would expect for a hostel - at the very worst! The rooms were also underequipped , no moisturiser, no shower caps.

SO those things were dissapppointing, however the hotel beds were comfortable, very central - though the hotel staff were not very good at giving directions on which busses you could catch into princes street something at the least you expect from hotel staff as you can do a lot of walking around edinburgh.

Breakfast was mediocre, a lot of it seemed to have been prepared very early and been sitting under the heat lamps and was luke warm rather than hot.

WIFI was not free which was also a downside as we had taken the laptop with us and the charges were unclear something like £12 a day but we would probably have only used it for 30min to check emails etc

On the plus side we did eat in the bar area one day and the food was really good and yum and enjoyable.

Pool was OK not that we used it but fresh towels were available to use in sauna etc

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Girlspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawick, Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

Service was very good and we enjoyed our stay. Pavements and streets were solid packed with snow and ice but the pathway to the hotel door was cleared.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmunro96, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 17 January 2011
Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Edinburgh Centre. Kind regards, Marc Pichot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
92 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

This hotel lived up to Novotel expectations. A 15 minute walk into city centre.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elizmoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmunro96, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 15 January 2011
Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Novotel Edinburgh Centre. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans. Kind regards, Marc Pichot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

Coop travel in Malton did it again for us! Four of us just returned from long weekend in Edinburgh. 2 nights bed and breakfast at Novotel with train tickets £160 a couple ,, Fantastic value for money. The hotel was great, rooms were large, spacious and spotless. The large double beds were extremely comfy and the staff could not have done more to make our stay better. This hotel is in perfect position for all attractions.Will definitely be back !

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmunro96, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 15 January 2011
Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Edinburgh Centre. Kind regards, Marc Pichot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#78 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,040 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#82 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,175 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#25 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Property: Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Address: 80 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Edinburgh Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel in the centre of Edinburgh. Perfect for a holiday in the Scottish capital, close to Edinburgh Castle and the lively Grassmarket Area, 10 min walk from Princes Street shopping and the Royal Mile. The famous Arthurs Seat is 15 min walk away and Edinburgh International Airport 15 min drive. Relax with friends or family and enjoy Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, gym and whirlpool. Limited pay parking. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing