We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A repeat visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Ranked #70 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
An Accor traveller
Tenterden
1
Reviewed 11 February 2011

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cmunro96, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,848 - 1,854 of 2,625 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2011

i am writing this review on behalf of my daughter who stayed in the novotel on feb 4th and 5th i booked it as a present for her for xmas i am a big fan of novotels but this was her first time the points she brought up were
upon arrival the staff were really friendly and even though she checked in early her room was allocated straight away the hotel was extremely clean and her room which was the suite was just fantastic really spacious with all the amenaties you coul ever need she had room service on the friday night and it was delivered very quickly hot and very good value for money , every member of staff she come across was very professional and they went out of there way to make sure her weekend away was perfect
she said the breakfast was amazing with everything you could imagine hot and cold and very fresh and really good service by the staff i note some reviews say go to the premier inn next door well i have tried both and all i can say is yes the novotel is a little more expensive but far better quality and a lot more choice (you only get what you pay for ) i am planning a trip to edinburgh myself and this hotel will be my first choice and i am very fussy about where i stay this hotel deserves its 4 stars and believe me i have stayed in worse 5 stars please dont let the bad reviews put you off try it you will not be dissapointed my daughter is now converted to novotels may i say that prior to my daughter going there i was emailing the hotel with various questions and requierments and they answered every one. there customer service could not be faulted if you want a good quality clean modern hotel which is very family friendly then it has to be the novotel edinburgh centre

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michellesunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmunro96, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2011

My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your daughters visit. . We look forward to welcoming you and your family at Novotel Edinburgh Centre. Kind regards, Marc Pichot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Hotel is in a great location for getting about Edinburgh only a short walk to the Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle and rooms were clean.

We booked a twin room - their email confirmation for a Superior Twin Room 2 x single beds is not what we got! A queen bed and sofa bed is what we got - they said they had no details of a twin room and I had to ask them to make the sofa bed up. Sofa bed kind of leaned up a bit and wasn't that stable but not much of a big deal.

A 4 star it's not but if you want a reasonable priced hotel close to Edinburgh on a budget then this is fine for what you pay. We ate in the hotel one evening as exhausted from walking around the city all day, the food was good a little pricey but it's geared for tourists I guess. However we decided to eat breakfast on our checking out day.. DONT BOTHER £13.95 for buffet breakfast which is over priced and the food was cold.

A reasonable stay for the money and a easy walking distance to main attractions.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmunro96, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2011

Thank you for leaving your thoughts. We appreciate your positive feedback on the hotel cleanliness and location.
We’ve taken note of your comments regarding your room allocation and breakfast, we apologise for your disappointment. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your constructive feedback is very important to us.
We appreciate you sharing your feedback and it is our hope that you will allow us an opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Kind regards, Marc Pichot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

It was a family celebration so 3 rooms were booked - 2 twin and 1 family room. We booked well in advance, so were surprised to find the twin rooms consisted of 1 queen sized bed and one sofa bed. The sofa beds were not comfortable at all, and the mattresses were not level - the headboard end was lower than the end of the bed - and the quilt consisted of a blanket in a duvet cover.
Luckily we were only staying one night. We should have stayed at the Premium Inn, which was right next door - it has a"good night's sleep policy" or your money back. The Novotel should have given us our money back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaBel04664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmunro96, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2011

I’m so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience saying with us at Novotel Edinburgh Centre. I appreciate the feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously. We are looking into the matter, but feel free to email me on marc.pichot@accor.com to discuss this further. Kind regards, Marc Pichot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 6 February 2011

I booked the hotel directly through the Accor website as I exspected this to be the best price as they have a price guarantee said they would match any price from another site.
At the time of booking on the site I did not find an option to pay in advance which I would have done and the next day I saw the same room £40 less.
When I asked if the price could be matched I was told that this was not possible as only the pre payment gets this price .The lesson is shop around.
The hotel is in a great location and has very friendly and profesional staff and a check out time of noon. Alhough we did not eat this time the menu looks very good.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmunro96, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2011

I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Marc Pichot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

I stayed here for one night DB&B. The room was large and comfortable with a seating area. I faced the back of the hotel so it was very quiet and I had a good night's sleep. Dinner was very good as was the service. Breakfast is a cooked buffet which I'm not keen on but the food was good quality. I'm not familiar with Edinburgh but the location seemed to be perfect for tourists visiting the main sights such as the castle and it was certainly a perfect location for our purposes. If I were travelling on my own, I would feel quite comfortable as a single woman as the hotel was full of single business people. It might be different at weekends though.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fmck49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmunro96, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2011

We at Novotel Edinburgh Centre very much appreciate all your thoughts. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and having noted all your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Marc Pichot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
1
Reviewed 2 February 2011

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cmunro96, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,597 reviews
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#73 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,264 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,297 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Address: 80 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £75 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Edinburgh Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel in the centre of Edinburgh. Perfect for a holiday in the Scottish capital, close to Edinburgh Castle and the lively Grassmarket Area, 10 min walk from Princes Street shopping and the Royal Mile. The famous Arthurs Seat is 15 min walk away and Edinburgh International Airport 15 min drive. Relax with friends or family and enjoy Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, gym and whirlpool. Limited pay parking. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing